We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Howard Guest Houses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Howard Guest Houses to your Saves list
Casa Howard Guest Houses
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via della Scala 18, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Krasnogorsk, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights during our trip to Italy and we enjoyed it immensely.
The most impressive thing about it is of course the design. All rooms are different and each is unique. Our room on the upper floor was wonderfully decorated in deep blue, beige and light wood and had a spacious terrace (this room was also suitable for dog-owners, so if you are planning to travel to Florence with your dog, keep in mind). Next door was a family suit and it had a rock-climbing wall. The room our friends stayed in was apparently a honeymoon room and had a in-floor bath.
In terms of comfort, we had almost nothing to complain about. The room was equipped with all the things you would expect from a good hotel. What I liked most was a small kettle and some tea bags. A nice surprise in a "coffee" country like Italy for a tea person like me!
The only thing that disappointed was the wi-fi that only worked in the sitting area downstairs.
The service is very good. The house is not rated as a hotel and they do not have a 24-hour reception. However, the manager seemed to be always there to help and ready to answer any questions. We were especially thankful to them for booking us a place in a nearby parking.
I would definitely return and I strongly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The terrace room, definitely. They call it "Game Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    75
    30
    18
    11
See reviews for
54
158
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We choose this hotel from reding others reviews and had high expectations. These were exceeded in everyday. Our children were relocated to the drawing room and we had the oriental. The drawing room is the largest hotel suite I have ever seen. The bathroom is all mirrored tiles and the show area vast. The oriental room is eclectic and has a lovely shower room.
The location is ideal. Close to the station and major sites.

Room Tip: Check the trip advisor photos to find the picture of the hotel plaque. The plaque is small and so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I found this in looking at Frommer's Italy and through Trip Advisor. The mini-hotel is made up of 6-8 rooms - each with a different theme. We stayed in the Library which was very nice - comfortable bed and nice size bathroom. It is conveniently located 2 blocks from the train station and is centrally located to many attractions. We were very pleased with this guest house.

Room Tip: Go onto their website and pick a room that fits with your personality/style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

On our sixth visit to Florence, my husband and I chose to get to know the city better by staying in a different area from our usual haunts. Casa Howard, located in one of the many, grand old palazzos, is an intimate guest house experience compared to a large hotel. It was a wonderful surprise and an unmitigated delight. We were most comfortable in the cheerful and eclectically decorated Camel Room, which is very, very quiet. The bathroom was clean and well appointed. I distinguished myself by waking one morning to a full-blown case of bronchitis. Sally and Mylene (Casa Howard's housekeepers and part-time angels) had a doctor at my bedside within 40 minutes, brought me tea, told my husband where to fill prescriptions and buy take-out food for a convalescent, and generally fussed over me. I was back on my feet within 24 hours. Breakfasts, which are optional, were served in our room and were terrific. Being located so close to the church of Santa Maria Novella, and only steps from the S.M. Novella Pharmacy, was pure heaven. Florence's historic sites, museums and important churches are within a 10-15 min. stroll (if one doesn't window shop too much!). We look forward to staying at Casa Howard again and are eager to be guests at the Casa Howard accommodations in Rome!

Room Tip: Photographs of the charmingly decorated rooms are available online. Some of the guest rooms are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

we stayed in the twin room left. although it was one of the smaller rooms in casa howard, it was well maintained and clean. it is very near the train and the bus stations too.

thank you sally and mylene for all your help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had a great time staying at Casa Howard in the Twin Left Room which was one of the smaller rooms but still very charming, clean and well kept. It is conveniently located near Santa Maria Novella Piazza and train station. There is a great pizzeria and gelateria on the block too!

Thanks to Sally and Mylene for their friendly and professional customer service. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay at Casa Howard was a delight! We stayed in the The Oriental Room, with windows facing both the sunlit road and the cloister of the S.M. Novella perfumery (an incredible place not to be missed – their toiletries are also found in Casa Howard’s bathrooms). The room was a warm and welcoming space offering much sensorial indulgence. The bed was surprisingly large and comfortable; the wooden floors were painted black (we were told that the linseed paint took three months to dry..!), ancient fabrics adorned the walls (brought from TienTsin by Jenifer Howard’s mother) and a very spacious shower… All quite cool and comfy. And it should be mentioned that the service was great, considering it isn’t even a hotel. And I almost forgot to add, the location is exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Howard Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Howard Guest Houses

Address: Via della Scala 18, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Howard Guest Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA HOWARD Guest Houses – Rome and Florence The Art of Hospitality. Casa Howard Guest Houses are not hotels. Each Casa Howard is a beautiful private house, in an outstanding location whether an apartment, palazzo or farmhouse, which gives personal service, and where some typically "hotel" ideas, methods and services have been borrowed. With uniquely designed, cosy rooms it’s like staying in a very relaxed, stylish friend’s home – as guests you get the keys of the house, you enjoy the original furniture and objects, you feel the atmosphere of the house. A mix of quality-to-price ratio, uniqueness of location, private home heritage and introduced guests approach deserved Casa Howard many featuring on the international press. Last but not least, CH are now in the bestselling 1000 Places to See before You die !!• A SENSORIAL EXPERIENCE : how different is the feeling of spending some days in a real private house rather than in a public grand hotel, in the top art city of the world! LUXE: we may not define CH a luxury place, rather a true exclusive place (nonetheless we are featured on most of the luxury guidebooks in the world, like the LUXE city book of Grant Thatcher or the LOUIS VUITTON guidebook). Casa Howard (Florence) is located close to Santa Maria Novella, Casa Howard (Rome) close to the Spanish Steps – the ideal spots for accessing the city’s profusion of architectural treasures and shopping! Urban chic close to the action. Suave and surprising, the Casa Howard is located close to the Santa Maria Novella – an ideal spot for accessing the city’s profusion of architectural treasures. This is a Guest House, it is not in the hotel category (e.g. they do not have a concierge, nor do they provide porters etc); it is a private family’s houses partially opened to introduced paying guests. Former guests have a priority booking channel. A mix of quality-to-price ratio, uniqueness of location, private home heritage, and introduced guests approach deserved Casa Howard some awards and many many featuring on international press. It is an intriguing mix of private mansion and hip hotel, providing guest accommodation in stylish apartments. Eco attitude : see down *All the original floors and ceilings have been maintained, there are flourishes of pure silk taffeta at the windows, and many love the chic designer touches such as the occasional black silk sofa, sunken marble bath, full-wall padded bed head, mosaic inlay or 18th century French writing desk. For relaxation after a day’s exploration along the Via Tornabuoni, unwind in the hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Howard Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Howard Guest Houses Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Howard Guest Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.