We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial disappointment, but wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ester to your Saves list
Hotel Ester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Alinari, 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Initial disappointment, but wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

In June 2013, I brought a school group to stay at Hotel Ester. I was disappointed at first because I was told that our group was in 2 different buildings. As the teacher, I was very concerned about this arrangement. However, Marco made things ok with only 1 room separated from everyone else. The separated group was in the main hotel while we were put into the auxiliary hotel directly across the street.
All rooms were clean, cold, and well-appointed with free phone calls and satellite tv. The location was perfect for us, as we arrived and departed from the train station. We even had access to a washing machine for free.
All of the sites that we visited were relatively close by, and we didn't mind the walking distance. We purchased breakfast which involved receiving a voucher to take to a nearby bakery -- it was fine.
Our rate was relatively low, and the staff was extremely helpful before and during our stay. We had a positive experience and trust you will, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    77
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
88
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent three nights and we all loved this hotel. Very clean and as quality and price was the best hotel of our trip in Italy. We will be back to Florence and will stay agin there.
If you play pingpong and you can beat the owner "Marco" you'll get the room for free :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a wonderful stay in Florence @hotel Ester. Very close to train station, and centre of town. Rooms were clean and newly refurbished with a lift to ease the legs of stairs. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We found and booked our room online for Hotel Ester. We traveled by train and easily walked to the room. An elevator helped get our bags up to the third floor room. Great bathroom, comfortable beds, nice courtyard balcony. Easy walk to the center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very happy with the hotel and the services. Whatever was promised and whatever they could do further to make your stay comfortable, they do. The lady at the reception gave us a lot of her time to give details about places to visit and places to eat. She helped us plan our day trip for the next day as well, giving us suggestions but never pushing on anything. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We received a friendly welcome and was given a room across the street with our own balcony. We also had access to the kitchen and washing machine. We were surprised that breakfast was not included, however we did receive a reduced rate for breakfast at a nearby bakery. It was very good and friendly.
The receptionist provided helpful ideas for dinner at a neighborhood trattoria as well as sightseeing area.
The location is central and all tourist attraction are within walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I thought this was a hostel. The room is great size (all are different) location is fantastic (half block from train and bus, great market across the street, walk to EVERYTHING in under 30 minutes) and price is good (can not believe how expensive Florence is!) and free, dependable wifii. But this is not three star hotel. Furniture and hotel amenities are not at that level. I would stay here again for one reason ... Fantastic hotel staff who spoke English and made every effort to advise us about what to see and do in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Address: Largo Alinari, 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#102 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ester 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.