We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location by river, walking distance to main train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bretagna to your Saves list
Hotel Bretagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location by river, walking distance to main train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, staff friendly, room decent size and clean. Good choice if you want something central and you can walk within the city. Breakfast was good,pretty standard eggs, bacon, fruit etc they kept our bags behind reception as we had some free time before going to train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and that you appreciated our location, our breakfast and our staff service.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    314
    75
    25
    18
See reviews for
145
388
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had a very enjoyable time at the Hotel and exploring Florence. It is now officially in my wonderful memories section!!
The Hotel is in a lovely position right on the river and I easily navigated all the wonderful piazzas as a single traveller and found my way back fine.

Room Tip: My room was the only issue as it was uninspiring and had seperate bathroom. However it was a minor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.
Hoping to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I loved my trip to Florence and this hotel was the perfect place to be based.
The hotel is overlooking the river and the view from our room which was a junior suite on the third floor was wonderful. You could really mires your self in the sights, sounds and smells of the city.
The breakfast was very good but the best thing was the staff.
Nothing was too much trouble, the girls on reception were always there with helpful advice about where to go and what to see next. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: River view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Kate,

We are glad to read your positive review on Tripadvisor.
Nice to know that you appreciated very much our staff service,
it's the most important for us to make our guest stay very enjoyable.

We really hope to welcome you back soon.

Waremst regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

There was nothing to complain with.
Breakfast could have been richer by local specialities, maybe more interesting bread.
Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff.
Some rooms with view over Arno.
Parking was functioning perfectly with the private garage organized by the reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Kamil,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadviosr.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our staff service.
Our breakfast respects the standard of a 4 star hotel and we are doing our best to maintain the high quality of food and beverage. The bread we serve is a Tuscan bread, genuine and traditional in Florence, it's also very healty because it's without salt.
Thank you again very much for this positive feedback.
Hoping to have the possibility to welcome you back soon.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Wonderful view of the river from our room. Friendly helpful staff. Good quality breakfast in a beautiful room overlooking the Arno. Room was oldish and could do with refurbishment but we slept well and wanted for nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room, our breakfast and especially our staff service.
we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Hotel Bretagna soon.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great location. Excellent security. Breakfast well worth the extra. Staff were very helpful. Take their advice with the booking of the Galleries etc. I assure you will be very pleased when you see the lines. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the court yard ... Don't expect much ... But your not there to look out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with the community of TripAdviosr.
We are glad to know that our hotel met your expectations.
We really hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badminton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Could not have been better. Exceptional value for money. We paid 114 euros for Saturday night in May. Short walk to everything that we wanted to see. Service without a fault. Breakfast was plentiful and good choice even at 7.30 on Sunday morning. They were ready early which was helpful as we were booked into the Uffizi at 8.15. Really excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Isobel,

Thank you very much for posting your positive comment on TripAdvisor.
We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed our location, your room and especially our service.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Florence
#73 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bretagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.