We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nothing more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorentino

Save Saved
You added Fiorentino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiorentino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Avelli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 461 hotels in Florence
laurel, maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My family and I just got back from Italy and stayed at the Fiorentino. It was a great location in Florence as it was a very short walk to the train/bus station. It was also close to many restaurants and gelatarias. The hotel is run by a man and his dog. He was perfectly pleasant but not very helpful. When asked to use a local house phone to make a reservation, I was told that because I was calling a cell phone, it was too expensive and I needed to use my US cell phone.
Beware that a 2nd floor room is 62 stairs up. It isn't so bad if you are young, don't have much luggage, and don't mind climbing, but it is a lot to deal with every time you need to go to your room. The room was perfectly fine and the shared bath was weird but ok. There was a full built in shower at one end of the hall which was fine. The other bath on our end of the hall had a shower head in the wall but the walls of the shower were temporary and needed to be dragged around you to shower in private.
This was ok for the price but I don't think I would recommend it to a friend. The lack of service and the amount of stairs you had to deal with were enough for me to give this an average rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    19
    6
    12
See reviews for
3
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is very close to the train station and right next to the SMN church. It took us a bit to find it, but the location is really good. Florence had a cooler spell this April, so we had no need for the AC. We managed okay with shared bathroom. The manager helped us with the luggage to the room as there are no elevators here. He speaks really good English and was able to provide lots of useful tips.
The place does charge for internet, but there is a cafe right next door that has a free wifi, so you do have an option. The hotel charges 2 Euros a piece for holding baggage after checkout - which is cheaper than the train station holds.
Location of the hotel is so good that we were able to walk to all the attractions in Florence from here . There are food stalls right outside the hotel where you can get good food choices for a really good price.
In short, if you are travelling by train and want to get a good value for money , willing to climb stairs , this is a good place for you. If you are older and need more services , there are other hotels nearby in the area that would serve you better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here at least four times over the last seven years. It's perfectly located virtually across the road from the train station and close walking distance to all the main attractions. We move opening the windows and seeing and hearing the church bells from st. maria.novella church next door. You do need a bit of a work out climbing the 42 stairs to get to your room... But that's no bother at all.. The rooms are very clean and very good plumbing... It's an excellent stay I recommend it... And it's lovely to be remembered by the manager when we arrive each visit... Feel gret th the remembers us

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After being made to pre-pay (very unusual for Florence) and slogging 4 tall floors up we realized this hotel has no air conditioning, our room had no curtains or glasses for water, and the owner refused to address these issues - all in 100-degree heat. Needless to say that 1st night was pretty terrible (oh, the fan in the room ran at about 100 decibels plus there was a lot of street noise from illegal merchants selling goods out of blankets and yelling). Not wanting to spend 3 more nights here I asked if I could just pay for the one (miserable) night and get a refund for the rest. All of a sudden the owner's English disappeared and he kept repeating himself over and over like a maniac. Thought about calling the police but didn't want to ruin our vacation so I went to the tourist office near the station and they hooked us up at another hotel which was like a 7-star resort compared to this place. When I got back to the States I called Visa card services and fought his charges for several weeks, finally getting my money back. Travel occurred in June 2011

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location..the room and bathroom were clean..we got exactly what was described..the owner was very helpful..there were quite a few stairs to climb but not a big deal and the owner helped us with our bags as well..most of the places we stayed in in italy didnt have elevators anyway..once u close the windows, there's no noise at all and there was an a/c..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during our recent trip to Florence. Very basic backpacker's type hotel with super tiny room and even tiny ensuite. No elevator so we had to drag all our luggege 68 steps up the stairs.
Very noisy while windows are open and very hot room if windows are closed. Cost us 4 euros per night for internet and 2 euros per luggage items to leave them in Reception.
Only positive being close to the train station. I would not recommend it unless you are on a real tight budget.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The draw-in of this hotel is its location. It is within walking distance from Florence's central train station (just in case you'll be arriving by train) - literally just across the street. It is right beside the Basilica of Sta. Maria Novella. But the hotel is a bit hard to find and not everyone in the area knows where exactly it is. Simply because it is a very small one and in Florence, there are many small accommodations that has a "Hotel" prefix to their names. A location map would help a lot which I wish the owner would provide to future guests. It is also within walking distance to the Duomo and other major landmarks in the city. If you fancy taking the bus tours, there's a City Sightseeing bus stop nearby. The drawbacks are the following: 1) the place is old. there is no elevator that serves the upper floors. So if you have some heavy luggage with you, good luck on that one. 2) the room we stayed in doesn't have a bathroom of it's own. There is a common bathroom that serves 3 or 4 rooms on a floor. So, you should plan your trips to the loo especially in the morning. Last but not the least 3) There is no aircon in the room rather, an electric fan was there to do the job. We stayed there in September, so it was not an issue to us. Sandro the owner is ok, helpful and knows his English language well. Wifi connection was given to us for free. We were there to walk around and appreciate the beauty of the city. So the drawbacks didn't bother us that much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fiorentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiorentino

Address: Via degli Avelli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Fiorentino 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fiorentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorentino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.