We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not four-star.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Piazzuola, 36bis, 50183 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #400 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Latina, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent, but not four-star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night only but had no problems with it. The room was fine, clean and reasonably big, but the bathroom and shower were very small. The staff were friendly and I can have no complaints about the breakfast. What really made it was the view from the communal balcony on the top floor, unbelievable especially at night. It was quite far from the city centre, about a half an hour walk, but as we stayed there in April and the weather was fair that wasn't a problem. The four stars rating is extremely generous, I would say that 3 stars would probably be about right.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    23
    29
    26
See reviews for
12
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My last hotel during my european trip and unfortunately the worst. Nothing was really good, not the bed, not the cleaning, not the staff, nothing.
We had some problems with a staff member, internet was not working, and we had bugs in the room.
Don't go there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The President Florence hotel.. first impressions where very very good. But it went down hill from there I'm afraid. The room was good and big but the air conditioning didn't work. We opened the windows only to realise, we were letting mosquitoes in as well. Getting the shower to work was a challenge. To add to all of this, the hotel is quite far from Florence City Centre.
The breakfast was ok.
The view of the city from the room was quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel President did the job in terms of having somewhere to keep our luggage and sleep, however you won't want to be spending any more time there! The hotel lacks warmth in every aspect. Previous reviews talk about nice views but we looked on to another wall. No natural light whatsoever or fresh air gets in, and the decor is lackluster. Staff were nice but lacked energy. Breakfast was a big dissapointment - a couple of cold rolls and some orange juice is about all you will get.

Location was good if you don't mind 20 min walk to centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stay at this hotel because it was booked by a tour I was... The Hotel was working with just one person. The rooms were clean, but there was no view from our room because the window was locked with another antique wood window. The only thing that I like was a little pizzeria with a wood oven and the smell of the delicious pizzas and calzones was great, so... I took my meal at my room and fall asleep soon to go away on the morning. So it was O.K. just for a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was booked into the President by the organisers of a conference at the European University Institute which is close by in Fiesole. Fantastic view, lovely building and gardens, excellent air conditioning, serviceable bathroom-- and little else. The breakfast was a disgrace- automated instant coffee in Italy!- and nothing fresh at all. One had to pay for wifi, and there was nothing in the hotel after breakfast- no bar or anything. There was a suspicious mix up over payment at checkout which equally suspiciously cleared up as soon as I showed them a relevant email but which cost me an expensive roaming phone call and which I'm inclined, frankly speaking, to attribute to residual racist prejudices. No point in staying here unless you have to for work and you need to know people in Florence to take you to the city and give you a good time (which I did)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Description and photos are NOT what you will find. A box to catch rats was next to the tables (which were well covered with ants) in the garden. General lack of care and no ambience/atmosphere whatsoever. Delapidated building.Filthy walls and curtains, and ruined/scratched/miserable furniture. Tiny TV with only Italian channels.Poor breakfast with scarce choice. No bar available: there is a shelf with some bottles, but no one works there - ever! Smelly toilets next to the lifts. Maybe 2 stars would be more apt. It feels like a cheap run down hostel.
The woman that "welcomed" me at the reception demanded the I.D. document to a friend of mine that was simply helping me to bring the suitcase in my room, when, if it is a 4 star, there should be someone providing that service.Moreover, the first room that she gave me (despite having paid for a DOUBLE with single use) was a sort of dim cupboard with no air-con. When I complained she said that there was a bed and a half and it is used for 2 people. Reluctantly, she changed my room to an equally depressive one with a double bed and a noisy air-con.
It was so unpleasant to stay there, that I'd prefer to venture outside despite 40 degrees temperature. Poor choice of toiletries: no cream, no cotton buds: in a 4 star they are supposed to pay attention to those details. But, indeed, the bathroom was so small (measured 2.2 sq.metres) that there was no space for "pleasanties". By the way, the taps didn't function properly, too. Also, being outside the tiny centre of Florence, you will pay more for the taxi fare to the airport. Save your money and go to sleep under a bridge: it will be a better and cleaner experience....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel President, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Ms Cy d
thanks for your review on our hotel and I really appreciated the honesty, competence, objectivity with which pleasantly you wrote it.
Thank you very much, and please take care of yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via della Piazzuola, 36bis, 50183 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is a classic style hotel, with modern technology and every comfort. It’s an ancient palace of 1869 restored and turned into a hotel in 1986, located near Piazza della Libertà on so-called avenues of Florence, absolutely close to the historic city center and the congress site of Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi and Palazzo degli Affari. The cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore is just at 15 minute walk away and the central train station Santa Maria Novella is only 3 kms far or 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.