We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, right next to the river!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Consigli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Consigli to your Saves list
Hotel Consigli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Vespucci 50, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 461 Hotels in Florence
va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, right next to the river!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I found this place online and fell in love immediately. We arrived in Florence or Firenze via train from Rome. Florence is completely different from Rome. Just a wonderful city. Very easy to walk around. This hotel is located away from the center of town right next door to the American Consulate.
It faces the river. Our room was 135 euros per night and we stayed for 3 nights. We were greeted very nicely upon check in and were directed to this restaurant called La Profeta. The best meal of my entire life. After that we came back and enjoyed some time on the deck overlooking the river. Its for the guests to enjoy which I thought was a nice perk. You can buy a beer and go up and enjoy the sunset which is what we did. The room was a little plain but nice. The bed was made up of two twin beds and I kept falling down the middle every night. The television had SO many stations in just about every language but English, it could have been better if there was one station that had English. I believe it had Spanish, French, German. The staff there was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your good review !!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here,hope to see you again in the future! we always try to help and suggest places to go for our guests.

Our best regards,
Sarah and Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    84
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
133
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed there for a few nights in September. They were most helpful in arranging our very early morning trip to the airport, and allowed us to 'virtually check out' the night before.

Very tidy room, very convenient. Nice assortment of tv stations, almost learned Italian! A rooftop terrace is really nice - can see the river from there - and right next door is the US Embassy so you know you are safe.

Room Tip: Small and beautiful interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your sweet review!!!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here,come back soon!!!

Our best regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Review for the ‘Classic Rooms’. We booked this hotel based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor. It seems the great reviews are about the larger rooms on the upper floors-of which none were available during our stay to be able to upgrade. I have to say we were pretty disappointed and can’t say we had the same experience as others.
Our classic room #3 on the ground floor (All Classic Rooms are on ground floor) was very average. The bed was comfortable and had great pillows and the room was large enough. There was a small TV mounted on the wall but unfortunately no English channels (We checked at recept) and no safe in room. The window faced the street and the footpath is right outside. So at night even though it is a ‘no through’ road for traffic, there are people coming and going from their cars parked out front sometimes late at night and being quite loud in their farewells to each other. The bathroom was small which is ok, but the floor was really grubby. I made mention of this when we arrived to Alessandro giving her the opportunity to address the problem, but it was not rectified. Cleanliness is imperative and this was not of an acceptable standard at all. There are other small issues like no handles on the wardrobe making it very difficult to open, no hooks in the bathroom or place to hang a towel except over a chair in the room and sachet shampoo-(have you ever tried to open them with wet hands).
The local area is generally quiet and free of busy traffic however on three consecutive nights we were woken by ongoing noise by other guests from within the hotel. Whoever is on at reception at night needs to manage this.
As the room is in a small hall next to the reception, any loud speaking guests entering and leaving at night echoes through the foyer and central staircase area disturbing other guests- even on the upper floors, as when we brought this issue up with reception other guests there at the time from upstairs had the same problem.
Unfortunately the rooftop terrace was in a pretty sad old state, with dead plants and weeds growing in the pots, not very attractive. The view was nice and sunsets pleasant and colourful until the mosquitoes arrived sending us back to our den.
On the plus side there is free WIFI which was good, and the breakfast room is very nice, the breakfast is ok.
The Hotel Consigli has potential however needs to address the noise issues by soundproofing doors etc, and to have a notice made to put in the entry at night requesting guests to be quiet when entering late at night for the consideration of other guests. This also needs to be managed by night staff. They also need to look into the upkeep of the premises such as the dirty bathroom floors and the state of the rooftop terrace.
Location is a 15 minute walk along the Arno River to reach the Ponte Vecchio Bridge, so a bit of extra walking required each day when you venture out and return from exploring Florence.
If I was in Florence again and only there for a couple of days I would try for something more central.

Room Tip: Would not recommend a Classic Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I sincerely believe that with this kind of reviews can just reach the absurd, I answer only to defend myself publicly and the company of my family, I think there is too much power in the hands of people to write ANYTHING freely and publicly.

If we want to be precise firstly let me say that there are lots of reviews with the highest vote on the classic rooms.
It is written clearly on our website that classic rooms are on the ground floor, there is a price difference between the classics and superiors and this depends on the floor and the size of the room.
The TV is not small (22 inches), and it is a LED TV mounted on the wall as is used currently.
The ground floor rooms are at a raised level from the street (the floor of the room is 1.5 meters higher than the street level), no one can see from the road into the rooms.
The road is closed to traffic for the U.S. Consulate so here park only a few resident's cars and i do not believe they can make a lot of noise just to park and go home.

Let's speak about the bathroom's floor,I NEVER SPOKE WITH YOU, i suppose you read my name on the other reviews,OTHERWISE i had explained you that the rows of grout between the small tiles become slightly more gray over time (like in every place...home or hotel) and NOT becouse the floor is not clean,we have 2 wonderful women that work with us and do their work very well with specific products and we know that cleanless is the first thing.

The hotel before was a private home and the building is quite small,the rooms are not soundproofed like in modern hotels,we and our guests like this of our hotel,the feeling of being at home,everyone when arrives tell me that there is too much silence.
I am sorry if some guest enter in the night and make noise but i can't be in the mind of other people and i can't predict events, I want to emphasize here that my staff is very well trained on how to behave and do their job (day and night) and I do not like the tone of your review that always wants to point out our own inability (for you) to do our work.
We have to change the plants on the roof terrace becouse after a very hot summer they can't survive.
It's really bad that you have written that you talked to me and that other people have complained about the noise because it is absolutely untrue,you did that probably to reinforce what you wrote, but you're a big liar.
This type of reviews are neither helpful tips for other travelers and certainly not for us, they are just attempts to damage our image and how we work.

Alessandro Antognoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel situated by the side of the river and about 15 mins walk to the "Bridge" is quiet and charming , helpful staff. Reception could not do enough for us on our arrival.
The hotel has a large open balcony which you can use in the early evening to soak up the atmosphere.Romm where spotless with large modern bathroom
Breakfast is taken weekdays at a local cafe, great way to start the day!
Great Stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your good review!!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful city,come back here soon!

Our best,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. When we first arrived we were put in a room in the back building that was barely big enough for the bed and we found a bag of stuff the previous occupants had left behind. There was also construction going on that was very loud. We talked to the woman at the front desk who said we could pay a little more for a bigger room in the main building for the first night but we would have to go back to the other room the second night as they were fully booked.

The room we were moved to was very nice. It was huge with very classic, Italian decor and large windows. If you get a chance, the rooftop terrace is beautiful. Breakfast was included, a basic breakfast but really good. The location of the hotel is a little bit outside of the center of Florence but easily walked to. The next night we were back in 'The Box' as we named it. It wasn't as bad as we thought but still not quite worth the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building, and make sure to spend some time on the rooftop garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

The classic rooms like is written on our web site www.hotelconsigli.com are located on the ground floor of the main building or in the dependance (small building next to the main),you booked a classic room,these rooms are cheaper instead of the superiors or suite,the reason is the position and size of the room.
There were public works on the street behind our hotel (Corso Italia),but this does not dipend on us,we can understand that was noisy but they stop working at 5.00 pm.
The first night we gave you a superior room becouse was free with 20 euro more and if it is possible we always try to satisfy our guests,the second night we had available only the classic room in the dependance,these rooms are nice and similar to the classics in the main building,they have the same features and new bathrooms with big showers.

Hope to see you again in the future we send you our best regards!

Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights in October. Our room on the 2nd floor was massive. MASSIVE. Even a traveler from Texas would say so. Impossibly high ceilings, beautiful art everywhere, comfy bed. Staff are friendly, especially Alessandro. Our room looked out over the Arno, gorgeous. The only potential issue, depending on your level of fitness, is how much walking you want to do. The hotel is a bit west of most of the tourist attractions in Florence (e.g., Duomo, Uffizi) and it's probably a brisk 10-minute walk to get to the nerve center. Not exactly a surprise mind you, we knew where it was when we booked it, just that after a long day walking around Florence, you'll face another 10-15 on the way home. However, to be fair, if you could magically drop this hotel around the corner from the Uffizi, the price would probably be 40% higher. For us, it was not a problem. Also, there are consulate buildings in the area so there is night and day security, which meant coming back at night was no problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review!!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Consigli! The hotel is located in a very beautiful area,along the river,near to the american consulate (very safe), it is 10 min. walk from Ponte Vecchio but far from the noise of the main centre,a right compromise.
We hope to see you again in the future and we wish you a great time!

Our best regards,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was nice to find this hotel in a quiet part of town overlooking the river. It wasnt too far to walk into town, to all the sights and easy to get to from the train station. The rooftop terrace was very nice and with lovely views to the Ponte Vecchio at night. Our room was a suite which had beautiful frescos on the ceiling and was huge. The breakfast was plentiful, the best of our trip. Staff were friendly and on hand to help with anything.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Vicki,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!!!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your journey here. The hotel building was built in 18th century and you can feel its character and history,if you are looking for a small and familiar hotel it is the right place.
We hope to see you again soon!

Our best,
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Consigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Consigli

Address: Lungarno Vespucci 50, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Consigli 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Consigli has everything you need for a pleasant, authentic stay in Florence. Located on Lungarno Vespucci in an elegant Renaissance home, the building includes a convenient private paying car park, a true privilege for hotels in Florence's historic center.The panoramic terrace with roof garden overlooking the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio will make your stay memorable. In addition, the familiar hospitality at Hotel Consigli will go along with your every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Consigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Consigli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Consigli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.