We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cestelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cestelli to your Saves list
Hotel Cestelli
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Charming central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a small charming hotel,centrally located, 10 minutes walk from the train station. Gawk along the way at all the designer clothes. 5 minute walk to the Uffizi, 2 minutes to Ponte Vecchio.Don't miss walking to Santa Trinita bridge to view the sunset. Hosts Alessio and Asumi both speak English well since they spent several years in the States.They both go out of their way to be helpful in booking Museum reservations, recommending their favourite restaurants and making dinner reservations, providing maps of the city and directions to any of the sights that interest you. We had a room with a small ensuite bathroom. The rooms are spotless. Don't expect television, phone or WiFi, but you will be too busy walking in Florence to miss them. There is a cute miniscule grocery store right next door..great for picking up bread and fruit which we often did for breakfast. Laundry facilities 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    42
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
91
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We travelled through Italy, starting and ending in Florence, and stayed at Hotel Cestelli for the final two nights of the trip. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful owners who are more than happy to answer questions and help you out. The location is excellent for seeing the things you need to see in Florence (walking distance to Duomo/St Mark's, Uffizzi, Gallerie Accademia, Ponte Vecchio, etc). Great value as well (we stayed at a B&B outside the historic centre that was much more expensive and really no better than this hotel).

The hotel is on a quiet street but the sounds from vehicles on other streets sometimes carry through and there were one or two times that it woke us during the night. It really wasn't a problem for us and this would happen at any hotel in this central area of the city, but something to be aware of. The bed was a little bit hard but this was generally the case at each hotel we stayed at in any Italian city. Again, not a big deal, but something to be aware of if you have strict requirements to get a good sleep.

Also, we booked a room with no private bathroom (just a sink in the room) and so used the shared bathroom. The hotel isn't that big so the shared bathroom wasn't in huge demand and was always available.

So to summarize: great value, great location, very clean. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all rooms have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Ok, for being 75 euro in June in Florence, it's a great price. It also did smell lovely and had all sorts of charm and atmosphere. 5 min walk to the Ufizzi and Ponte Vecchio. The staff was super-friendly.
However, there was no AC and an extremely old mattress. We had to share a bath, which we have done before and have been fine with, but this was a shared bath for 5 rooms so you could be waiting for a while. You do have to go up one flight of stairs--ok for Italy.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a great stay at Hotel Cestelli. Basic hotel/B&B and perfect for the casual traveler who wants a nice clean place to sleep and shower!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. I am glad that it was not much longer. The entrance and foyer were very cozy, the owners were extremely helpful, but we were disappointed with the room. It was very bare bones and cold feeling. I don't think we would stay here again when in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britishC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I travelled with my grandson and Allesio and wife were so helpful
and enjoyed the young guest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I stayed here with two friends in December 2010. The hotel has a real charm to it, set in a 12th century building. The rooms were super clean, and it was almost like an Asian spa with mood lighting, beautiful soft fragrance, nice furnishings, and a relaxing vibe. You cannot beat the location, set on the Arno river at the edge of Santa Trinita bridge and a minute's walk from Ponte Vecchio, 5-10 minutes from the train station, and 5 minutes from the Duomo. The owners were helpful, the price was excellent for what you get. The only downside was that we had rooms with a shared bathroom, and there was only one bathroom for everyone to use. But if you are after a reasonably priced, comfortable and well located hotel you could not go past Hotel Cestelli.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cestelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cestelli

Address: Borgo Ss. Apostoli 25, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cestelli 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a 12th century palace off Via de' Tornabuoni and just steps away from Ponte Vecchio. Minimalistic and calm atmosphere inside enhanced by subdued lighting and Japanese simplicity. Renaissance meets Zen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cestelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cestelli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cestelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.