We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic room, no wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Nazionale to your Saves list
Hotel Nazionale
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 22, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Cardiff
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good location, basic room, no wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked on the 27th May having searched Expedia for wifi included hotels in the centre. On arrival, the first thing the lady told my wife was that the wifi had been down for a month as she was changing providers. Wifi is something we really rely on when we travel as we use it to keep in touch with friends, check restaurants, weather and things to see (blessed TA), so we spent quite a long portion of that evening looking for places that had wifi that worked (the pub next door had wifi what wouldn't let you connect).

In the morning, when we mentioned to the lady that we had booked wifi, she told us we should have read the terms and conditions as it stated there that wifi was not available until the end of June. I checked this out later as I had printed out the contract and there were no such terms when I had booked, so they had been added since I had booked a couple of weeks before (I suspect shortly after my wife arrived the previous evening, but have not asked Expedia about this).

It put a downer on the three days of our trip really, but if you aren't worried about such things, the room itself was basic (no tv) but clean and very well located. It is not really a hotel, but more a hostel with a normal door at street level, but quiet enough and with en suite). I must say, in other respects, the lady was very helpful and also discounted our stay 5 euros a day when we left and appeared to genuinely care in an argumentative sort of way.

We took some time (without the Internet and TA to help us) finding a good place to eat and would recommend the buffet at Cruise Lounge Bar a couple of blocks away. For 8 euros, you get a generous glass of good wine and well prepared cold buffet with pasta, salad, fish, calamari, sandwiches and so on. We found it late, but hopefully this may help someone.

Room Tip: I recommend asking about whether the wifi is sorted (may have mentioned that in my review ;-) )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IRAN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is located in a good area near to all important parts of florence. However there is no elevator there is a friendly Manola there who always ready to healp you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Matteo and Manola treat you like family. This is a nice, simple, conveniently located hotel in the heart of Florence. Hotel Nazionale is perfect for the college student, the backpacker, the budget traveler or anyone who wants a simple hotel with no fuss. The hotel is a quick walk from the SMN train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Hotel Nazionale was a wonderful place to stay when I visited Florence. The rooms are large, the beds are comfy, and each room has it's own private bathroom and shower, which is really really nice! The staff couldn't have been nicer, which was one less thing we had to worry about. The location is great. Just a couple minute walk from the main train station, so you don't have to drag your bags very far, and you don't have to worry about paying for a cab! It's about a 7-10 minute walk from the main town square (Piazza del Dumo) and only a five minute walk to the San Lorenzo Market. The staff is very willing to help you if you need recommendations or directions getting somewhere. You also get free breakfast, which you won't find at every hotel. I strongly recommend Hotel Nazionale for your stay in Florence. I will definitely stay there when I go back!

ps. room 9 (one of the triple rooms) has a great view of the Duomo :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Our room was large with a view of the Duomo. Right across the street from the Santa Maria Novella train station but still a quiet area. Easy to get around by walking. Very near two bus companies that will take you anywhere in Tuscany. The five free computers down on the mezzanine is a great help. Breakfast was filling and varied. For the price I couldn't ask for anything more (about $80 per night, dbl). The hotel looked better than it did on it's website. Two elevators. Seems they know how to run an efficient, basic but comfortable hotel at a great rate. Desk people very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed in this hotel after being shocked by the dirt of the hotel across the road from it.
The manger kindly gave us a room after we had no where to go , he had not got 3 nights available in this room as we had not booked in advance we just walked in from the street . however for the second 2 nights he had a different room for us.
The first room was a large family room with a balancy it was spotless with everything we needed other than a hair dryer, but the staff got one for me.
Every day the staff came to my room with hot water and milk and an empty cup as i had brought my own tea bags from dublin. This was great as i love my cup of tea.
The second room was smaller but air con tv clean bed and shower room still having my cup of tea.
Both rooms have tiled floors with is great as you can see it was clean.
We didnt have breckfast as i like to get up early and pick my own breckfast.
The location was great train station only 5min walk dumo was about 5mins aswell
there is buses at the train station that can take you to far places.
There is a nice cafe afew doors away from the hotel and the food is priced ok, 4euro for toasted cheese and ham bap. Lots of markets just around the corner and good shops on the same street.
The only thing that was not good about the hotel is you have to walk up 4 flights of stairs
they have a lift but it was out of order.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Via Nazionale 22, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nazionale 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nazionale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.