We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Universo to your Saves list
Universo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Mid-Peninsula of the San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Extremely convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a modern hotel right on one side of the piazza Santa Maria Novella, making it maybe a 5 minute walk from the main train station in the city. And the major sights of the Accademia and the Uffizii were only 10-15 minute walks away. The room was typically european small (by USA standards) but was clean and quiet. This was the only hotel of 7 we have stayed In during a two week trip that was going to charge us for WiFi access in our room. As I had a portable hotspot with me I must pulled that out and used it to access the Internet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    143
    72
    40
    26
See reviews for
45
172
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel is almost perfectly located, 3 minut to main trains station and 5-10 minutes to most of sightseeing in Florence. It is 3star hotel, but you don't feel it inside. At first sight rooms looks nice and modern, but when you look closer there are shortcomings.
- there was wallpaper not sticking to the wall in a corner
- water does not flow out of the sink (only to some point...)
- the room was incradible hot when we arrived
- there were doors to the terrace, but... It was not comfortable to keep them open while this was accessbile from other rooms also.
- on the terrace there was some ventilation machine, turning on every 20 minutes that sounded like a garbage truck
- there was only one small lamp above the mirror in bathroom
- in room there were only 3 lamps. 2 night lamps on both sides of the bed and one floor lamp. So the lightening was very poor, espacially that main wall was black and all furniture and floor was made of some dark wood.
- additionally there was some renovation in the next building, so there where some workes on outside our window that were replacing roof tiles, they also could acces this terrace. And they started work about 7:30 AM !!! Thankfully we had ours alarms set to 7:40AM so no big loose
- wifi is extra paid (6euros/24h)

Breakfest was ok, Cleanliness of room also. I expected a little bit more from 3 star hotel, I stayed in Florence also in another 2star hotel that was a lot (and I mean really a lot) better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location of the hotel is great. Very central and walking distance from most of the touristic spots. However, the rooms are very tired, old towels and reception area very cold.
To my standards, this hotel wouldn't have 3 stars.
Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved the location as it was very near the train station. However, the room was not well maintained as some things were damaged and not repaired or replacement. The room was also too dark as there was insufficient lighting.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

stayed for three nights in early December 2013 and loved the big, wide view of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella out of two large windows! It is a somewhat quirky hotel with weird decor but once you adjust to that, it becomes part of the background and you can just enjoy being there without too much fuss..the sun streams in through the windows in the afternoon and makes it a very enjoyable experience, relaxing, quiet, and yet with a spectacular view!
the breakfast is good but could be better! Maybe some hot eggs need to be aded to the menu to make it worthwhile on a cold, winter morning!
nonetheless, Universo makes for undeniably good experience and comfort!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the Piazza of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am going with the very good rating on account of the service we received after we complained about the first room, and the room improvement after our first day.
We saw a construction crane in front of the hotel on Google street map when we checked out the hotel before booking and were concerned about construction noises. As the street view map could be old and nobody in recent TA reviews mentioned anything about construction noise, we emailed the hotel which assured us that construction IN the hotel was finished. What it didn’t say was that there’s construction right next door. We read a raving TA review about Room 509 so we asked for that room if at all possible when we went ahead and booked and paid extra for a view room. We also prepaid to take advantage of the free internet offer.
On arrival around noon, we immediately saw the big crane by the hotel just as on the Google Street map, somewhat worried but there was no unusual noise (read on!) as we approached the hotel. On entering the small lobby, a very nice, all smiley man helped us, offered to hold our luggage which was delivered to our room before we came back from lunch and visiting the Duomo. We did not get 509 as requested but another one (51). When we entered the room around 3:30 or 4pm, we were blasted with jack-hammering noises that were just unbearable even with the window closed. Both the room and bathroom were extremely small. The AC wasn’t working (remote control nowhere to be seen) and it was quite hot from the afternoon sun. We went down to talk to the front desk, a.k.a., Lisa, to see if we could have an alternate room. We were shown another room (29) in the back. My husband emphasized to Lisa that we had paid extra for a view room and had asked for 509. She said 509 was taken but would be available the next day. We needed to only pack up in the morning and the staff would move us while we’re out. We agreed to the compromise and kudos to Lisa as I felt that she did try hard to make us happier given the circumstances. Even without a view, we’re definitely happier with 29. It’s much more spacious and the AC worked and it’s quieter by virtue of the location (Lisa assured us that the construction noises were usually not as bad and they’re contained from early morning (7:30 or 8am to around 5:30pm, so if you want to sleep late or take an afternoon siesta, factor that in). The bathroom was just as tiny and the shower just as cramped.
When we came back from Pisa the next day, we went to 509 and found incredible improvement. It’s two level, modern and good-size bathroom and a small sitting area (sofa can be pulled out to be a bed) with a TV downstairs (there’s even a safe), and a spacious bedroom which open to a small terrace upstairs. There’s even a huge sink for doing laundry in the bedroom. This space was night and day when compared to the other two rooms. Except for the concrete floor (luckily we brought disposable slippers) and the weird space (not exactly a closet and the hangers couldn’t be removed) for hanging clothes, and no chairs out on the terrace), everything about this space was excellent. If this was the room we got from the start, we’d have rated this hotel excellent.
Breakfast was average but decent considering it’s included in the rate. Brioches tasted packaged but there’s a selection of meat and cheese which we’re not expecting for a continental breakfast. We could also order cappuccino from the woman staffing the room. The elevator was definitely your typical small European contraption and we found that we had to walk a few steps up or down depending on the floor we selected for the elevator to stop. So beware in case you need help with luggage. We would recommend this hotel only if you can get 509 or one of the rooms with a 3 digit numbers as they appear to be the newer part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 509 or one of the newer rooms that have a 3-digit number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in 2010 and again last week with 6 friends. For 3 star this hotel is very good, excellent staff, good breakfast, excellent location for seeing Florence. The rooms are good, clean with comfortable beds, but need a lick of paint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 20, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.