We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Hotel Bavaria
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Quimper, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good: The location!! The price is very good, the staff is nice.

Bad: The bathrooms are small and shared. Breakfast is simple. The room I stayed in (#9) needs more lamps because it's very dark.

Personally, I was very happy with the whole trip and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a room close to the dining area then you can get wifi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    124
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
47
116
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For us, the most important thing is the location and we don't care for TV, fridge or snack bar in the room. Hotel Bavaria is so close to everything, we could actually see Duomo from our windows. Just perfect. The room we had was spacious and pleasant. The breakfast was not to my taste but this is not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing value, location and staff! Huge rooms, great free breakfast, and great view of the duomo from room. However, the shared washroom was a bit of a downside for peak hours and there is no wifi in rooms. Minor detail however. Still incredible stay!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Helpful staff, very central and near to most of the attractions in Florence. Breakfast was fine with cereals, yoghurt, juice, bread, jam, cheese, coffee, tea, milk... A little bit cold in our room but there were extra blankets. The room was cleaned every day with clean towels etc. We stayed there 7 days and would like being back. No wifi in the room and no TV, no bathroom.

Room Tip: Many stairs if you get higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaeta, Italy
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

The hotel was in a decent location. We had a hard time finding the door to the hotel there is no obvious signage. Breakfast was very limited even by Italian standards, just some rolls and jam and yogurt. There was a shower in the room, literally just a shower stale and sink; bathroom was shared down the hall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Great location, price, cleanliness and helpful people. Five to ten minutes walk from all the major attractions and 15 mins from the train station. 10 minutes walk to the bus stop area for Fiesole & other surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The location is excellent - on a pedestrian street. It was hard to find at first. Just look for the bridal shop. It is directly across from it. The room was small, but acceptable if you will be out seeing the sites most of the time. Breakfast was adequate- cereals, breads, coffee, etc. There was no bathroom or shower in our room. There were 2 on either end of the floor we were on. They were clean and I only found a few instances when they were occupied. We got up early to shower. That worked fine. The staff were nice. To get the internet you need to sit in the lobby (a tired couch and a few straight back chairs) or in the breakfast area. Overall, it is a 1* place which met our needs. The worst part of our stay was the mosquitoes. They were a real nuisance. My husband woke up about 4 a.m. and killed 6 of them. Maybe screens on the windows would help.

Room Tip: Our room was not on street side, so it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Borgo degli Albizi, 26, 50100 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#139 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Bavaria 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BAVARIA, History and charm in Renaissance FlorenceA few steps from the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore (alias Florence's Duomo), immersed in the artistic treasures of Florence, on the third floor of the Palazzo Ramirez-Montalvo, Hotel Bavaria will frame your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.