We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soggiorno Gloria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Soggiorno Gloria to your Saves list
Soggiorno Gloria
Via Nazionale, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 461 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

This is a little hotel in Florence. Location is great - a few minutes from the station, and just outside of the main tourist area. Don't expect anything fancy, but it's a good value budget option that's clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

OK bad room but excellent location - and we saw this really awesome room on the top floor which if you book i recommend you get. Its right on the corner of the building with windows on all sides with its own ensuite. The one free internet computer had a stuffed keyboard - but there is an internet cafe around the place.

  • Liked — Location and cost
  • Disliked — Not the best looking bedroom - yellow with no windows
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We had a private washroom, which was big, but there was mold on the ceiling over the shower and the shower curtain was not clean either. Also, the towels weren't replaced the next day.

This was advertised as a hotel on the website that we booked it on, but really it's a higher end hostel. Therefore, my thoughts are mixed on this place. For a private room, with one double bed, the room was spacious.

Staff is friendly and helpful. Call if you are going to arrive late, so that they will be there to let you in. It is close to the train station, but the hotel sign is not obvious from the street. There is no internet connection, eventhough the website says there is. However, they will store your luggage for free, if you want to explore the City after you check out. That saved us money on having to store our luggage at the train station.

If you arrive late on a Sunday night, no worries - there are plenty of places to eat close by so you don't have to get McDonalds at the train station. They close between 11pm to midnight.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The bathroom.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I normally only book hotels with a 4-4.5 or higher ranking on Trip Advisor. So I was a little skeptical after reading some of the reviews and seeing the ranking. I have to say though, my boyfriend and I were really quite impressed with the rooms at this hotel. It shouldn't be considered a bed & breakfast since they don't serve breakfast. The rooms were bright, clean and comfortable. We stayed in Athens, Rome and Santorini and this hotel probably had the most comfortable bed out of all 4 places we stayed. We opted for the shared bathroom which was actually very nice, modern and clean. There was never a wait to use the restroom or take a shower since there were two close on our hallway alone. There is a small flat screen tv and armoire which was also nice.

The location was the best thing about this hotel. It took us a little while to find the hotel just cause the number on the outisde of the building is hard to see. The picture on the website of the outside of the building is misleading because it is not of this hotel. We didn't have to walk far from the metro which was great. We both had large rolling luggage and the Firenze (Florence) stop is right down the street. Florence is a great city because all of the major sites are in walking distance. It was nice that our hotel was located in a central area cause we could walk back to the hotel whenever we needed to. There are plenty of places to eat and shop in the area as well. We were really close to the open markets which have tons of great deals on leather and silk scarves. We also found this little cafe next door which had the best pastries for breakfast.

I had read previously that the manager had told guests that their credit card machine was down and wanted to be paid with cash. Upon arrival, the manager Alberto also pointed to a sign that cash payment only and said their credit card machine was down. I told him that we only booked hotels that accepted credit card payments and then he quickly said that maybe he could get it fixed. When I checked out, the person at the front desk wanted cash payment and I informed him that I spoke with the previous manager that we would only be paying by credit card-he had to call the manager and then got the machine out and ran my credit card. This was the only down fall of this hotel. Most places we stayed at in Athens, Rome and Santorini preferred cash payment though because they are automatically charged a fee for cc payments. But this was the only place that lied about their machine being down when it was obviously working. Just don't
fall for an excuse that their machine is down.

The towels are super thin like thick sheets which is okay. We visited in May and got ate up by mosquitos the third night in our hotel room. Hotels in Europe are open air and do not have screens. We didn't use the AC with it being fairly cool during the evenings and got ate up on the third night when it was much warmer outside.

But other than that, we really enjoyed our stay here. It is in a safe area and we would stay here again. We liked being able to come back to the hotel to take a nap, use the restroom, change clothes, etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

This is a great place to stay for budget travellers. I stayed for 3 nights with a friend in a double room - with a shared bathroom (which is what worried me before I arrived). There was no need to worry - the bathrooms were always spotless (cleaner than many 4 star hotels in Europe with private bathrooms!) with fantastic showers. The owners were very friendly, and offered to keep our luggage at the hostel after we checked out, as we were catching a train later in the day. Also - the photos on the official website are old - the rooms and bathrooms have been renovated recently. Cannot recommend this place enough for people travelling on a budget.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly staff, security and privacy.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

10 min walk from main train station, but difficult to find (only indicated by number and small plaque on the front door), 15 min walk to historic centre.

Very basic room with broken fixtures, no double glazing so cold and loud at night, no fire safety features apparent, not enough bedding. Mouldy, broken-tiled and flood-prone shower with chewing gum in it and broken window in bathroom fixed with tape. Cleaner smoked inside whilst cleaning room and in spite of no-smoking signs.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed for two nights, in a matrimonial bed room. It was great. The bathrooms were clean, with awesome showers. There was access to free internet. Inside the room was a hotpot for heating water, tea bags and instant coffee, a mini fridge and a flatscreen tv. A great place for people on a budget.

  • Liked — Near train station
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Soggiorno Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Gloria

Address: Via Nazionale, 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soggiorno Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Gloria Florence
Soggiorno Gloria Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soggiorno Gloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.