We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Consigli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Consigli to your Saves list
Hotel Consigli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Vespucci 50, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #179 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel situated by the side of the river and about 15 mins walk to the "Bridge" is quiet and charming , helpful staff. Reception could not do enough for us on our arrival.
The hotel has a large open balcony which you can use in the early evening to soak up the atmosphere.Romm where spotless with large modern bathroom
Breakfast is taken weekdays at a local cafe, great way to start the day!
Great Stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your good review!!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful city,come back here soon!

Our best,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    84
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
135
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. When we first arrived we were put in a room in the back building that was barely big enough for the bed and we found a bag of stuff the previous occupants had left behind. There was also construction going on that was very loud. We talked to the woman at the front desk who said we could pay a little more for a bigger room in the main building for the first night but we would have to go back to the other room the second night as they were fully booked.

The room we were moved to was very nice. It was huge with very classic, Italian decor and large windows. If you get a chance, the rooftop terrace is beautiful. Breakfast was included, a basic breakfast but really good. The location of the hotel is a little bit outside of the center of Florence but easily walked to. The next night we were back in 'The Box' as we named it. It wasn't as bad as we thought but still not quite worth the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building, and make sure to spend some time on the rooftop garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

The classic rooms like is written on our web site www.hotelconsigli.com are located on the ground floor of the main building or in the dependance (small building next to the main),you booked a classic room,these rooms are cheaper instead of the superiors or suite,the reason is the position and size of the room.
There were public works on the street behind our hotel (Corso Italia),but this does not dipend on us,we can understand that was noisy but they stop working at 5.00 pm.
The first night we gave you a superior room becouse was free with 20 euro more and if it is possible we always try to satisfy our guests,the second night we had available only the classic room in the dependance,these rooms are nice and similar to the classics in the main building,they have the same features and new bathrooms with big showers.

Hope to see you again in the future we send you our best regards!

Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights in October. Our room on the 2nd floor was massive. MASSIVE. Even a traveler from Texas would say so. Impossibly high ceilings, beautiful art everywhere, comfy bed. Staff are friendly, especially Alessandro. Our room looked out over the Arno, gorgeous. The only potential issue, depending on your level of fitness, is how much walking you want to do. The hotel is a bit west of most of the tourist attractions in Florence (e.g., Duomo, Uffizi) and it's probably a brisk 10-minute walk to get to the nerve center. Not exactly a surprise mind you, we knew where it was when we booked it, just that after a long day walking around Florence, you'll face another 10-15 on the way home. However, to be fair, if you could magically drop this hotel around the corner from the Uffizi, the price would probably be 40% higher. For us, it was not a problem. Also, there are consulate buildings in the area so there is night and day security, which meant coming back at night was no problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review!!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at Consigli! The hotel is located in a very beautiful area,along the river,near to the american consulate (very safe), it is 10 min. walk from Ponte Vecchio but far from the noise of the main centre,a right compromise.
We hope to see you again in the future and we wish you a great time!

Our best regards,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was nice to find this hotel in a quiet part of town overlooking the river. It wasnt too far to walk into town, to all the sights and easy to get to from the train station. The rooftop terrace was very nice and with lovely views to the Ponte Vecchio at night. Our room was a suite which had beautiful frescos on the ceiling and was huge. The breakfast was plentiful, the best of our trip. Staff were friendly and on hand to help with anything.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Vicki,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!!!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your journey here. The hotel building was built in 18th century and you can feel its character and history,if you are looking for a small and familiar hotel it is the right place.
We hope to see you again soon!

Our best,
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is on the river bank, close to the centre and is a very safe location. The room was clean and quite adequate. Breakfast is served in a magnificent room with great views of the Arno. We had arrived by train and it a very short distance to the hotel, by inexpensive taxi. Goopd restaurants are a short walk away and the American consulate nearby ensures top security. We would definitely use the hotel on future visits to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thanks a lot for your great review!!!

We are very happy that your stay here was good!!! We wait for you on your next trip to Florence and we wish you a great time.

Our best,
Sarah & Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This three star hotel give 4 star service and 5 star accommodation. Just 16 rooms in this hotel so you definitely get more personalised service.The room was spotless and the bathroom very large, with beautiful antique furniture very much in the keeping of this lovely hotel.The Dining Room was beautiful with views of the Arno River, and the breakfast was included! . . A very quiet location yet just a short walk along the river into the main precinct and next to the US Embassy this lovely hotel was great value for money. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely recommend a stay at this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Worth a stay as the rooms are large with a love;y bathroom and just 16 rooms so guest can get person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Ann,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!!!

We are so happy that you appreciate our service and our place and that you enjoyed your stay here! The hotel is small and we try to give our best service and help anytime. Thanks for calling a "gem" our hotel,we appreciate this a lot!

Hoping to see you again in the future we wish you a great time!

Our best,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel offers good value in a location not too far from the main attractions, overlooking the river. Recently refurbished, comfortable beds and a decent breakfast. We would stay here again. Handy to have a hotel car park too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review!!!

We are so happy that you had a lovely stay here and we hope to see you again soon! One of our best qualities is our private parking inside the hotel,so our guests can leave the car here and walk easily all around the main centre.

Our best regards!
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Consigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Consigli

Address: Lungarno Vespucci 50, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Consigli 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Consigli has everything you need for a pleasant, authentic stay in Florence. Located on Lungarno Vespucci in an elegant Renaissance home, the building includes a convenient private paying car park, a true privilege for hotels in Florence's historic center.The panoramic terrace with roof garden overlooking the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio will make your stay memorable. In addition, the familiar hospitality at Hotel Consigli will go along with your every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Consigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Consigli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Consigli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.