We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careggi Hotel :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Careggi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Careggi to your Saves list
Careggi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Taddeo Alderotti 43, 50139 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Frisco,Tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Careggi Hotel :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The Careggi Hotel was the second stop on my husbands & i's 2 week trip in Italy. It's a nice hotel , with clean rooms,ceiling fan, air conditioning, clean private bathroom & breakfast. It's located about 20 min from the center of Florence. We used the 14 bus, which stopped just a couple of blocks away. You can buy a bus ticket from the newspaper stand sales person on the way, or any others in Florence. About 1.20 euro. The staff is very friendly, the father/son were my favorite.
The rooms & bathrooms are not large, but your in Europe & this is their way. The shower head is high ( my husband is 6'4" ) & the water is hot & towels are big & clean. The Careggi offers a nice breakfast. again, if you expect a US breakfast, then stay there. :). Breakfast consisted of the usual, croissant, granola cereal, & one other type, bread ( for toast),yogurt, a meat & cheese tray, juice & coffee ( made to order cappuccino & espresso ) .There are several restaurants close by the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay here & would stay again. The price is right for a good nights steep, hot shower, & breakfast to start your day of adventure in Florence.. Remember, have fun & go with the flow, your not at home & things will be different...

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area so all rooms should be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your staying at our hotel and that you appreciated our breakfast and our kindness.

Our best regards.
Alessandro & Stefano
Hotel Careggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    29
    22
    9
See reviews for
52
38
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We, being a family of four, stayed here for one night on our way to Rome. The room was nice and clean. The location was a little unusual as we drove past the hospital etc., but still a good hotel. The off street parking is not secured parking, but for 5 Euro, one can't really complain. The hotel is fairly basic, but the service is excellent. A lot of business people were staying here when we were here. There is an excellent restaurant next door which I would highly recommend. WiFi is limited to the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear "Sander",

thank you for your review. We are all glad about your remarks about our service, and infact as you noticed we have many business men during major Exibitions or conventions.
You are right, the near restaurant is excellent, the new property is really nice and professional. We are sorry you wrote that WIFI is limited only in the lobby, it is not correct, wifi is free and available in the entire building, we had just two days of failure recently but then we repaired it and it is working.

We send you our best regards.
Alessandro
Hotel Careggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I picked this hotel without any booking and the reception is very helpful. I inspected room 115 which faces street and decided to stay. When I asked if room 115 is a quiet room, I was offered room 220 which is a larger room and it's at the back. €5 for private parking , free street parking between 8pm to 8 am & Sunday. Has a nice lift, operates with the room key.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Julia,

thank you very much for your review, we are happy you appreciated your staying in our hotel and our "value x money".

Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Hotel Careggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fortunately, I cancelled my booking at the same day due to change in itinerary.
I was stressed because I could lose this money for nothing. I immediately contact the hotel and was greeted with such quick response, Alessandro had been very friendly on the email. He could understand that it was a mistake and won't charge anything. Faith in humanity restored!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for your review on this famous site. I had no doubt in your good faith, it was clear that it was a mistake, why being inflexible with cancellation policy? Have a nice trip to Italy!!

Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was ok. The shower shares the floor with the toilet; there is no separation. The cleaning lady stole all of my money, and even if I begged for them to return it, no one cared. This simply gave me the worst experience about Florence in general and its people. I will never again visit Florence.

Room Tip: Don't leave your belongings even if you're paying for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Raquel,

we are reading now your review about our hotel, and the only thing we can do answering what you claimed in this travellers' site is smiling. You are lucky that you are not Italian, otherwise the chamber maid and us would have brought an action against you at the local Police, since what you have declared is totally faked! For this reason we want to point out some issues: you stayed in our hotel just one night, and the following morning you had breakfast late (and we let you having it even if it was out of time) so noone of our cleanig staff could enter the room; then you checked-out leaving your baggage at the deposit.
1) Why did not anyone claim this supposed theft during check-out? If your money were stolen, you should notice when entering in your room after breakfast and before checking-out, and you were 4 in the room, it means 8 eyes which could search...but nobody of you said anything! You left your baggage in the deposit, and you went out to the city centre. You came back in the late evening saying that you lacked money... how can we be responsible?? How can you claim a theft 12 hours after having left the hotel...you may have lost your money on the bus, in the city centre, gitans, pick-pockets, etc...know knows...
2) If you were sure that these money were stolen from our hotel, you should have immediately gone to the Police to claim the facts...why did not you go there? Maybe because you were not sure about what you should declare to them since it was a big lie?
Our families have been runned this hotel for more than 20 years, it is the first time we hear a story like this! You said that you dislike Florentine people and you never want to come back to Florence...maybe you did not like our beautiful city and our country... do not worry... Florentine inhabitants won't cry for that!
Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Hotel Careggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived at about 9am before the official check-in time. Nevertheless the staff welcomed me and I was also served a free breakfast. They prepared my room and after an early train trip I could settle and rest in my room for no extra cost. The room decor was very basic but with TV and AC. The bathroom is VERY small. There's no lift but i was traveling with a small suitcase. I've been to Florence many times, therefore I've learned that for a budget of around €50/€60 single or €110 per dbl room it is very difficult to find decent accommodation. This place with all its downfalls is the best I've been too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A nice hotel a bit off the city center. A good choice if you are on a budget. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were actually offered a choice of two rooms. One of them with a smaller bedroom, but a nice, large bathroom, and the other one with a bigger bedroom, and a bathroom that was really not looking too great at all. We went for the one with the large bathroom. The room was nice and clean, so was the bathroom. The air-con could have been better, with nearly 40 degrees outside it really was not much use. Luckily the room also had a ceiling fan.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and the hotel didn't have a lift. It was no trouble for us, but I imagine it would be for other people.
The included contonental breakfast was alright - a nice coffee, cereal, a selection of pastries or some toast suit us just fine.
Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Careggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careggi

Address: Via Taddeo Alderotti 43, 50139 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#140 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Careggi 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Careggi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careggi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Careggi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.