We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but lacking a lot of common things” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cestelli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cestelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cestelli
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 507 Florence B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location but lacking a lot of common things”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Overall charming place with friendly staff. The rooms were minimal and like other reviews there were a TON of rules and lack of amenities. It was extremely hot with no air and VERY noisy. My husband and I left for the day and upon return noticed someone had taken comforter off bed leaving us with just a sheet to sleep with ... Bizarre and a bit intrusive. We also noticed while we were gone someone came in ande shut the windows and turned off the only source of air (the fan). Good location nice staff but next time DEFINITELY worth paying a little more to have bathroom , air conditioning , privacy, and more than a sheet.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    38
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
84
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Alessio & Asumi run a lovely hotel! The room was beautifully decorated and spacious for our family. Alessio gave us several helpful tips on the town including excellent places to eat and drink. For a touristy city like Florence in high season, this was definitely decent value for our money and a great experience too.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms not facing the street would be quieter. Ours was a bit noisy at night if the window wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The owners gave us such a warm welcome, they made us feel completely at ease. The room was spotless with a high ceiling and cool tiled floor. We shared a bathroom (the en suite rooms had already been booked), my husband was concerned about this but the bathroom was nearby and not a problem at all.
Alessio gave us excellent advice about when to queue for museum tickets (we had not bought one in advance) and where to eat suggesting places away from the usual tourist areas.
We had a hire car and were anxious about getting out of Florence as there were alot of one way streets plus roadworks. Alessio was so helpful in marking the way out on a map for us.
Both Alessio and Asumi are lovely happy friendly people. We enjoyed meeting them and staying in their beautiful home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The owners were very nice and showed us great spots for lunch and dinner. The room had a few mosquitoes, but I would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel one night, the rooms are rustic Italian feel and the hotel is cozy and very inviting. We were greeted at the door by a smiling couple who were so very friendly! They showed us many local restaurants and wine bars that were NOT tourist traps and very affordable. They were quite accommodating in showing us what to visit in Florence. We felt as if we were staying in someone's home! Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I agree with all of the great reviews. I stayed at Hotel Cestelli in Fall 2006 (the site forced me to select 2011) but I have never forgotten my lovely experience; I revisited the page today as I am hoping to travel overseas in 2013. The co-owners are such a wonderful couple! I intend to re-visit Florence in 2013 and here is where I shall stay -- and this time I hope to stay longer at Hotel Cestelli. They were both so helpful to me, securing tickets for me to The Uffizi as one example. Alessio and Asumi have a real talent for running a nice small hotel. They make one feel so welcome too, a big plus. Thank you both!

Room Tip: I had a room with a shower only but one may request a room with a bathtub. The windows in the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Cestelli for four nights during my goodbye tour of Europe after living in Germany for two years. This was my first trip to Florence, and this hotel was perfect!

When you walk in, you feel like you're a guest in a beautiful home! The owners -- Alessio and Asumi -- were so friendly, and Alessio took time to show me a map and offer great suggestions for dinner. A beautifully decorated foyer leads to the shared bathroom, which is what I had since I was a solo traveler in a single room. The solo room was spacious with a sink, comfy single bed and a huge armoire for clothes. The bathroom was also quite large and all tile with a large bathtub. Asumi always had candles lit and fresh rose petals. A nice touch!

There was also a little bookshelf in the foyer where you could borrow books during your stay. This was perfect for me, since I exhausted myself during the day by walking the city and just wanted to relax in my room at night. The hotel is located just one block off the river and Ponte Vecchio. Everything is really within walking distance of this hotel. There is no breakfast, but next door is a cute little vendor who has fresh meats, cheeses and fruits so you can grab something for your walk around town.

I would absolutely stay here again and plan on recommending this place to everyone I know who travels! Alessio was so nice to take time out of his days to have many conversations with me about Florence and about living in Europe in general. Overall, the two of them made me feel like I was a guest in a home, not a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cestelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cestelli

Address: Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cestelli 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 12th century palace off Via de' Tornabuoni and just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. Minimalistic and calm atmosphere inside enhanced by subdued lighting and Japanese simplicity. Renaissance meets Zen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cestelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cestelli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cestelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.