We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bretagna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bretagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 461 hotels in Florence
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great historical hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have greatly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Bretagna. By booking the hotel's smallest room, I was able to afford the experience of this historical building (700 years old) even though I was travelling on a budget. My room was comfortable and nicely appointed, the view of the courtyard beautiful (ancient church tower) and even though I had to walk down the hall to access the private bathroom, the hallway like everything else was charming and impeccably clean. (Note that only one room in the hotel has this feature which I opted for since I was in Florence overnight and though I could save... I did not regret.) This room was perfectly find and the bathroom was all marble, new fixtures, high ceilings...). This historical hotel is not in the shabby quaintness category.

The staff at the reception were exceptionally helpful, friendly and welcoming. I have traveled quite a bit in the last few years, and this was by far the best hotel reception that I have had. The staff is exceptional.

The breakfast provided a lot of options and everything was very good, except the cappuccino machine... it just can't compete with the real thing. The breakfast room is so nice that my friends compared it to a wedding reception when they saw the pictures.

Overall, the hotel is charming and nicely located. I was able to take great river pictures from the reception balcony.

I highly recommend this hotel and hope to be back again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Gatineau,

Grazie mille for this amazing review on tripadviosr!
We are proud to know that you enjoyed very much your stay with us.
We are glad to discover that even if your room had the external bathroom you loved it!
As you mentioned only one room in the entire hotel has the external bathroom and this is the main aspect of this typology. Of course the bathroom is for private use and is well furnished.
We would like to thank you for your kind compliments for our staff. It is very important to know that our team do their best.

We are waiting to see you soon!

Warmest regards from all of us,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    311
    72
    25
    18
See reviews for
141
354
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is intended to be set in old Florentine aristocratic architecture, ie large rooms high ceilings big open unscreened windows. Few modern upgrades. In November it was surprisingly warm 18degC outside but sadly 26deg C inside. The hotel owner has a policy of turning off all a/c systems permanently until spring at the first of November. So we baked in our room until the night cooled off. The biggest redeeming feature however is the support staff. The front desk Italian staff were consistently very friendly and helpful which is unusual in Florence. Front line staff in the Italian tourist business are generally very mechanical, much like airport staff. You get used to it. The breakfast supervisor was exceptional and the breakfast included was excellent, although they have put too many tables into one room. I would go back because of the staff, not because of the hotel. The price does not match the amenities. Perhaps this is because it is a short walk to the main squares and museums. You will have to prioritize what you need when you visit.

Room Tip: The main reception is up a two flights of stairs. Don't be surprised when you arrive. Just push...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate all the positive points you mentioned in your feedback.
Receiving such a positive comment about our staff is very important for us. I'm proud to hear that our team is doing their best.
We are very sorry if the a/c upset you so much.
We would like to inform you that in Italy, in Florence from 1st November starts the period of heating system and the city turn off the air conditionning. Usually in November the average temperature is 10,5 °C: 6°C minimum and 15 °C maximum.


Kind regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room is spacious. The economy room has an economy mattress and pillows. Large bathtub, bathroom was fine. The location of hotel was excellent. The breakfast was good. It was less expensive to eat in the hotel dining room than in local cafes. The staff was very helpful with planning a day tour for us. We enjoyed our stay. The internet didn't work in our room, probably because it was very far from the front desk. I went out in the hallway and sat at a desk to use the internet. The television in our room did not have English speaking channels. No tv and no internet was not so great. If I stayed in this hotel again I'd probably get the upgraded room that has river view.

Room Tip: I'd go with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of our Hotel here at Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate all the positive points you mentioned in your feedback:
your room, breakfast and staff assistance.
We are sorry for the low wi- fi connection in the room, the reason probably was that we had a storm in the previous days and the technician could not came immediatly.
Thanks to your review we checked all the english channels in the rooms and we found out that in some rooms was simply not easy to find it on the menu but there is at least one in each room.

Hoping to have the possibility to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Bretagna. The hotel is right on the Arno River and within walking diatance of all the Florence sites. They have very helpful and nice staff. The rooms are nice and very clean and they range from small to quite large. The included breakfast has a great choice of different foods! Ask to stay in Napolean's brothers room which was once his apartment, its amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bretagna for the second time. It's always a pleasure to welcome back our guests. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your Historcal Junior Suite with original frescos, Luigi Bonaparte's apartment.
Thank you also for describing so well our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back for the third time :)

Warmest regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were warmly welcomed at the front desk on our arrival by Sylwia, who was extraordinarily helpful and gave us some excellent suggestions for sights to see. While the room itself was nothing memorable, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower had lots of hot water. The breakfast room was very pretty and we really enjoyed the food and coffee that was served. The location is absolutely perfect, right on the river and not even a 5 min walk to Ponte Vecchio. At checkout as well, we felt the staff did a great job. We would stay here again, largeky based on location, service and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the comunity of Tripadvisor.
I am so glad you enjoyed the service of our front desk staff which is what we work hardest at. Thank you so much for your compliments regarding our location, cleaning of your room and breakfast .

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Very best regards from us all. Be well.

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We traveled mid October - just prior to the end of season. We stayed at the Hotel Bretagna for 3 nights, originally booked for 2 nights. Our plans modified and we extended our stay in Florence. The Reception desk was most accommodating to find a room for us at the same rate. The Hotel location is perfect. A short walk to every monument and the Ladies at reception were knowledgeable and very very receptive to recommend excellent places to dine. We also asked about a tour to Tuscany and we were offered options, once selected reception made the reservation for us. We were picked up at the hotel and off we went on the tour. Lastly, The owner of the hotel offered for the guests to attend a talk given by an anthropologist who is local to the area to share Florence history and the History of the Hotel. For the talk the hotel offered Prosecco and that has become my new best drink. Cheer's !.. I recommend the Hotel Bretagna to anyone looking to stay during their visit to Firenze !..

Room Tip: Rooms on the Arno are ideal but I believe are limited. Internal rooms are large and roomy. Bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Debora,

Thank you very much for this "bellissimo" feedback!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location and especially the reception team assistance.
It was a pleasure for us organize the talk of history and art of Firenze given by our guide.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and your family!

We really hope to welcome you back here at Hotel Bretagna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Hotel Bretagna is walking distance from the important sites in Florence, on the river and somewhat away from the crowds. Altogether a wonderful location for a visit to Florence. We had a back room that was spacious and quiet. The beds had extra foam that made them much more comfortable. The front desk staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelbretagna, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Lucciano,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed so much our Location, just on the Arno river, few minutes from Pontevecchio.
We know how important is the quality of sleep, for this reason we provided confortable beds.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Warms regards,

Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bretagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.