We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Consigli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Consigli to your Saves list
Hotel Consigli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Vespucci 50, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 461 Hotels in Florence
New Windsor, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked this room online for a two night stay in Florence. I paid the same price for this room as I did for a hostal in Madrid earlier in my trip. The room was clean and spacious. I had a huge bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom in my room was the same size as my entire room in Madrid. This hotel was a great deal!

It is a bit of a walk from the center of Florence, but more than manageable. Quick walk to the train station as well!

I will say, the walls are thin, but I found that everywhere I stayed in Europe.

The staff was friendly. I do not speak any Italian, at all, so I had a little trouble asking for directions one morning, but the man I spoke to had a map and drew the route on it for me.

Overall, a great trip and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I had room 4, it was off the lobby, so a little louder, but spacious and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review!!!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip here at "Consigli",we try always to give very good rates and everyone will found our best discounts on our official web site.

Hoping to see you again in the future we send you our best regards!

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    84
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
133
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My fiance and I stayed 1 night for our brief visit to Florence. We had a room upstairs with a terrace (view of the Arno). The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was quite nice. The shower had a rainfall shower head. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was charming with a fresco ceiling, and the breakfast was simple but delicious (croissants, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and coffee machine). The WiFi worked fine (I only used it for web browsing and checking emails).

Room Tip: I hear room 11 is large with a fresco painted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review!!!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. All our rooms have new bathrooms with big showers or tub.

Hope to see you again in the future!

Our best,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived and checked in, took a look at the room and decided to cancel our stay. The room was dirty with empty sweet wrappers in the cupboards, stained couches and not quite what you see in the pictures. We informed the gentleman at reception that we will not be staying there anymore and agreed to pay the one nights cancellation fee, as stated as the policy on our confirmation. He agreed apologised and then called his manager who just wouldn't hear of it. He wanted the full payment of our stay. We spend 3hrs arguing this. We had the printed confirmation with us stating the policy right there in black and white that only one nights penalty would be charged. The manager wouldnt come in and kept talking through the man behind the desk who was now hostile. They tried to debit my card with the full amount, it didn't go through. The police were called in. We being foreign, not speaking the language, frustrated and scared then decided that we will just give in, pay the full amount and explain the situation to the police. The police advised us to take legal action to claim our money back since we did have proof of the terms we booked at. This was truly crazy and just wrong. It almost ruined our trip since now we had to pay for two hotels for those two nights. We didn't even stay 10min in that room. A heartbreaking birthday trip which was rescued by Villa La Vedetta hotel. Which is a little pricier but a million times better...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am the owner of hotel Consigli and the man at the front desk spoke with me that night.

You wrote false things about my property.

I am very reasonable in my work but not with you becouse the room was ok,the room was our suite (nobody ever sayed nothing like you about this room),you first went in the room and later down at the reception to say things that aren't true and this is not a good thing,if you didn't like the room you can say that you prefer to go in another place and not bad things.
If the room had some problem you don't have to pay either for the first night but the room was ok and there were no reasons to go away,from that point you have to understand that if you go away you have to pay for both nights you have booked becouse for me it is impossible to sell the room again for the day after,a room that you booked and that we hold for you for a lot of time,our best room,a room that had no problems.
You didn't want to pay and your credit card wasn't valid so we have to call the police and only after the police come you decided to pay,the cancellation policy is for the first night,but i explain why you payed 2 nights and i think it is correct like this,If all the people do things like you would close all the hotels.

Alessandro
Hotel Consigli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. We stayed in room 1. When we arrived the air conditioning was turned off and after a long hot day traveling in 90+ degree heat this was an issue. In order to turn the air conditioning unit on we had to climb up on a chair. Wires were hanging out of the middle of the ceiling. The walls are thin and you can hear everything happening in the lobby. Some of the staff were welcoming and helpful whereas others were not. The air conditioner was a continual issue because the house keeping staff decided to turn it off 2 out of 4 of the mornings after cleaning our room so we returned each evening to a hot room--this is a simple issue that could be fixed if the staff addresses this issue and instructs house keeping to leave the AC running, especially in the heat of July. Room 1 only has a shower and the pressure gets really high. Do not turn the shower on all the way because if you do the water gets all over the bathroom floor. The bed was comfortable enough. Breakfast was adequate. Location was good because there is a view of the river from the hotel and Florence seemed to be a very walk-able city. To get from the Firenze SMN station we could have walked as it is only 15 minutes or so and we did not have very much luggage. Otherwise there are trains or taxis (about 10 euro) to use. I highly recommend Tuscany Bike Tours in Florence... it was our favorite thing that we did on our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 - because of the problems we had I would not recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

It is a normal thing that when you arrive the a.c. is turned off,we don't know the exact time of our guests check-in and we can't leave the a.c. on 24 hours a day for a lot of reasons and not all the people want air conditioned.
All our a.c. machine have a remote controller and you don't have to climb nothing,Just ask for the controller!
Our housekeepers turn always off the machines becouse have to open the windows to clean the rooms and becouse i think it is correct to turn them off ,often our guests stay out all the day and i don't want leave everything turned on for 24 hours for many reasons,when someone go back in the room can turn on a.c. and in 2 minutes the room will be cool.
These are little things that could be talked about,i am always here,every day and you didn't tell me nothing,i know this only from your negative review for a problem that is not a problem.

Regards,
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Consigli after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The staff are all as nice as can be, our room was large and lovely, the breakfast is nice, and the location is quiet and peaceful.

Okay, so why four instead of five? For me, I could not give five because: we did experience some (not a lot) of sketchy internet, we never adequately learned to operate the bath (I might mention for those of you who love showers, the room we stayed in had a bathtub and you could either just take a bath or use a spray nozzle, but there is no shower curtain and nowhere to put the nozzle up high) (in our case we first could not get the tub to retain water and then could not get it to drain), it is a little bit of a clip to the attractions (this in itself was okay, but at night the pathways along the river get really busy and it could be a little difficult to get to the hotel without walking a backstreet).

But, I want to emphasize, we loved the Hotel Consigli and really enjoyed our stay. We liked walking into town and being on the river at night where it was a little calmer to sleep. The staff is first class. And, once you have stayed other places, you'll really appreciate the size of the rooms here for Italy.

Room Tip: Stay first floor or above; don't book the cheapest room--go for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nearly five review!!!

We are very happy thet you enjoyed your stay here at Consigli and hope to see you again in the future!
Maybe the pathways along the river that night were busy becouse of S.giovanni's day feast (with fireworks from piazzale michelangelo and a lot of people along the Arno).

Our best,
Alessandro & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We needed one night at a reasonable hotel in Florence. After searching and reading countless reviews we came across this one and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located on a quiet street about a 10-15 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio. All the major sights are within walking distance, as are the restaurants, stores and the Santa Maria Novella train station. The rooms were extremely large, ours had one king plus a single bed and a sofa bed. There was lots of storage for clothes, suits etc. with an armoire and bureau. The bathroom was clean, bright and huge compared to other European hotels. The hotel served a wonderful breakfast with fresh croissants, breads, buns, meats, cereals, eggs as well as juices and a great coffee machine for espresso, capuccino, and machiato coffees. The breakfast area was located on the first floor, lots of seating and the food was constantly being replenished for the next guests and the table linens were replaced after each use. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. And would recommend it to anyone traveling to Florence. Thank you Antonella for your wonderful customer service and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review!!!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip to Florence and our hotel,we always try to do our best with our guests and give our help for any question or need.

Hope to see you again in the future we send you our best regards!

Sincerely,
Alessandro,Sarah & Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We LOVED this hotel & it's wonderfully friendly & welcoming staff so much last year that we booked as soon as we could to return again this year & we were not disappointed! The views from the terraced room overlooking the River Arno are just breathtaking & we spent pleasant afternoons there with a nice glass of Chianti, after the end of a hectic day enjoying the wonders of Florence that we didn't have time to visit last year, in a hotel that's located perfectly in a peaceful part of town yet only a short walk from the train station & all the main attractions. Ongoing improvements like new curtains & bedcovers in our already wonderful room had been made, very tastefully, since last year in keeping with the quiet style of the place. Free Wi-Fi connected with ease too in our room. I'm sure it's going to be a Hotel we look forward to returning to again & again. Complimenti di nuovo, Alessandro, Sarah e il personale!

Room Tip: We loved our room with terrace which was well worth the little extra to enjoy it's benefits but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADACON, Proprietario at Hotel Consigli, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Sue,

We don't have words for your lovely and sweet review,thank you so much!!!

We are infinitely happy to have you again like our guests and that you enjoyed again our place and our work,we always try to improve our services and our hotel and reading your review let us think that we are on the right way.

Thank you again and we hope to see you as soon as possible!

Sincerely,
Alessandro,Sarah & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Consigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Consigli

Address: Lungarno Vespucci 50, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Consigli 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Consigli has everything you need for a pleasant, authentic stay in Florence. Located on Lungarno Vespucci in an elegant Renaissance home, the building includes a convenient private paying car park, a true privilege for hotels in Florence's historic center.The panoramic terrace with roof garden overlooking the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio will make your stay memorable. In addition, the familiar hospitality at Hotel Consigli will go along with your every desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Consigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Consigli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Consigli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.