We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Dimora Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antica Dimora Firenze to your Saves list
Antica Dimora Firenze
Via San Gallo, 72, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Visit to Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Antica Dimore in Firenze. We really enjoyed the beautiful room, very clean and romantic. Breakfast was oké. Very friendly people. However the breakfast table was too small for the number of guests. This could be approved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouse72, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
thanks for the first thing he had left your positive comment on our small but cozy, and thanks especially for the constructive suggestions are always by our loyal customers, I promise the next time you return you will be surprised
thanks again for everything and see you soon

all staff
Michele Michela Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    150
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
269
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croton, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We recently returned from a one night stay at this treasure in Florence. We drove a small van with six people and found it without any issues. As per our instructions the desk clerk arrived and checked us in without any issues. One couple traveling with us had to be moved to their sister B&B up the street (a short distance); this was due to damage that had been done to one of the rooms which they did not have time to repair. They upgraded this couple to an even larger room. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us instructions to park our car and helped us with restaurant suggestions ect. The B&B was clean, quiet and the rooms were lovely with good air conditioning. As expected it was hot in Florence. We had a tour planned the next day so they stored our luggage for us for the day. The breakfast was wonderful. This was a great find in the Karen Brown book and Trip Advisor. Bravo!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
thank you for the beautiful words written on the guestbook which is here, I hope only to have you again in our little home, and I take seriously your suggestion we will try to improve, a big thank you also for this...... see you next time

all the staff
michele
michela
marta
giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We enjoyed our 6 night stay at Antica Dimora Firenze. All the staff were always friendly and helpful and no request seemed too much trouble. Located on the 2nd floor (there is a lift) we were welcomed into a a reception area which opened up into the breakfast room/lounge. The staff were happy to book taxis (they arrived 2 minutes later), make restaurant suggestions (Pepo, Golden View and 4 Leoni were excellent), organise for extra pillows. Self serve Breakfast was available after 8 am and included cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, selection of breads and rolls, cheese and ham/prosciutto and a cake. Good selection of teas, coffee, juice and hot chocolate. Self service tea/coffee was available all day/night in the breakfast room/lounge. The lounge area has a computer for guest usage and wi fi for those who bring their own computers.. The public area and rooms in this small B&B were clean and air conditioned. Room 5 was a good size with a separate bathroom and a balcony. Flywire on the balcony window meant we had fresh air but no insects. Complimentary toiletries were provided and towels were changed daily. Hanging space, chest of drawers, small fridge, tv (in Italian only) and safe were also provided. Antica Dimora Firenze is 3 blocks north of San Lorenzo piazza (where the leather stall are congregated) and 4 blocks to the Duomo but it is quiet, and you get the benefit of other restaurants which are a little off the main tourist beat. Walking around Florence to the main tourist attractions (Uffizi, Academy, Duomo, Pitti Palace and Boboli gardens) is easily done. If you have more time then visits to the Museo del Bargello,Farmacia di Santa Maria Novella and Museo dell'Opera dell Duomo (Santa Maria del Fiore), Piazzale Michelangelo are rewarding. Don't forget to advise the B&B of your arrival time (it is not staffed between approx 1-4pm). Heather Coughlin

Room Tip: Room no. 5 was a good size, didn''t face the street and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
after reading your wonderful review, our work has gained a higher value and we are fully satisfied, thank you for everything and so the detailed description of our little home with you soon staff michela Joanne Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We had such a wonderful experience with every staff member at Antica dimora Firenze. We walked to the hotel from the train station, far, but we did it with 2 large pieces of luggage.

Check in was a breeze. So easy, super friendly, very accommodating. No issue with an early check out.

They made dinner reservations for us 2 of our 3 nights. No issues at all.

The breakfast was just enough; a good selection of meats, cheeses, cereal, tea and coffee.

When we return to Florence, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks as always I can not find the words to thank your wonderful words that fill our work with joy and make us better every day to provide better service graziea again and I hope to see you soon staff michela Joanne Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We found this B&B via Trip Advisor, and I agree with most of the critics, it's a well-located, nice, warm, very clean, authentic place to stay in Firenze. Nice decoration, quiet fellow guests, small and comfortable place with fantastic staff (very friendly, most helpful and kind, they really made us feel at home, a big GRAZIE to them!). Only I'd suggest that the mattresses were too hard for our taste (not that they were not old, but I really think they could be a bit better). Anyway, just a kind suggestion to improve a beautiful B&B!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
thank you for the beautiful words written on the guestbook which is here, I hope only to have you again in our little home, and I take seriously your suggestion we will try to improve, a big thank you also for this...... see you next time


staff

michele
michela
giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The staff was charming, courteous and helpful. Our room was very pleasant, good sized and clean, in back so it was very quiet, even during the world soccer finals which took place during our stay. (Finnegan's Irish Bar, a great place, is across the street and was quite busy that night.) It's a very short walk from the lovely and uncrowded San Marco museum (Fra Angelico frescoes) and to the San Lorenzo market. We are seniors and far from athletic, but found walking to the principal tourist area around the Duomo and Uffizi easy. Excellent restaurants nearby. Breakfast was great, and the bath was modern and in good working order. We stayed six nights.
Two tips about arrival: if you are arriving in the afternoon, it is a good idea to let the staff know when you will be coming. The reception area is closed from about 1 to 4, but they will have someone there to greet you and show you your room if they know when you are coming. Even an hour's notice is sufficient. Also, there is an elevator; the hotel is on the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
I am writing to respond to the beautiful and wonderful words cha wrote for our small home, thank you on behalf of all staff, which as always was able to meet our wonderful customers, still a big thank you and hope to see you soon....

Best Regards

Staff

Michele
Michela
Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

People in the hotel could not have been nicer and we had a wonderful stay here. Were very helpful finding restaurants nearby. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaFlorence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Antica Dimora Firenze, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
reading your words, we realize how beautiful it is our job, and always ready to improve everything from booking to the moment of greeting, thanks again and hope to see you soon in our small but cozy residence.

staff
michele
michela
giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Dimora Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Firenze

Address: Via San Gallo, 72, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Dimora Firenze is a very special and charming Guest House located in a quiet residential area of Florence next to the historical center at an easy walking distance of the city’s main sites. All rooms have a special florentine decor taking making you feel at home away from home! Friendly staff provide a warm welcome when you arrive, and are full of excellent advice for special tips about restaurante, tours, museum reservations and any advice can be helpful for your stay in Florence! Tea, coffee, biscuits, free WI-FI and laptops are available all day, you can help yourself to drinks from The complimentary and honesty bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antica Dimora Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Firenze Florence
Antica Dimora Firenze Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Dimora Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.