We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, quiet hotel on the outskirts of florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Piazzuola, 36bis, 50183 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Decent, quiet hotel on the outskirts of florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

I quite enjoyed my stay at the President Hotel, which is located on a quiet hill outside the center of Florence.

The hotel staff was very friendly. Moreover, the rooms were ok; very clean but for the rest nothing special. I would say more 3* than 4*. The hotel in general and the rooms in particular have quite a retro feeling to them, which is not necessarily bad but I think that the property would benefit from a renovation.

Please be aware that this hotel is not located in the center so for this reason not ideal for tourists I would say. On the flip side the fresh air on the hill on which the hotel is located, is a welcome change to the smog and heat of Florence during the summer months.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    23
    29
    26
See reviews for
12
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

When we got to the hotel and after doing the check-in we noticed that the rooms were not like the ones showed on the website. As you can see in the pictures we took of the room, there are no resemblances between both rooms. The furniture was quite old, the bed sheet was split, the heating was not working and the bathroom was a little bit dirty and very old as well. Furthermore, our room was quite noisy and during the whole weekend there were men working and it was impossible to sleep from 8 am on.
Please, don't book a room in this hotel. It's better to spend the money in a good restaurant.

  • Liked — Nada
  • Disliked — Todo
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

My friend and I had a horrible experience at this hotel when we accidentally got locked in a stairwell that we thought would lead down to the lobby. After going through the unmarked, unlocked double doors outside of our room, we descended the stairs but soon realized that it lead to another part of the building that was being renovated and was completely abandoned. The doors we had come through had locked behind us, and every door and window leading to the outside world was locked. After 45 extremely stressful minutes and a phone call to Italian police, we finally got out of that place, but were shown no sympathy from the hotel staff. They ignored our request to put a sign on the double doors warning guests not use the stairwell, and they refused to pay our 12 euro cab fare to the city center even though the experience had caused us to miss our tour bus. Please don't even consider staying here.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Staff was uncaring
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

We stayed for two nights. Clean and comfortable. Very hard to find, directions confusing. Breakfast filling. View from hallway spectacular, worthy of taking photos. Front desk helpful, recommended a fantastic restaurant for dinner. A good walk into town. Nothing elaborate. Would stay again

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no hairdryer in room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

This is not place to stay even for few hours. I thought that is wrong place and in Florence they have 2 hotels named Hotel President4*..but unfortunately NOT.
If you want to have good holidays deffinitely not this hotel.
Very far from centrum!!

DON'T TAKE IT!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

From the minute we checked in to the second we checked out there were issues. This is certainly not a four star propery, more like a 2 star. Bare and unloved, maintenance a disaster, and since my return (2.5 weeks) I am still to hear from the manager to the complaint letter i wrote in.
Dont be fooled by the webpage - is was a huge disapointment and way over priced.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Bare and unloved
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and was definetly not blown away, it was an average hotel, I wouldn't go so far as to call it a 4 star, more like a 2.5 to 3 star. Hotel was comfortable enough. Staff were very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via della Piazzuola, 36bis, 50183 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is a classic style hotel, with modern technology and every comfort. It’s an ancient palace of 1869 restored and turned into a hotel in 1986, located near Piazza della Libertà on so-called avenues of Florence, absolutely close to the historic city center and the congress site of Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi and Palazzo degli Affari. The cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore is just at 15 minute walk away and the central train station Santa Maria Novella is only 3 kms far or 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.