We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cestelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cestelli to your Saves list
Hotel Cestelli
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 516 Florence B&B and Inns
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Cestelli in early November. Our stay there was one of the highlights of our trip. The owners/hosts, Alessio and Asumi, are delightful -- warm and welcoming, and such fun to talk with -- and also so helpful with our dinner decisions! The location is perfect, on a narrow street near the Ponte Vecchio, within walking distance of many incredible attractions including the Uffizi and the Duomo. We also recommend the tiny little wine bar just steps from Hotel Cestelli!

Our room was charming and comfortable, with a small but clean and efficient bathroom. This is a gem of a hotel -- a great value, and made our visit to Florence all the more special. We would recommend it highly and plan to stay there again when we return to Florence some day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    39
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
87
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a perfect Hotel to stay in for a visit to the old city. It was special to be treated super friendly and personally by the two owners who also run the place. They clearly are enthusiastic about their place and the city and gave us many good recommendation on the way. The location could hardly be better. Only ask in advance on how to best do if arriving by car.
Great beads, one can add, not the usual super-soft-worn-out-type.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We are glad we weren't deterred by the dark, musty smelling entrance as a gem awaited us up three flights of stairs. Alessio, one of the owners of Hotel Cestelli welcomed us and couldn't have been more helpful helping us plan our time in Florence. With just eight rooms this hotel occupies one floor of the building it's in. We chose a room with a shared bathroom to keep cost down (70 Euros per night) and were pleasantly surprised by our very large room with wonderful period furniture. The shared bathroom was equally spacious and we appeared to be the only ones using it. We used the sink, mirror and towels in our room for basic grooming. The location of this hotel is fantastic - less than a block from the Arno River and only a 5-10 minute walk to the Uffizi museum, the designer shops and the Duomo. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel Cestelli is the perfect hotel to stay while in Florence. The location is fantastic- only 10 minutes walk from train station and within 5 minutes walk to all the sights. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous- exactly as the photos suggest, very modern, clean and spacious. Our host, Alessio was so nice and friendly. He went above and beyond to make us feel at home and gave us fantastic local restaurant recommendations, suggestions for seeing the sights and exploring the local areas, providing maps and lots of local information which was invaluable. Be sure to listen to his suggestions as they made our stay in Florence amazing- he knows his stuff! I highly recommend staying here. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had an overall lovely experience at this hotel. My husband and I were traveling with his mother. The owners could not have been kinder and more helpful. The location was superb and the hotel itself was beautiful and peaceful.

We would happily return in the fall or spring as there is no A/C. We were comfortable in late August because the weather was fairly cool during our time there. FYI, there is no WiFi.

We were very pleased with this hotel and felt welcomed into Alessio and Asumi's home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

As other reviewers have written, Alesso and Asumi and warm and inviting hosts. Alesso recommended some off the beaten path spots in Florence and they wound up being our favorite! We arrived early and even though we weren't able to check in, they held onto our luggage for us that day and when we returned, had placed our luggage in the room for us.

The room was spic and span and quiet. We weren't able to secure a room with an attached bathroom, but had no wait whatsoever for the shared bath and it was also very clean. I've seen other reviewers complain about "rules", but they were really just common sense requests to keep common bathrooms clean for others, etc.

This is a budget, no frills hotel, so if you are expecting the Ritz, you will be disappointed. This is not a corporate hotel with a giant staff (and the price to match). You are staying in an antique building run by a lovely couple. It's more like visiting someone's home. If that's your vibe, this is your place. If you are accustomed to luxury hotels, then I would recommend another location.

Considering the convenient location and charming service (a rarity in Italy overall), the price was incredible. I would definitely stay here again and I'm happy to recommend this as your Florence home base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is located steps from the Orno and Ponte Vecchio, but it is a bit dated and austere. There's a long list of restrictions in the room, no 24-hour desk service, no air conditioning and only a single towel per guest. Because there is no AC, you have to leave the windows open which gets noisy and invites Florence's robust mosquito colony into your suite.

The only real saving grace is the owners, Alessio and Asumi. They are very friendly and can help you out with restaurant recommendations, directions and tour tips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cestelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cestelli

Address: Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 516 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cestelli 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 12th century palace off Via de' Tornabuoni and just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. Minimalistic and calm atmosphere inside enhanced by subdued lighting and Japanese simplicity. Renaissance meets Zen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cestelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cestelli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cestelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.