We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Universo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Universo to your Saves list
Universo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very difficult to find the hotel and to get into the rooms with suitcases. Boutique hotel so the lifts are very small (as are most in Italy) and there are stairs leading up to the rooms which are hard to manouvre luggage up and around corners. The staff did assist us with our luggage upon checking in which was helpful. The room was nice but the bathroom was horrible- the shower was so disgusting it's hard to review it I don't want to relive it! The staff weren't too concerned when we told them our problem. Good location but so many people outside the door selling bags/toys etc it was hard not to be discouraged walking alone. Despite this experience I still love Florence!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    131
    65
    39
    23
See reviews for
42
160
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff at the reception was extraordinarily RUDE and rooms filthy. We got insulted over asking to use the bathroom since 5 of our family members were checking in and got told to leave the hotel. Worst customer service ever!!!!! There are many other better options in Florence then this one, don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhyTheBestHotels, Reception Hotel Universo at Universo, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Google Translation
Egregio Ospite,

agli utenti di uno dei massimi portali turistici al mondo (e dunque all’opinione pubblica) con uno stringato giudizio sulla nostra struttura, Lei consegna un messaggio di vero e proprio “allarme sociale” caratterizzato da slogan di tenore sicuramente discutibile, che appare a nostro giudizio davvero rozzo e grossolano (non se ne abbia a male ma non troviamo davvero termini più appropriati), facendo riferimento ad un fatto da Lei enunciato in maniera vaga ed incompleta. In breve una persona a noi non nota, senza neanche qualificarsi, ha chiesto alla reception, bruscamente e sbrigativamente, di poter usufruire di un bagno e parimenti le sono stati suggeriti dei servizi nelle immediate vicinanze, in luogo qualificato propriamente come “bagno pubblico”, specificando alle sue rimostranze che “ordinariamente”, per ragioni di decoro, igiene e sicurezza la toilette dell’hotel posta al primo piano, dopo la sala colazioni, è riservata non esclusivamente ma preferibilmente agli Ospiti. Non possiamo quindi essere d’accordo sul fatto che in questa circostanza il personale della reception sia stato “straordinariamente” scortese. Come da contestare ci sembra la locuzione dettata da inspiegabile spregio e livore con cui ha parlato di “sporcizia delle camere” che noi, in difetto di riscontri diretti, respingiamo confidando nell’impegno e dedizione del personale addetto. E ancora, ci consenta una domanda: ma chi esattamente si sarebbe permesso di insultare Lei o alcuno dei suoi familiari in occasione del check-in? Forse sta confondendo con altri luoghi di questa onorata città, luoghi in cui, a quanto pare, la filosofia è quella di “vivere di rendita” e non avere la benchè minima cura e rispetto dell’Ospite, imperativo categorico che vige invece nei nostri hotel. Perché, in nome di una bieca logica di “ucciderne uno per educarne cento” se a Firenze ha trovato qualcun altro scortese e superficiale, vuol colpire proprio noi che, al contrario, come anche questo caso evidenzia, con estrema discrezione e professionalità, ci siamo limitati a suggerire i servizi igienici logisticamente più opportuni ed accessibili ad una persona non qualificatasi né resasi subito riconoscibile che oltretutto (e siamo tenuti a credere a quanto serenamente riportato dai nostri colleghi), non ostentando certo buona educazione si è alterata, minacciando ritorsioni, dando perfino in escandescenze prima di riferire, finalmente, il nome dell’Ospite cui stava facendo visita e venendole a questo punto offerto di salire in camera. Dobbiamo quindi concludere che - siamo spiacenti - non risponde al vero la versione secondo cui questa persona sarebbe stata “buttata fuori”.
Lapo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in a newly renovated room with a balcony that looked across to the Duomo. Breakfast was included in the price and of sufficiently good quality with cereal,cheeses,meats,pastries,coffee/tea,juice. We asked for a good restaurant and found our definition of heaven.We ate at the recommended restaurant every day and avoided the tourist haunts.The food and service and quality were excellent and well priced. La Mattina!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The best room in the house, we had a stunning view over Piazza Santa Maria Novella and the basilica. Our room was clean and comfortable with magnificent marble tiles. The bathroom was roomy and we'll equipped. From the hotel we walked to all the sights and the dozens of restaurants around. It may not have been as great without our massive balcony but the location and standard of room are still good.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This hotel is great! The room has a modern sense to it, the bed for me is extremely comfy and the staff are so helpful. A few things could do with improving eg. The breakfast buffet neds a bit more range and the wallpaper has started to peel but they are no biggies!

Room Tip: Bring bug repellent! There are a few mosquitoes around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Midway between the train station and the Duomo, it's an excellent location. We had a triple room. The size was okay and the bathroom was spacious. It faced into the ventilation shaft, not an ideal view but probably quieter. Room lighting was fairly poor. Breakfast was good, not outstanding compared to some others I've had in Italy. Given it's an older building with limited space, I suppose it's about as well as one can do for the price.

The staff was very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Even if hotels in Europe don't use to have big rooms, ours was very good, with plenty of space! We liked that this hotel is very close to train station so we did not have to carry our bagages very much. Breakfast was good enough, with enough things to choose. Staff was very nice and gentle. Only thing that concerned us was the elevator that was very small and we felt that it could fail in any moment. This hotel charges for wifi so we preferred not to pay for it because it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.