We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff at the front desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bretagna to your Saves list
Hotel Bretagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Excellent staff at the front desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a lovely three days stay at this hotel. Very clean, a spacious room. All the front desk staff were excellent. All the requests we had asked they were so efficient. Restaurants recommendations were great also.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are more than pleased to know that you enjoy your stay and especially our service provided by our team.

Hoping to have you back at Hotel Bretagna.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    314
    75
    25
    18
See reviews for
145
389
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We enjoyed very much our visit at this beautiful and old town of Toscane - Italy and one of the reasons was our stay at hotel Bretagna, not only because of the very expert staff but because of the grate location of the hotel, also (historical center and facing the Arno river). We never used transporation, except from and to the airport (for 23-25 euros), so we walked on foot to all the important places as far as, Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Piti, Ponte Vecvhio, e.t.c., you see the weather (end of November) was very nice for that time, only some cold but very sunny. The local cusine is very tastefull and the "trattorias" have very good service, we enjoyed very much local Toscane red wine. We have travelled Europre more than 20 times, 3 to Italy, our travell experience was one of the best and also our stay at hotel Bretagna was one of the best.
E.K. Greece

Room Tip: A room facing the Arno river is the best I beleive and choosing a junior suite is a grate choise bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review following your recent visit.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always wonderful to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, in the heart of Firenze.

It will be a big pleasure welcoming you back here at Hotel Bretagna.

Warmest regards,

Fabrizo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is the best hotel for the price at which this comes to customers.My family has been coming to Europe for a long time and this is our third trip to Italy, the second to Florence in five years. We compare this hotel to our stays in Italy so far and our experience at Bretagna trumps all.
This is definitely a five-star plus hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel Bretagna is located in the middle of the most visited tourists attractions in Florence-a stone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this very nice review!
We are happy to know that Hotel Bretagna is the best hotel value for money in Italy you ever stayed!
Thank you again for this positive feedback!
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have greatly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Bretagna. By booking the hotel's smallest room, I was able to afford the experience of this historical building (700 years old) even though I was travelling on a budget. My room was comfortable and nicely appointed, the view of the courtyard beautiful (ancient church tower) and even though I had to walk down the hall to access the private bathroom, the hallway like everything else was charming and impeccably clean. (Note that only one room in the hotel has this feature which I opted for since I was in Florence overnight and though I could save... I did not regret.) This room was perfectly find and the bathroom was all marble, new fixtures, high ceilings...). This historical hotel is not in the shabby quaintness category.

The staff at the reception were exceptionally helpful, friendly and welcoming. I have traveled quite a bit in the last few years, and this was by far the best hotel reception that I have had. The staff is exceptional.

The breakfast provided a lot of options and everything was very good, except the cappuccino machine... it just can't compete with the real thing. The breakfast room is so nice that my friends compared it to a wedding reception when they saw the pictures.

Overall, the hotel is charming and nicely located. I was able to take great river pictures from the reception balcony.

I highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Gatineau,

Grazie mille for this amazing review on tripadviosr!
We are proud to know that you enjoyed very much your stay with us.
We are glad to discover that even if your room had the external bathroom you loved it!
As you mentioned only one room in the entire hotel has the external bathroom and this is the main aspect of this typology. Of course the bathroom is for private use and is well furnished.
We would like to thank you for your kind compliments for our staff. It is very important to know that our team do their best.

We are waiting to see you soon!

Warmest regards from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is intended to be set in old Florentine aristocratic architecture, ie large rooms high ceilings big open unscreened windows. Few modern upgrades. In November it was surprisingly warm 18degC outside but sadly 26deg C inside. The hotel owner has a policy of turning off all a/c systems permanently until spring at the first of November. So we baked in our room until the night cooled off. The biggest redeeming feature however is the support staff. The front desk Italian staff were consistently very friendly and helpful which is unusual in Florence. Front line staff in the Italian tourist business are generally very mechanical, much like airport staff. You get used to it. The breakfast supervisor was exceptional and the breakfast included was excellent, although they have put too many tables into one room. I would go back because of the staff, not because of the hotel. The price does not match the amenities. Perhaps this is because it is a short walk to the main squares and museums. You will have to prioritize what you need when you visit.

Room Tip: The main reception is up a two flights of stairs. Don't be surprised when you arrive. Just push...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate all the positive points you mentioned in your feedback.
Receiving such a positive comment about our staff is very important for us. I'm proud to hear that our team is doing their best.
We are very sorry if the a/c upset you so much.
We would like to inform you that in Italy, in Florence from 1st November starts the period of heating system and the city turn off the air conditionning. Usually in November the average temperature is 10,5 °C: 6°C minimum and 15 °C maximum.


Kind regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room is spacious. The economy room has an economy mattress and pillows. Large bathtub, bathroom was fine. The location of hotel was excellent. The breakfast was good. It was less expensive to eat in the hotel dining room than in local cafes. The staff was very helpful with planning a day tour for us. We enjoyed our stay. The internet didn't work in our room, probably because it was very far from the front desk. I went out in the hallway and sat at a desk to use the internet. The television in our room did not have English speaking channels. No tv and no internet was not so great. If I stayed in this hotel again I'd probably get the upgraded room that has river view.

Room Tip: I'd go with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of our Hotel here at Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate all the positive points you mentioned in your feedback:
your room, breakfast and staff assistance.
We are sorry for the low wi- fi connection in the room, the reason probably was that we had a storm in the previous days and the technician could not came immediatly.
Thanks to your review we checked all the english channels in the rooms and we found out that in some rooms was simply not easy to find it on the menu but there is at least one in each room.

Hoping to have the possibility to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Bretagna. The hotel is right on the Arno River and within walking diatance of all the Florence sites. They have very helpful and nice staff. The rooms are nice and very clean and they range from small to quite large. The included breakfast has a great choice of different foods! Ask to stay in Napolean's brothers room which was once his apartment, its amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bretagna for the second time. It's always a pleasure to welcome back our guests. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your Historcal Junior Suite with original frescos, Luigi Bonaparte's apartment.
Thank you also for describing so well our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back for the third time :)

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Florence
#74 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bretagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.