We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Duilio to your Saves list
Hotel Duilio
Via Corso Italia 13, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Vyskov
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

The hotel is in a very good location close to all the main attractions. It provides a very good service for the money, our room was cleaned every day and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Most of all the owner was very helpful and easy-going. He answered all our questions and fulfilled all our requests, which made our stay very pleasant. Such a service is very often not presented in much more expensive hotels. I recommend it very much.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    13
    8
    15
See reviews for
6
34
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

v close to river arno, which is good.
about 10 -20mins walk from all the tourist places in florence, which is also good but then florence is not big at all, so all hotels will be the same distance i guess.
location is the only good thing about this hotel.
2nd floor - no lift.
owner is nice and offered to help.
room is v noisy.
u step on the floor and the whole room shakes.
u walk and it feels like earthquake.
bathroom is very small.
breakfast is in a far away shop and is too little.
i will not return to this place and i will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

My partner stayed here in March 2009 (late, I know), and I didn't know what to make of it when I first arrived. It's almost on the Arno, which makes for pleasant walks, but it's close to the American Consulate and a lot of streets are blocked off. It's also up 2 flights of stairs in a residential block, but Vincenzo bounded down the stairs to help us with our luggage, and was nothing but helpful and attentive for the rest of our stay.

The rooms are very clean, and quite large, and felt like you were in a guest-room in a friend's house.

Vincenzo is friendly and can make suggestions of places to eat, where to walk, what to see. He is interested in his clients and shows genuine enthusiasm for his hotel. He offers a lot of privacy, but is there when you need him. He made the difference between the hotel being nice, clean and quaint, to being somewhere where we would definitely go when we're back in Florence.

I should put an addendum to say that we stayed in the low-season, and the price was EXTREMELY cheap. The added feeling of a true bargain also contributed to the experience, and I urge people to go to this hotel when in Florence in the low season also.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

This is a great place, close to the train station and about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Florence. It is on a very quiet street near the American Embassy which is closed to traffic and policed 24 hours a day so there is no problem walking back in the evening. Breakfast is included and consists of a pasty and coffee at a lovely bar around the corner. The rooms are spotless if basic, but much better then we expected for a 1 star hotel. Vincenzo, the owner, is very knowledgable and will recommend places to visit and to eat. All in all, a good experience and will stay again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed there for couple of days, feb 2010.
The hotel is close to the city center, in a quiet location. The room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed italian breakfast served in near bar.
Vincenzo - the host - professional, helpful and friendly. He made us feel here like at home. We'd recommend this hotel.
Polecamy. Blisko centrum, spokojny zakatek. Pokoje zadbane, czyste. Wloskie sniadania (kawusia i ciastko do wyboru) w pobliskim barze, razem ze zwyklymi florenczykami. Vincenzo, gospodarz, oczarowal nas goscinnoscia.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We staid for one night at the Hotel Duilio in Florence during our Italy trip last week. It is a very basic place but close to the SMN railway station and not far from the main sights in Florence. Vincent, the owner is very friendly and helpful. You get breakfast coupons for a cafe close to the place where you get wonderful pastries and croissants.
The only disadvantage is that there is no lift and the B&B is in the 3rd floor so its inconvenient if you have heavy luggage. In our case Vincent personally came down and helped us carry our luggage.
Secondly though it is in a quiet neighbourhood courtesy the American consulate, it is next to a theatre/opera of sorts and late evening shows can break up noisily.
But all in all excellent location and friendly service. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

spent one night only, but was easy to find from rail station, and very quiet location. Room was clean and comfortable - although stairs up a bit of a challenge with luggage. Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duilio

Address: Via Corso Italia 13, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Duilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duilio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.