We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value / Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cardinal of Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cardinal of Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Borgo Pinti, 5, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value / Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the heart of Florence on a small street, we were charmed the minute we walked through the large wooden door to the inner courtyard. Although the three flights of stairs were challenging, the effort was worth it. The staff is outstanding. The rooms charming. The buffet breakfast fantastic. The terrace has a awesome view of the area. Tremendous value. I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great experience and enjoyed our time. The staff was great and the terrace was beautiful. The bed was a bit hard and the doors a bit thin so we could hear people in the hall. But overall we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This was a very lovely hotel with an absolutely gorgeous rooftop terrace which has an amazing view! The staff is exceptional from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out. They conveniently had a parking attendant to take our car to a nearby garage and carried our luggage up four flights of stairs to their reception area to our room and we're so helpful on suggestions and directions to many of the museums and restaurants.The room was clean and they also provided a stocked fridge with soft drinks and water. The breakfast was very good and the cappuccino machine was amazing! I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Florence to stay at the Cardinal of Florence Hotel! The staff makes the hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcardinalflorenc, Responsabile reception at Hotel Cardinal of Florence, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
We are thrilled that you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel!
We hope that you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

great and comfortable hotel in a convenient location with a friendly and helpful staff, a good breakfast and a terrace with a breathtaking view of florence! It was a little hard to find - just a door on a side street with buzzer to be buzzed in. The hotel is on the third floor but they offered to carry our bags up and down. The bathroom was a tad small but otherwise practical and fine for our stay. The room was quiet and comfortable with a comfortable bed and plenty of room. The location is just a few blocks from Duomo! And near some very good restaurants. The staff also made some restaurant recommendations that were great!!! And the terrace is just amazing! Also a good breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcardinalflorenc, Responsabile reception at Hotel Cardinal of Florence, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We hope to see you again ;)

Cosimo_Hotel Cardinal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in Florence and perfect for a 2 night stay. What makes this hotel so nice are the staff though, they cannot do enough for you from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. When we arrived they came out, took the car, carried our luggage and once we had climbed the stairs to the reception they had an ice cold drink waiting for us. I thought that was a nice touch. Yes the stairs are a little steep but the staff help you with luggage. The room itself was modern and clean and the roof top terrace had a fantastic view. Nice to sit up there after a days walking with a glass of wine. Wifi doesn't work in all the room which is a bit of a pain but it works in reception. The reception staff were helpful on where to go in Florence and they recommended an amazing restaurant which is literally opposite the hotel. The food was absolutely amazing and I would recommend this to anyone staying in Florence. On leaving the hotel we were driving to Chianti for the next part of our trip and we could not understand the Directions. The helpful man on reception telephoned the lady were suppose to be meeting in Chianti and relayed the direction to us in English and then printed off the directions. This was extremely kind of him.

All in all I thought this hotel was perfect and I would go back. The staff make this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcardinalflorenc, Responsabile reception at Hotel Cardinal of Florence, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
We are very glad that you had a nice stay with us! We always try to help our guests as much as possible and to make their travels at least a little bit easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Despite the stairs...There are lots...it was a very nice 4 nights. Staff very helpful, room lovely, resident ghecko did his best to eat the mosquitoes ( DONT be silly like we were and sleep with a window open on a hot October Night! The air con works Well!) Breakfast plentiful and the view from the up more stairs terrace WONDERFUL! Very nicely centrally situated too, moments from everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcardinalflorenc, Responsabile reception at Hotel Cardinal of Florence, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
I'm happy that you had a nice stay with us! I hope that you will choose our Hotel again on your next trip to Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubái, Emiratos Árabes Unidos
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

stayed here with my girlfriend, as it looked really nice from the web-page,
when arrived it was a bit difficult to find the place as has no signs at all and is located in a narrow street, we finally found it from the beginning i thought it was a bad idea since the hotel was situated on a 3rd floor by stairs in that building, so climbing up with the luggage was quite an effort,
but at the end we found out that the staff was very helpful, the rooms were clean an the terrace has a great view overlooking the duomo,
breakfast was fresh and with good variety, there is also a garage close by which is very handy if traveling by car.
we enjoyed our stay there but more signalization is needed and probably one extra staff to help with the luggage,
this is a good place to stay as couple or solo, i would not recommend for families or if traveling with infants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcardinalflorenc, Responsabile reception at Hotel Cardinal of Florence, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel!
I hope that you will choose to stay at Hotel Cardinal again on your next trip to Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cardinal of Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardinal of Florence

Address: Via Borgo Pinti, 5, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cardinal of Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cardinal of Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cardinal Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cardinal of Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.