We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, Quite close to the train station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiorentino

Save Saved
You added Fiorentino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiorentino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via degli Avelli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Centrally located, Quite close to the train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The draw-in of this hotel is its location. It is within walking distance from Florence's central train station (just in case you'll be arriving by train) - literally just across the street. It is right beside the Basilica of Sta. Maria Novella. But the hotel is a bit hard to find and not everyone in the area knows where exactly it is. Simply because it is a very small one and in Florence, there are many small accommodations that has a "Hotel" prefix to their names. A location map would help a lot which I wish the owner would provide to future guests. It is also within walking distance to the Duomo and other major landmarks in the city. If you fancy taking the bus tours, there's a City Sightseeing bus stop nearby. The drawbacks are the following: 1) the place is old. there is no elevator that serves the upper floors. So if you have some heavy luggage with you, good luck on that one. 2) the room we stayed in doesn't have a bathroom of it's own. There is a common bathroom that serves 3 or 4 rooms on a floor. So, you should plan your trips to the loo especially in the morning. Last but not the least 3) There is no aircon in the room rather, an electric fan was there to do the job. We stayed there in September, so it was not an issue to us. Sandro the owner is ok, helpful and knows his English language well. Wifi connection was given to us for free. We were there to walk around and appreciate the beauty of the city. So the drawbacks didn't bother us that much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    22
    6
    11
See reviews for
5
29
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in September during a very hot week.

- Manager made me pay at check in, which was unusual compared to the other places I stayed in Italy.
- Room had no AC and was super small.
- Internet costs 2 euros/ hour or 5 euros/day.
- And what was most outrageous was that I was told by the manager it would cost me 5 EUROS to print ONE PAGE from my train ticket.

Manager is clearly moved by the money.

Only good thing is the location, right by train/bus station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

For the past six years has been my official hotel in Florence. Its owner, Sandro and his inseparable dog Sufi and they await our arrival each year . The rooms are very comfortable and clean unsurpassed. Its excellent location, just steps to the right side of the train station Santa Maria Novella and adjacent to the cathedral of the same name and its square. All places of interest are within walking distance of it...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a last minute booking and, as we had left our previous non-refundable hotel a night early, we just wanted something cheap. I wasn't really expecting much due to the price and the star rating, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The furnishings were all very new and the view out to the church and plaza was great. There were no window coverings, so we rose when the sun did. It didn't really bother me, but may be relevant if you're looking to have a sleep-in. It is perfect if you are arriving in Florence by train as it is a very short walk from the main station (which was the major drawcard for us with just the one night to spare). As well as being close to the station, the other major attractions in Florence are all an easy walk away.

The only possible negative is that there are a lot of stairs to reach the rooms and there is no elevator. This wasn't a problem for us as we had backpacks, but I think it would be a struggle with suitcases.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N'Djamena, Chad
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I recently spent one night at Hotel Fiorentino and I was pleased, notwithstanding the never ending stairs (namely I was on 2nd floor, but each floor is made of at least 4 sets of stairs) and nobody to help me with my rather light small suitcase. The Manager is a very sweet person and so is his beautiful doggie. Cheap and cheerful!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

In a XVII century building, this hotel is renewed and very ´cool´, but the rooms are in thirty floor and no have elevator...The owner is atentious and cordialy can help you with your luggage, but the location (few minutes from Santa Maria Novella station) is privilegious and near to all Florence historic sites and atractions.

Room Tip: Find the small hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

the hotel is very near Florence SMN station, it's the best part. However, there are many drawbacks.
1. No air conditioning. I was so shocked when i knew there is no air conditioning in a hotel. So, there were lots of mosquitoes, lives....etc. very hot during the night.
2. No elevator. There is high headroom in the old building. we need to climb so long before we reach the 1st floor.
3. Big dog. There is a big dog coming down to welcome you when you arrive and always at the lobby. See if you like a big dog.
4. Wifi 2 euro / hr.
5. Curtains were torn a bit
6. Shower and basin in the bedroom, toilet outside.
7. No fridge.

I thought i was cheated and totally ruin our mood there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiorentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiorentino

Address: Via degli Avelli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Fiorentino 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Fiorentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiorentino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiorentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.