We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, only one toilet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giappone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giappone to your Saves list
Hotel Giappone
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, only one toilet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located! Right between the Duomo and the train station. It's on the 3rd or 4th floor- we were fine walking up the stairs but some people may struggle. The rooms were clean, and the lady that worked there was quite friendly. The biggest drawback would be the bathroom. There's only 1 toilet for the whole hotel, so essentially you had to wait fairly often to go the the toilet, slightly annoying, particularly in the middle of the night. A lot of rooms don't have showers, which means they use the shower in the same room as the toilet. Things get wet.
The rooms are also partial to noise made in the hotel (doors opening and closing etc). But, it's quite cheap for Florence and its really very good value for money. The location is unbeatable. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thisispants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

More than I expected from a 1 star hotel! I had the small corner room. The bed was comfortable, the heater worked, the toilet flushed, wifi was perfect, and the location is unbeatable. Some downsides were the 76 stairs to get up, the shower went between medium to warm heat (never really getting hot), there was no actual shower (just a shower head in the bathroom), checkout is at 10:30 instead of 12, and the fact that I could hear every time someone went in/out of their room. For budget accommodation, its pretty much as good as it gets. I highly recommend it for any solo traveler. The lady who owns it is very welcoming. I don't know why its called Japanese though...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great location and service. The place is really clean and the lady who owns it is very nice and helpfull.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathrooms and shared bathrooms. I'd recommend to choose one room with bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Hubby and I stayed for 1 night in this hotel. We stayed in a double bed room with attached shower, but common WC. The place was well maintained and very conveniently located with respect to the railway station as well as the Duomo.
The only pet peeve we had was the number of stairs to climb to get to the hotel...it seemed never ending, but was ok for the 2 of us in 20's having to carry only our backpacks. It might be a huge concern if you have lot of luggage or have a person in your party that has difficulty climbing several stairs. Other than that, a very good accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juslyktht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed in room marked "privato" instead of a numbered room. It was fine for a night, and only 40 euro. There was a clean, shared bathroom, and the room had a sink. It's 76 steps up a winding spiral staircase, so it's not for people with heavy luggage. The manager was very kind and has been working there since 1974. She lent me an adaptor for the Italian wall socket with no deposit, and WiFi is free! Very close to the central train station, central market and Duomo. No breakfast. I stayed there because I was flying home from Fiumicino the next day, and the train from Florence takes only 1 hour, 45 minutes to Rome Termini, while Siena to Rome is more than 3 hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetertheJustOkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Good hotel with hospitality staff, value for money deal located in the center city very close to central station. But there is no lift for a third floor hotel, so with baggages difficult to manage.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pls_18in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#194 of 419 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 419 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#277 of 419 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#205 of 419 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#238 of 419 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#134 of 419 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giappone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giappone

Address: via dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Giappone 1*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Giappone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giappone Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing