We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzuolo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzuolo to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzuolo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palazzuolo 71, 50123 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

In a good location if arriving by train as only 5 mins from the hotel. No problem to leave our bags in early in the day to save carrying around until we checked in. Hotel and room were clean, room was basic but bad was ok. 10-15 minutes walk gets you into the centre of Florence. Checked out earlyish (7am) and a few problems to sort out payment for the room due to language problems and processed own card payment because it was easier and we had to get to the station for our next train.

Room Tip: Take some insect repellant and pay cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    51
    25
    18
See reviews for
24
73
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Hotel Palazzuolo is in a great location for walking everywhere. Not far from the train station and all the attractions. BUT we stayed on the side that faces a questionable street with people who were outside partying and making noise till late at night. If I didnt have earplugs and my daughter an mp3 player with headphones we would not have gotten any sleep!!
Also to get into the hotel you have to climb a set of stairs. With heavy suitcases that was not much fun! Breakfast was just cold cereal or packaged pastries. The place was old fashion and quaint but not want we wanted or expected. I would say it was okay. It was clean though.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Palazzuolo Hotel in a triple room and we had no problem during our trip. A good night sleep in a clean room is more than enough for us after a long day in Florence.
No need to upload any photos, as the ones already showed by other people give the exact picture of the hotel.
We had a cold breakfast included. This one can be improved in order to satisfy the expectation of all guests.
The hotel is very close to S. Maria Novella train/bus station, easy to get buses to PISA Airport, Siena, San Gimignano and other places in Toscana.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

... the hotel is in a great location walking distance to train and most sights.... very basic older room.. good shower.. dont expect much communication from staff.. steep stairs to walk up with luggage!! :/ was very noisy in my room.. I had to... try.. to sleep with ear plugs in.... if you are a heavy sleeper and want cheap accommodation in the 'heart' of the city.. for a short time..it will be ok...if not.. maybe pay a bit more for elsewhere....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on the tail end of our honeymoon in Italy. Great location, free breakfast, big room. Nothing fancy. Would recommend it as it was a short walk to the city center, which was great! We had an awesome time in Florence, partially due to being right in the city!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Pretty much the only thing this place has going for it is the location. It is in the center of Florence, right near the train station. The bathrooms have no separate floor, so if you take a shower the whole bathroom floor will likely be flooded. They are nice. On the downside (again) we had to drag our luggage up 2 flights of stairs.

We ended up in a room with 2 twin beds, more likely the fault of the booking company.

They use physical keys. Not my favorite way of doing things.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked a triple room and stayed for two nights. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the Florence SMN Station and within walking distance to other attractions. Near by there were many convenience stores and restaurants. Hotel was old and dark, the staff was friendly though with limited English. If you are looking for a short stay and convenient location, this hotel is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#259 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
#286 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#247 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#289 of 457 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#364 of 457 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#145 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzuolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzuolo

Address: Via Palazzuolo 71, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palazzuolo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Palazzuolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzuolo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzuolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.