We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Strain on the Neck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti

Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti
Amici di Palazzo Pitti | Piazza Pitti 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
39 55 2388614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 213 Attractions in Florence
Type: Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A Great Strain on the Neck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When the weather turned wet we sought the refuge of an in-door attraction having seen most of the outdoor sites.

This grand building houses many fine works of art but one of the most attractive features are the ceilings and the friezes. These are quite magnificent and so brilliantly executed.

We were particularly taken with the room devoted to Herculean legends.

Well worth the visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    134
    30
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edge of the Earth, North Idaho
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had a day there, but could've spent several, as there are countless art treasures in this large museum to see. The lighting, typical of many museums, makes it difficult to see the dark paintings, especially, and if you want to get close to look, forget it. Bring some spectacles or binoculars.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pitti about the ticket choices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Third visit to Florence in 12 years, but had not yet managed to do the Pitti/ Bobboli complex, so my first day off across the Arno. Bus D from the station gets you there by a strange route, but stops right outside the big steps to Palazzio Pitti.
We wanted to do Palatine Gallery for the Lippi,Titian and Raphael and the Costume museum, plus an hour round the gardens. Simple!........................NOT!!!
We had been warned that the choices were weird, so thought we might have to buy an all inclusive ticket(which by the way last for 3 days). at 18 euro.
We could NOT get a ticket for what we wanted, and we were then told that combined tickets were suspended. So we had to pay 13 euro and the list included only ONE of the choices! What a rip off!
As it turned out, at least 30% of the best pictures of the above masters were out on loan! Yet another rip off! to cap it all they wanted to charge 5 euro for a coffee...........the most expensive I have ever seen, even eclipsing Venice San Marco.
The Palatine is still good, but only about a third as good as the Ufizzi.
My advice is leave it out unless you are in Florence for 6 days with a 50 euro all inclusive ticket

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having done all the galleries in Florence I must admit to this one being my favourite - there is such a rich and varied wealth of work here. I went around it 8 times and each time noticed different things. Although each of the many beautiful rooms have a guide card available to explain what is where I would recommend buying, at the little bookshop as you go in, the official guide book done by the 'Firenze Musei' which is available in several languages and costs €10. For this you get a map of the rooms, a history of the Gallery, a guide to each room and which painting is where plus a bit of history to the individual paintings and incredible photos of the rooms and some of the better known artwork. Entrance to the museum is gained through the entrance to the Palazzo Pitti and a combined ticket can be bought for all the various elements/galleries of the Pitti, which lasts for 3 days and is good value. This Gallery is free for 'Friends of the Uffizi' members. I must point out there are stairs up to the Gallery as it is on the 1st floor, which can be challenging if you visit more than once in a day, and many more stairs if you proceed up to the Modern Art on the 2nd floor [on the combined ticket]! In the courtyard is a very pleasant cafe which, although a little pricey, serves hot and cold food, hot drinks, minerals, water and wine and has waiter service once you have ordered at the counter. This gallery in February does not have as many Tours as the Uffizi and is less crowded, but it has incredible ceilings, furnishings, views from windows and very friendly and helpful staff.... and then there are the Royal Apartments which it leads into - wow.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misgav
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best of best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent 10 days enjoying the art of Florence - did all the major galleries, as well as quite a number of smaller galleries. But the Palatina was the gallery that I enjoyed the most - in fact, I made several return visits. Don't get me wrong - I thoroughly enjoyed the Uffizi, Accademia, and Bargello (amongst many), but (especially the first two) were very crowded. The Palatine has some wonderful art, and the thinner crowds made it possible to really enjoy the displays

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Palatina in Palazzo Pitti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.