We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Santa Croce to your Saves list
Relais Santa Croce
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ghibellina, 87, 50122, Florence, Italy (Santa Croce)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #60 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
northallerto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A magnificent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel and more than lived up to the recommendations we had received. The hotel itself is steeped in history and offers a truly luxurious, unique experience. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and the food fabulous. I particularly enjoyed their IT facility which enables you to take a virtual tour of the Uffizi gallery. The service is absolutely impeccable - if you want a very special memory of Florence this hotel would be the perfect choice.

Room Tip: This was our second stay in the hotel - this time in a junior suite - the best feature of which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your last stay at Relais Santa Croce.
I will be delighted to share your comments with the entire team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
I am sure you know that we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations and we will be honored to be your "home away from home" for all your next trips to Florence.

Grazie and arrivederci.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from 5 days at the Relais Santa Croce. This is a superb proper 5 star hotel. The Hotel itself is very well situated just outside the very hectic and packed touristy area - about a 2 or 3 minute walk and you are in the thick of it. The Hotel itself is a beautiful palazzo - if I remember correctly - built by a former treasurer to a Pope. The common areas are exquisite and almost a "sight" to see in their own right. The staff are very helpful and accomodating. The restaurant in the hotel is superb and service from Samuele excellent. I suppose one should really venture out and try different places to eat but the food was so good we opted to eat in most evenings. (A word of warning - there is a 3 star Michelin restaurant in the hotel - but NOT part of the hotel - suggest before you rush off there you look at the reviews on Enoteca Pinchiorri before booking)

The rooms themselves (we had a junior suite room 202) are superb and every evening there is a nice touch of fruit/cake. The rooms are in keeping with the character of the hotel but fully modernised eg the air conditioning actually works well.

The hotel is quiet and perfectly suited to couples looking for a few days rest and realxation but also wanting to see all the art and culture that Florence has to offer. The staff are very good at assisiting with any queries and nothing seemed too much trouble at all.

We have already decided to return next year and have convinced our parents to stay. For the first time on Trip advisor writing a review was hard on the basis this is such a great place we selfishly wanted to keep it to ourselves.

A small tip - there are hundreds of restaurants around the many squares. We ate lunch out every day and would really recommend the Circus restaurant which is nearby - I am sure the team at RSC can direct you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tireddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wish to thank you for posting your excellent review. Your kind words will certainly encourage all of us doing even better and we would be more than honored to be your "home away from home" for all your next trips to Firenze.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is located in a not too busy district and is still within walking distance to major sights. Our room was very clean with a view of the church of Santa Croce and the service was impeccable. There was a good selection of fresh items for the breakfast buffet and you can have a made to order dish of your choice. The breakfast room was very quiet with light music in the background and the waitresses were attentive and they remember your preferences.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wish to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your past stay at Relais Santa Croce. It is always a pleasure to receive excellent feedback. I will share your comments with my team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontmell Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for a historical setting, luxurious rooms, a superb breakfast and a walking tour of Florence look no further, this is your home from home. Staff are all subtlely visible, helpful and service focused.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdbFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wish to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your past stay at Relais Santa Croce. Your very good impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service and we truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Firenze where we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations.

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great time in that Relais. We stayed 3 nights over Easter and really enjoyed it. The rooms are really nicely decorated and with a fantastic view on the Santa Croce Church. The hotel itself is gorgeous and really personal and quiet. The personnel was great, really friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear NicolasPR,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your recent stay at Relais Santa Croce. Your excellent impressions are very important to us and be sure that
I will share your comments with the entire staff.

Thank you very much once again and I look forward to meeting you in the near future here in Florence.

Arrivederci,

Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Relais Santa Croce is a 5* star property and is the old home of the treasurer to the Pope. The property itself is grand and charming with incredibly high ceilings and a literal work of art.

The staff is very professional and personal. The entire team, including the GM, makes you feel at home and very welcomed.

The rooms are very nice, clean, and safe. This, along with it's prime location, make it a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you so much for your recent positive review.
Your words are very important to us and we shall always try our utmost to go beyond your expectations.

Grazie and I look forward to welcoming you back to Firenze in the near future.


Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If seasoned travelers are paying homage to treasures of the Florentine Renaissance, this hotel is the right venue for maximizing art and history. Part of the Baglioni Collection - like the Luna Hotel Baglioni in Venice – the Relais Santa Croce has superb standards for room amenities but is never cheap, especially in Florence which is known for high prices. People tend to forget that Florence has a high volume of travelers in every season, so prices are accordingly high due to competition for the best locations, especially for a five star luxe property in a densely urban setting. The hotel common rooms include the large beautifully decorated music theater gallery, an ample space with high ceilings, and it's so nice as a guest to be first welcomed with a refreshing celebratory glass of prosecco. The hotel location is central and while the street view is modest from the outside in an old part of the town, it's only a minute’s walk from one of the best Renaissance treasures in the world, the Basilica Santa Croce, a church with masterpieces from great artists including Cimabue, the della Robbias, Donatello, Brunelleschi and Vasari – also the burial place of Michelangelo, Machiavelli, later Galileo and Rossini - and only a five minute walk from the Uffizi Gallery Museum, Palazzo Vecchio and the Piazza della Signoria at the very heart of Florence. A fifteen minute walk westward will bring you past the Duomo to maybe the greatest Renaissance art gem in Florence, the small exquisitely-painted room of the Chapel of the Magi, Benozzo Gozzoli's fifteenth century treasure of Medici fresco fame, but surprisingly with few visitors here in the Palazzo Medici-Ricccardi. If reserving in future I highly recommend potential guests who telephone ahead (international telephone rates are rather affordable these days) to time their calls when the concierge Roberto is present at reception. I can't say enough good about Roberto, who can find anything. He was also able to expedite a lunch at the Villa San Michele in Fiesole, a wonderful gourmet experience at an Orient Express property and the best views of Florence from the loggia above the city. At the hotel I recommend rooms on the third floor south side for views of the Basilica Santa Croce. Perhaps the best perk of the Relais Santa Croce venue is actually the first floor's fabulous and legendary Enoteca Pinchiorri – the only Michelin 3-star rated restaurant in Florence - and you will certainly pay for it! While not part of the hotel, as a Relais & Chateaux listing like the hotel, it is possibly the best reason to stay here. But better reserve a dinner table long in advance because people who really know food and the restaurant's reputation will be fighting for reservations any night of the year. The impeccable Giorgio Pinchiorri is an old school master of Florentine cuisine and his gracious daughter Antonella Pinchiorri has the best eye in Florence to bring in both the most knowing clients and the freshest, highest quality food they'll be expecting; she has a smile that will melt anyone and open up the wallet. The wine list is simply astonishing with prices to match. This hotel and restaurant are not for bargain-hunters, so be prepared. As a writer of history who delves into wine and food, this is my first choice in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele_Carta, Direttore generale at Relais Santa Croce, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Patrick H.,

I wish to thank you for posting your very nice review about your recent stay at Relais Santa Croce. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
We truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Firenze and we hope we will be your Florentine home for the future.


Daniele Carta
General Manager
Relais Santa Croce, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Bernini Palace Hotel
Bernini Palace Hotel
#47 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#113 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#18 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#32 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#7 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Croce

Address: Via Ghibellina, 87, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#95 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Croce 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect balance between the luxury of a bygone era and modern comforts In the historic centre of Florence, an eighteenth century residence hosts the exclusive, refined Relais Santa Croce, a luxury hotel in Florence. Surrounded by its sumptuous furnishings and frescoed ceilings, you will be assisted by highly professional staff of this hotel in Florence and delighted by the evocative nature of this truly extraordinary location in which luxury and refinement are the predominant features. It is the ideal destination for those seeking the intimacy of a private residence in Florence. The hotel restaurant, Guelfi e Ghibellini, offers innovative, seasonal regional menus. Furthermore, situated within the same building as the Relais Santa Croce is the Enoteca Pinchiorri, a three-star Michelin restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Relais Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Croce Florence
Relais Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing