We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Universo to your Saves list
Universo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 459 Hotels in Florence
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Modern and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We selected the Hotel Universo because it is conveniently located near the train station (we took a side trip to Pisa, highly recommended) and easy walking access to the city of Florence. It is clean and modern. I would not recommend a room facing the square if you are a light sleeper. Yes indeed it is a beautiful view but our windows on the fourth floor were not soundproof and I heard every truck and activity that went on all night. It did not help that our toilet ran all night, but in fairness we were only staying one night so we did not mention it to the desk until we left. Breakfast included cereals, yogurt, croissants, meats, etc. Clean is my major criteria for selecting a hotel room. The sheets and towels are not luxurious and the beds are fine, a bit hard for me, but all in all satisfactory. We were there to see Florence, not to experience a spa-like hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    138
    70
    40
    25
See reviews for
43
168
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Pro - Very close to train station
- Has 3 English channels (compared to some with none)
- Value (75 Euro per night in October)
- Friendly staff.
- Breakfast was okay, pastries were pretty fresh. Breakfast room looks new and clean.

Con - Room is too dark
- No safe in the room
- The room smells like bleach or some kind of cleaning product. We stayed for 2 nights and the clothes we wore in that room carried a stinky smell. The room itself looked clean but the smell was pretty bad.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a really wonderful stay at this hotel. Not only were the rooms newly redone and clean, but the staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending several places to eat. We were pleasantly surprised with the extensive continental breakfast that was included with our stay. They even would make cappuccino for you if you asked! Our room overlooked the Piazza Santa Maria Novella which was also recently redone and beautiful. We were a 15 minute walk from just about anywhere in downtown Florence! We stayed in three different places in Italy and we thought this was the most comfortable bed! Just a great overall stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Stayed here during the winter 2009. The rooms are quite small but it was clean, the service was good and the location, just a block or so from the main train station, is OK. If on a budget it is a decent choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I chose this hotel because of the excellent location and the reasonable price (65euros per night per room). Old but totally renovated, with funky colourful rooms, it was really worth its money. The staff was really helpful (they all speak excellent english, booked for us tickets for the Ufizzi, checked the trains timetable etc.), room was being cleaned up every day, breakfast was more than adequate -including a delicious capuccino, and everything in Florence was about a 5 min walk. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We visited Florence in July 2009 and found the Hotel Universo to be the perfect hotel. The hotel is small in size, but the rooms are large and clean. As another review noted, the hotel staff was wonderful. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet in the morning and an internet room (you must pay to use the internet). The location was perfect because we walked to various locations throughout Florence. We spent three nights at the Universo.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

My husband and I were very happy with this hotel. It's close to the station. it's clean and had a reasonable sized bathroom. The choices in the breakfast were limited however. If you don't ask the kitchen staffs to refill the plates, they wouldn't. However, we find it no problem at all. Afterall, we only paid 85 euro for a night. It's good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 459 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.