We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Careggi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Careggi to your Saves list
Careggi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Taddeo Alderotti 43, 50139 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I picked this hotel without any booking and the reception is very helpful. I inspected room 115 which faces street and decided to stay. When I asked if room 115 is a quiet room, I was offered room 220 which is a larger room and it's at the back. €5 for private parking , free street parking between 8pm to 8 am & Sunday. Has a nice lift, operates with the room key.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Julia,

thank you very much for your review, we are happy you appreciated your staying in our hotel and our "value x money".

Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Hotel Careggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    34
    26
    11
See reviews for
71
53
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fortunately, I cancelled my booking at the same day due to change in itinerary.
I was stressed because I could lose this money for nothing. I immediately contact the hotel and was greeted with such quick response, Alessandro had been very friendly on the email. He could understand that it was a mistake and won't charge anything. Faith in humanity restored!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for your review on this famous site. I had no doubt in your good faith, it was clear that it was a mistake, why being inflexible with cancellation policy? Have a nice trip to Italy!!

Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was ok. The shower shares the floor with the toilet; there is no separation. The cleaning lady stole all of my money, and even if I begged for them to return it, no one cared. This simply gave me the worst experience about Florence in general and its people. I will never again visit Florence.

Room Tip: Don't leave your belongings even if you're paying for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Raquel,

we are reading now your review about our hotel, and the only thing we can do answering what you claimed in this travellers' site is smiling. You are lucky that you are not Italian, otherwise the chamber maid and us would have brought an action against you at the local Police, since what you have declared is totally faked! For this reason we want to point out some issues: you stayed in our hotel just one night, and the following morning you had breakfast late (and we let you having it even if it was out of time) so noone of our cleanig staff could enter the room; then you checked-out leaving your baggage at the deposit.
1) Why did not anyone claim this supposed theft during check-out? If your money were stolen, you should notice when entering in your room after breakfast and before checking-out, and you were 4 in the room, it means 8 eyes which could search...but nobody of you said anything! You left your baggage in the deposit, and you went out to the city centre. You came back in the late evening saying that you lacked money... how can we be responsible?? How can you claim a theft 12 hours after having left the hotel...you may have lost your money on the bus, in the city centre, gitans, pick-pockets, etc...know knows...
2) If you were sure that these money were stolen from our hotel, you should have immediately gone to the Police to claim the facts...why did not you go there? Maybe because you were not sure about what you should declare to them since it was a big lie?
Our families have been runned this hotel for more than 20 years, it is the first time we hear a story like this! You said that you dislike Florentine people and you never want to come back to Florence...maybe you did not like our beautiful city and our country... do not worry... Florentine inhabitants won't cry for that!
Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Hotel Careggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived at about 9am before the official check-in time. Nevertheless the staff welcomed me and I was also served a free breakfast. They prepared my room and after an early train trip I could settle and rest in my room for no extra cost. The room decor was very basic but with TV and AC. The bathroom is VERY small. There's no lift but i was traveling with a small suitcase. I've been to Florence many times, therefore I've learned that for a budget of around €50/€60 single or €110 per dbl room it is very difficult to find decent accommodation. This place with all its downfalls is the best I've been too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A nice hotel a bit off the city center. A good choice if you are on a budget. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were actually offered a choice of two rooms. One of them with a smaller bedroom, but a nice, large bathroom, and the other one with a bigger bedroom, and a bathroom that was really not looking too great at all. We went for the one with the large bathroom. The room was nice and clean, so was the bathroom. The air-con could have been better, with nearly 40 degrees outside it really was not much use. Luckily the room also had a ceiling fan.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and the hotel didn't have a lift. It was no trouble for us, but I imagine it would be for other people.
The included contonental breakfast was alright - a nice coffee, cereal, a selection of pastries or some toast suit us just fine.
Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice hotel near the train terminal (you need to take a 15 mins bus ride and a 5 mins walk to reach the hotel from the train station).

clean rooms with free wifi and free breakfast budget (good spread). bathroom was rather small.

Helpful staff and only gripe - no elevator, so get a lower floor if you have heavy luggage.

Room Tip: Hotel without an elevator. so get a room at the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I can see many reviews with positive assessment of the hotel staff. Yes, indeed there is one guy at the reception whom this hotel owes everything. That person is very talkative and tries to 'hinder' all disadvantages.
When we arrived we realised there was no lift (room on 3rd floor). Interior looked used out.
It was very warm outside so, the A-C was working but mold odour was prevailing in the room so that we had to switch it off (long time not disinfected ?).
We found the electric moskito repellent, I plugged it in but nevrtheless I was bitten at night most likely by a bug (festering wound did not heal within two weeks so, not inflicted by a moskito for sure).
We were lucky to get the room with bathroom but very compact one, the shower and its curtain in the middle, very easy to sprinkle over toilet paper and eveything around.
Breakfast room aranged near reception very small, mirrors make it bigger in the pictures. The selection of food worse than in IBIS (I would call it mini-breakfast).
Lady at the bar did wash the dishes in the sink, they don't use dishwasher.
Very poor if value for money is concerned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
careggi, Proprietario at Careggi, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir, we thank you for your review, and we make you our sincere compliments for your English that is perfect, even if it is a pity that your ability was used mainly to claim inaccurate, false and sometimes even defamatory statements. We respect all the reviews and complains when they are real and objective, and we make all the best to improve quality for our guests, and our actual August renovation works confirm what I am saying. For this reason we are sorry that we did not fullfil your expectations. But we cannot accept defamatory opinions and personal suppositions which are wrong as we read partly in your review. For this reason we reply point to point to all your assertions, in order to clearify eventual values and weaknesses of our property.
1) “No elevator”: you are right, there is not elevator at the moment, infact it is not indicated in our official web site and in some OLTA sites it is clearly written that we have no lift. We planned a lift for 2012, we hope to have it done by June 2012.
2) “Mould odor in A/C”: we take note of your complain and we are sorry for that, but we do not understand why you made no claims when you were here, we would have come to check the A/C machine immediately or in case we would have changed you the room. For your information we did previous disinfection last May by qualified personnel, not long time ago as you say, but we cannot confirm neither refute what you say, it was a solvable problem if we were noticed during yuor staying.
3) “Mosquitos / Bugs”: of course we have many mosquitos in our city, expecially during the summer. But we think that you have never had experiences of bugs in your life, we totally refute your fantastic supposition about festering timing, how can you say that you were bitten by night and since you are sure that it was not a mosquito it had to be a bug... why could not it be a snake, a black Widow, a scorpion, a bear, or Godzilla?
4) “Breakfast room arranged”: our breakfast room is small and cosy, 18/20 people can sit and having breakfast at the same time, maybe your habits are of big hotels with huge breakfast rooms, but it is not “arranged”, we really do not understand what is your personal meaning of “arranged”.
5) “Selection of food worst than IBIS”: first at all, you mention a 3 stars hotel company and our hotel is a 2 stars hotel, so it would be normal to have a worst breakfast selection than them. Than, it is strange that almost our clients are happy about our breakfast (including the last Tripadvisor review) since we think to be the only LOW COST 2 stars hotel in Firenze who provides fresh daily confectionery, fresh milk (Parmalat, not low cost milk!) and Expresso and Cappuccino (Classic Italian Style which is appreciated by our Italian clients). Moreover we provide fresh yogurth, orange juice, ham and cheese, original Nutella, Mulino Bianco bread, all first quality products, corn flakes, biscuits, mini cakes, and even food for celiac people. As you called it “mini-breakfast”, we are not offended, call it as you prefer...
6) “Lady at the bar did washes the dishes in the sink, they don't use dishwasher” FALSE! The dishwasher is just under the bar desk, and of course used by our ladies.Your statement is really unpleasant and totally false!!! If we had some doubts about your sincerity and good faith, after this last statement we are sure about your bad faith.
7) “Very poor if value for money is concerned”. Dear Sir, it depends on your expectations, you paid our hotel room as almost a hostel with shared bath and no breakfast (in Firenze during the same dates), why did you chose our hotel and not the other 500 and more in our city on that date? We know the answer....price! For a correct evaluation you should compare price and services offered, related to the same city and same date. Of course you cannot compare Firenze hotels rates and Pozdam hotels rates or Firenze rates in high season and Firenze rates in low season. Anyway in our yearly experience it is funny to notice that cheaper is the room rate and more the clients have to expect and also to complain. In this case we know the reason...


Thanks regards.
Alessandro
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Touring Florence
#111 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Albergo Sonia
#267 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#174 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Benvenuti
Hotel Benvenuti
#247 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#116 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Amata Firenze
B&B Amata Firenze
#187 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careggi

Address: Via Taddeo Alderotti 43, 50139 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#131 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Careggi 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Careggi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careggi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Careggi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.