We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One star hotel.....but a 3 star room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ester to your Saves list
Hotel Ester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Alinari, 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One star hotel.....but a 3 star room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, just 2 mins from the train station. A nice cafe just a skip away is recommended by the hotel for breakfast. Our room was very nice, only complaint is that not everything worked. We got a room with an excellent bathroom and was looking forward to using the oversized jacuzzi bath, but it was missing the stopper and the tub just didn't work. Also, the towel warming rack was not operational. Hopefully they will get these fixed so others can enjoy them. The rest of the bathroom is great, with a very large shower. One other complaint I have is the way to make reservations. You have to email or call them with your credit card information instead of using a regular online reservation system. And after doing this, I was still not given a reservation confirmation or any information about the hotel (directions to or other helpful information). Still, when we showed up, we were given a room right away and had no other problems.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    84
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
93
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shkoder, Albania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was staying in this hotel for 5 days for honeymoon. I and my wife both enjoyed staying at Hotel Ester, and we were really surprised because we booked a one star hotel and we found many services that we didn't found in many three star hotels, that we visited before arriving in Florence. In our room we had air condition, computer, wireless, new bathroom, the bed and the shelf were new, the room was very cleaned and quiet, the reception was open 24 hours,from the balcony we could see the Duomo and the hotel was 2 minutes walking from the train station and 10 minutes walking from Duomo. The staf was very nice and helpfull, Marco and Anna helped us to reserve restaurants, museums and diferent city tours. Staying at Hotel Ester helped us to enjoy more our honymoon in a wonderful city like Florence.

Room Tip: We were staying in the room 22 in the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We moved to this hotel after an unpleasant experience in a hostel close by. It was only a little more expensive than the hostel that we were staying in but the extra small difference was def. worth the price. We were a last min walk in due to having expected to stay at a hostel and Hotel Ester had a room for us! The staff were very friendly and helpful (helped us with our Italian whenever asked and knew and gave directions to all requested locations - even a laundrymat 2 and a half blocks down the street.) The room was clean and neat. We had a room in their second building. Included in the room was our own bathroom, our own pc with internet access, cable and views of the Duomo. There was also a small elevator to get to the different floors, which the hostel (4 stories up didn't have.) It was literally right around the corner from the central train station and everything was easily accessible. When we come back this is the place we are going to stay. Keep in mind that very few hotels in Italy will have american standards and 5 star ratings even though you might pay the 5 star rates. The accommodations in Italy just aren't of that kind of quality so if you are wanting 5 star accommodations stay with an american chain like Starwood (which can still be disappointing, it just varies by the individual location.) Hotel Ester was clean (the paint job wasn't perfect but it was clean), neat, and met our needs for a reasonable price. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

its small...but the rooms are very good for the price..clean & quiet..
the location is Perfect..the workers were friendly..
no restaurant but you get a discount card for a restaurant down the street...
went there solo so the room size was very good for me..but not sure if they have larger rooms for families..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Based on previous reviews, I was expecting a better hotel but it was dissapointing. Starting with positive comments, the location was perfect and close to everyting, within walking distance. The view from our rooms (#23&#24) was fantastic, we can see Duomo from our windows and balcony.

As negative comments, firstly the hotel is damp! Especially, in room 24 there was an unpleasent smell. The pillows were stinky due to damp. There was a house-keeping service but the room wasn't cleaned entirely. There was dirt on toilet after the clean-up. Also, the furnitures in the rooms are worn and old. The rooms need renovation! The rooms were so cold even though AC was working!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

One block from the train station and easy to find, then once you are here take the elevator or stairs to reception and you are warmly welcomed. The owners/staff here are making a super effort to improve the place and were very helpful with tips on the must see places. The hotel was a pleasant surprise with the recent renovations and our corner room on the 5th floor had windows with two different views and a small but usable balcony. We sat out in the evening to enjoy either the sunset or night lights. We had a partial view of the Duomo and a lovely view otherwise, save a few chimneys and rooftops. The room was nice, not perfectly clean but clean enough.

There was a good grocery store across the street and a large market only 2 blocks away.
One small problem we had was that both the sink leaked and the shower (a new space age multi-functional shower which was installed crooked) also leaked, we never complained because we didn’t want any workers coming in and out of the room and nor did we want to give up our view, so a few towels managed to control/contain the problem for us.

There was a kitchen at the end of the hall on our floor that we used and our room had a small fridge.

Oddly enough there were mosquito’s here, coming in our fifth floor windows, not a lot but one or two that had to be slayed each night so we were not buzzed in the dark. We like to have open windows whenever possible instead of using air conditioning.

Firenze Pass was worth the money, it was less than buying admission to each museum/gallery separately if you are planning to see at least a few and it avoids the crazy long ticket line-ups at each site when you don’t have a pass.

We would recommend this hotel as good value for the price (100 Euros), with an excellent location and staff that are trying to move the hotel forward. Having said that it is still having a few issues that I am sure they are addressing. We would stay here again.

Previous Hotel – Al Mercato, Siena Italy
Next Hotel – Murano Palace, Venice (Murano Island) Italy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Of course i booked this hotel having read all the rave reviews and I wasnt disappointed! It was everything and more I had read about! We were thrilled to get one of the rooms with a view (24 i believe) which was just ideal for a couple like us, and the view-to-die-for was perfect as well as the fabulous computer in the room! Was easy to switch from PC to Sky Tv too...

Even though its in the centre of the city, it was actually one of the quietest areas Ive ever stayed in, and we slept with the window open! only drawback was the loud bells at 6am on Sunday..not good with a hangover! So close to all the sites, you cant get a better location!

I had a great birthday weekend here, lots of great restaurants in the area too.

Staff were all super friendly and let us keep our luggage there all day for free before we left.

Also enjoyed the service received from Hostelworld when booking, even sending a convenient text to me before check in with all the details!! go go go!!!!!

Room Tip: 24 had an amazing view, ask in advance to get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Address: Largo Alinari, 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ester 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.