We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unreliable!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Al Garden Susy

B&B Al Garden Susy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Al Garden Susy to your Saves list
B&B Al Garden Susy
Via Montebello 49, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Giardini di Leopolda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #427 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Indonesia
1 review
“Very Unreliable!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We did not have chance to stay at this hotel, though we paid in full at the time we reserved 1 month before. I usually cross-checked my hotel booking with comments/reviews from Trip Advisor. However, this is one of those that I didnt have chance to do it (and I regretted it) because of the last minute Visa aplication which requires confirmed hotel bookings.
We were refused to check in on the date of our booking (16 Apr '10), because according to the hotel manager that the agent we used (Expedia) did not inform him about our confirmed booking??? And yet my credit card had been charged in full by the agent for the night we (should have) stayed there. Despite our arguments, we were sent around to 2-3 addresses until we found a hotel on the other side of train station, and we lost 3 hours of our precious time (out of less than 24 hour time we planned to spend in Florence) dragging our big luggages around the town.
What really concerned us is that there is no way for us/client to know where exactly this booking mishap had happened? Had Expedia really forgot to confirm/fax the Hotel (like what the hotel manager claimed)? I tried to call Expedia (an international call to US from Italy using my mobile of Indonesia number), and after 10 minutes I could not see any solution I just hung up. Upon returning from the trip I complained to Expedia, and the answer was just a plain apology and a promise to bring this issue within the hotel management??? What a solution!!! I dont see this as a good measure (from Expedia) to leave it up to the hotel management, as it clearly sent a message that Expedia did not feel the mistake/mishap was on it's part (same as the hotel mgmt). In this kind of situation, client always on the loosing side. We lost our precious time, we lost our patience, not to mention the anger and frustration being ping-ponged around for 3 hours!! I just dont want this to happen again to anyone.
Renaldi Satari - Indonesia

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Do NOT stay here, the pain is not worth the budget price. Do NOT believe the advertisement or photos. We booked here because we've had nice luck with fantastic B&B's in the past and the photos made it look like it might be one of these gems. It was not.

Amongst other issues, our room came complete with cockroaches.

The place is completely misadvertised. It is run down and does not look like the photos (they obviously had someone come in to clean up and merchandise on that day). The "10 minute walk" is a 25-30 minute walk (and I walk fast), so you did not even get a good location.

On checking in we noticed a smell which i suspected was bug chemicals. On the 2nd day we returned late (not particularly wanting to spend much time at the B&B) and on turning on the lights we saw bugs (roaches unfortunately) scurrying in the corner. Another was found under the bed. We called the proprietors who told us they were coming in from outside as we were on the ground floor. However, the windows and doors had been closed all day, so this was obviously not the case, but he kept repeating they were coming from outside. When we asked him to do something about it, he said there was nothing he could do as he does not stay in Florence (I'm just glad there wasn't an emergency like broken pipes). When we asked for access to the *advertised as included* internet in order to find another place to stay, he said we needed a password which we couldn't get until the next day, so we had to sleep in the room with the bugs. When asked for a discount, he said we could discuss the next morning (the next morning the staff told us their hands were tied and informed us he is always off on a Sunday, so that was a blatant lie), and finally he simply hung up on us.

Small issues in comparison, but noteworthy: Breakfast is best skipped, it consists of a plastic wrapped "croissant" and 2 slices of rusk bread, so you end up paying to get a decent breakfast at a cafe anyhow. The chemical smell and sight of cleaning solutions and what I suspect to be bug chemicals sitting out everywhere hardly induces that relaxing atmosphere cited in the advertisement. The paint was peeling in the room, plastic facings on electrical sockets were loose, the shower in the tiny private bathroom consisted of a curtained off section draining in the middle of bathroom floor.

I would go one step further than the other customer who advised not to stay in the ground floor room and advise that you not stay within a 100m of this B&B. If price is an issue, consider a hostel instead, you'd get a cleaner room and better service. No price is worth this place. And if you are looking for a nice quaint local Bed and Breakfast with character don't let the photos fool you, this is not it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

As a bed and breakfast, Montebello was fine. A place to rest your feet, and get some rest in between visiting and enjoying the delightful architecture and art of Florence. When we were there, the temperature reached 37-38C, so the night was going to be hot and humid. We were given the option of having a free fan or pay 5 Euros for air-conditioning. The ensuite toilet was very small which ensured that one did not spend too much time lounging around in it. Although the Montebello sold itself as within walking distance to the heart of Florence, it is not really that close. It's more like a 20 mins walk for those who are tired after a long day sight-seeing around Florence. Lastly, breakfast was pathetic, and comprised of a croissant and either a small expresso coffee or juice. I've heard that a visit to Florence is like an invitation to getting fleeced. Certainly, we felt that we did not get good value for our stay at the Montebello.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Meagre breakfast, extra charge to use air-con
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

We just arrived back from Italy. We could not wait to leave this B & B @ Via Montebello, 49 in Florence. We had the room in the basement with our own washroom. The room smelled bad & th pant & plaster on the wall was coming of the wall, the girl who showed us to the room said it is just paint peeling & workers were going to repair. I discovered mold & mildow by our exit door. Our washroom floor drain was in the middle of the floor, so water was all over washroom. We did not want to back to our oom at the end of the day. The 1 thing good about this place is it's location to alot of the popular sites in Florence, all within walking aprox. 10 minutes.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smell washroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virden, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

This place was cheap, more like an uscale hostel with a basic breakfast. When we got there, the manager, Clara informed us that she had to take us to another B&B because the sink in our room's bathroom was broken by the guest in the room the night before. Fine, she paid for the cab and took us there herself. the other B&B was ok, but was desolate- noone was staffing it, nor were there any other guests. When we came back to the Montebello the next day, we got put in a room with no bathroom, even though I had saved the confirmation email which clearly stated we were supposed to have an ensuite bathroom. What was worse, was that not all the rooms were booked in the place, and they had fixed our origional room, because people were now staying in it. We did not get a refund for the downgrade of room- instead Clara argued that our origional rate was so good we were getting a great deal, and the origional owner was out of the country so we could not contact him.
The plus was that the street outside was dead quiet at night. We just had the worst room in the place (only 2 rooms did not have own bathrooms) . The triple looked very nice, and some of the doubles with bathrooms were also very comfortable looking. Anyone would be fine here if they really did have room with a bathroom, but that cannot be guaranteed even if that is what you had reserved. Also, there are a few places in Firenze with Montebello in their titles- so check the address

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

The owners of this Bed & Breakfast are very personable, friendly and speak English very well. They are a young couple who are giving this a good effort, but are not quite up to standards yet. The building is very old, but they have done nice job of redecorating. We had one of the rooms with a private bath. The bathroom was quite outdated with very old fixtures and only a trickle of water from the shower. The web site promised air conditioning in all rooms, but our room had none. It was too hot to be comfortable in August. Since no management personnel stay on site, we had no way to contact management. Another guest had a phone number and after a phone call and then a half hour wait, the manager did bring us one fan for our triple room. Breakfast is advertised as included from 8:00-10:00 a.m., but we did not see any breakfast by 8:10 a.m. There is, however, a shared kitchen for guests to use, with a refrigerator and stove. Other guests made their own meals, which was a good idea since there are very few restaurants in the neighborhood. Wireless Internet is also advertised, but we and other guests could not access it. The manager promised to book an 8:00 a.m. taxi for our 8:30 train reservation, but when no taxi had arrived by 8:10, we felt we could wait no longer and managed a 15-minute jog with all of our luggage to the train station. Be sure to not confuse this with Montebello Splendid, a nice hotel located on the same street. We thought we would save our budget with the 75 Euro rate for this room, but if you can afford to -- pay more and find a more comfortable stay in Florence.

  • Liked — Budget rates
  • Disliked — Hot room, no management on site
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Al Garden Susy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Al Garden Susy

Address: Via Montebello 49, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Giardini di Leopolda)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your B&B Al Garden Susy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Al Garden Susy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.