We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, warm and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cestelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cestelli to your Saves list
Hotel Cestelli
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location, warm and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

As other reviewers have written, Alesso and Asumi and warm and inviting hosts. Alesso recommended some off the beaten path spots in Florence and they wound up being our favorite! We arrived early and even though we weren't able to check in, they held onto our luggage for us that day and when we returned, had placed our luggage in the room for us.

The room was spic and span and quiet. We weren't able to secure a room with an attached bathroom, but had no wait whatsoever for the shared bath and it was also very clean. I've seen other reviewers complain about "rules", but they were really just common sense requests to keep common bathrooms clean for others, etc.

This is a budget, no frills hotel, so if you are expecting the Ritz, you will be disappointed. This is not a corporate hotel with a giant staff (and the price to match). You are staying in an antique building run by a lovely couple. It's more like visiting someone's home. If that's your vibe, this is your place. If you are accustomed to luxury hotels, then I would recommend another location.

Considering the convenient location and charming service (a rarity in Italy overall), the price was incredible. I would definitely stay here again and I'm happy to recommend this as your Florence home base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    42
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
91
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is located steps from the Orno and Ponte Vecchio, but it is a bit dated and austere. There's a long list of restrictions in the room, no 24-hour desk service, no air conditioning and only a single towel per guest. Because there is no AC, you have to leave the windows open which gets noisy and invites Florence's robust mosquito colony into your suite.

The only real saving grace is the owners, Alessio and Asumi. They are very friendly and can help you out with restaurant recommendations, directions and tour tips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Overall charming place with friendly staff. The rooms were minimal and like other reviews there were a TON of rules and lack of amenities. It was extremely hot with no air and VERY noisy. My husband and I left for the day and upon return noticed someone had taken comforter off bed leaving us with just a sheet to sleep with ... Bizarre and a bit intrusive. We also noticed while we were gone someone came in ande shut the windows and turned off the only source of air (the fan). Good location nice staff but next time DEFINITELY worth paying a little more to have bathroom , air conditioning , privacy, and more than a sheet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Alessio & Asumi run a lovely hotel! The room was beautifully decorated and spacious for our family. Alessio gave us several helpful tips on the town including excellent places to eat and drink. For a touristy city like Florence in high season, this was definitely decent value for our money and a great experience too.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms not facing the street would be quieter. Ours was a bit noisy at night if the window wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The owners gave us such a warm welcome, they made us feel completely at ease. The room was spotless with a high ceiling and cool tiled floor. We shared a bathroom (the en suite rooms had already been booked), my husband was concerned about this but the bathroom was nearby and not a problem at all.
Alessio gave us excellent advice about when to queue for museum tickets (we had not bought one in advance) and where to eat suggesting places away from the usual tourist areas.
We had a hire car and were anxious about getting out of Florence as there were alot of one way streets plus roadworks. Alessio was so helpful in marking the way out on a map for us.
Both Alessio and Asumi are lovely happy friendly people. We enjoyed meeting them and staying in their beautiful home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The owners were very nice and showed us great spots for lunch and dinner. The room had a few mosquitoes, but I would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel one night, the rooms are rustic Italian feel and the hotel is cozy and very inviting. We were greeted at the door by a smiling couple who were so very friendly! They showed us many local restaurants and wine bars that were NOT tourist traps and very affordable. They were quite accommodating in showing us what to visit in Florence. We felt as if we were staying in someone's home! Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cestelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cestelli

Address: Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cestelli 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 12th century palace off Via de' Tornabuoni and just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. Minimalistic and calm atmosphere inside enhanced by subdued lighting and Japanese simplicity. Renaissance meets Zen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cestelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cestelli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cestelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.