We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A HOTEL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence San Niccolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence San Niccolo to your Saves list
Residence San Niccolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Piave 1A/2 | Lungarno Zecca Vecchia 8, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 461 Hotels in Florence
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NOT A HOTEL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked San Niccolo on Priceline since it was advertised as a hotel. It is not a hotel, it is an apartment. A very outdated apartment with no housekeeping services. The bathroom in our apartment had only a thin board connecting it to the apartment next door, and we could hear everything they were saying, plus it didn't feel very safe. It is a good location and if you get an apartment on the river side it is much nicer (the other couple we went with had one). The beds were very hard, but clean, unlike the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belthorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having booked through lastminute.com this proved to be a good choice for visiting Florence while also providing a quiet retreat where we could cater for ourselves and have a glass of wine away from expensive restaurants when we wanted. In many ways this kind of residence style accommodation is a good compromise between a complete hotel based holiday and a separate gite, offering reception and housekeeping when needed, but with greater space and flexibility for days out in the city. Good value for money, well-located, basic accommodation. Florence did not disappoint: it is a magical, historically fizzing city of culture.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked San Niccolo on Priceline as a 4-star hotel. I don't believe that this place should be advertised as such, but we couldn't do much about it. It was an apartment and not a hotel room and included no housekeeping. It was fine for our purposes since we were only staying 2 nights, but I would have been upset had we been there for longer. We had 2 rooms and a little kitchen area. Although the view over the river was nice, you couldn't look out unless you were standing. The shower was very small, but had good water pressure. The walk into town is about a mile. For the price, I believe we got what we paid for as most accommodations in Florence are much pricier. It was clean, but the bed wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Resildence San Niccolo advertising is very mis-leading indeed as it would appear they have two types of accommodation available 1st the actual Apartment building it self as shown in the photos on the website and the 2nd be in a very old building on the opposite side of the car park with two separate apartments that is opened up by a narrow doorway to become a 2 bedroom apartment.

We saw one ground floor apartment through the window of one room as it was being cleaned and appeared very modern,clean and what I expected to get for the price I paid per night. Unfortunately for us, as we had booked a two bedroom apartment we were allocated the 2nd choice and OMG!!! I could understand and would have accepted what we got if we had paid HALF of what I had paid for our 6 night stay. In choosing a 4 star Apartment building I was expecting 4 star accommodation - at the very least 3 star but what we given was only worthy of half a star.

The apartments we were in are as I said located on the far side of the car park and is a very old two story building we where on the ground floor. The apartments and its contents are very old. Fortunately as it was two separate single apartments we had two bathrooms as we could only use one bathroom - the shower in one of the bathrooms was so small we couldn't use. The reason for staying in an apartment was that we cook our own meals although there was plenty of crockery, cutlery, pots & pans and the small fridge was big enough. The 2 burner stove is a joke as you can only use one burner at a time which made it impossible to cook even a simple meal.

Also I had booked a two bedroom apartment with two beds plus a foldout bed but on arrival only the two beds were made up. On asking about the foldout bed being made up - I actually had to insist on it and then when the care taker and his wife came to make it up it was very clear that they were not at all happy about having to make it up. The male care taker was extremely rude and abrupt with me on each occasion our paths crossed EXCEPT when one my sons was with me ( aged 21 & 18 ) was with me then he was rather polite.

The worst thing of all about our stay was the SMELL in one of the apartments that started on the 3rd night of our stay - honestly it was like having a chain smoker in each room. I asked to be moved as my youngest son is an Asthmatic but was informed they were fully booked due to it being men's fashion week.. The receptionist advised that the smell was very unusual and had not been reported before - mmmmmm we were not convinced. We were simply advised to turn the heaters off at night and were given a can of air freshener - neither of these two things made the slightest difference and was not a good combination with an Asthmatic as each night the smell got worse.

SO I do not and would not recommend a stay at Residence San Niccolo Florence - my tip would be to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make you sure you get confirmation that your room is actually in the Apartment Building and not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Resildence San Niccolo is the perfect spot! We stayed a week. Our suite was very large and consisted of a large kithcn, living/dining room with TV and internet access. The shutters opened to the street on the Arno River, one bridge down from the Ponte Delvecchio. It was clean, comfortable, and within easy walking distance of everyhthing! The concierge was friendly, and called taxis for us whenever we needed one. This is a great place to stay and visit all there is to see in Florence and surrounding areas. It also gave us a chance to cook our own meals in Italy after shopping at local markets. When we return to Florence we definitely will book this hotel!!

Room Tip: The suite we had was on the first floor and was very large. The only other suite we saw was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I made this booking on Hotwire assuming that the "4 star" designation meant something. They mean nothing - this is not a hotel, it is an apartment; very poorly serviced; with tiny windows that look out over the river - if you stand up and peer out the view is wonderful but sitting down there is nothing to see; the shower cubicle is the tiniest I have seen in a long time -you can barely take a shower, and wonder of wonders, nobody bothers to clean the room. We booked for 4 nights and went without cleaning for all 4 nights.

The housekeeper flatly refused to clean the apartment when we went to request him after 2 days of living without cleaning - he barely understands English and it was tough communicating anything. He said something that sounded like "not included for you".

This is cheating on Hotwire's part - they should not be calling this a hotel since it definitely is not a hotel. And I am not using Hotwire again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor (they seem to have bigger windows). Our room was on the 2nd floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Contrary to this site advertisment, there is on breakfast in this residence. Otherwise, this résidence is prêts cool. My recommandation: don't book with this lousy company and have a Nice day. Enjoy Life!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence San Niccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence San Niccolo

Address: Piazza Piave 1A/2 | Lungarno Zecca Vecchia 8, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#86 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence San Niccolo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence San Niccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence San Niccolo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence San Niccolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.