We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hotel near to the Main places” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bretagna to your Saves list
Hotel Bretagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm hotel near to the Main places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very well located, near Ponte Vecchio. The staff was very friendly and willing to help in every detail. The room was Ok with a garden view but the bathroom was very small. The morning breakfast was very good, buffet style.
My only problem was the weather, very rainy Florence during march!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABRIZIO B, Direttore at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
Unfortunately this year the weather wasn't so good as usually but we hope to welcome you again in summer!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    314
    75
    25
    18
See reviews for
145
388
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We really loved the hotel. It was sunny, and we stayed at the balcony of the main reception, having a beer and admiring the fantastic vew of Arno River and Ponte Vecchio! From the hotel, It's possible too walk to the main attractons of the historical center. The staff was great and indicated a very good reetaranto for me and my wife to go at St. Valentino's day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having never been to Europe and travelling alone I was a bit nervous about my accommodations.
I stayed at the Hotel Bretagna and found it to be an exceptional experience in every way.
The room was spacious (historical junior suite), comfortable and my home away from home.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned thoroughly every day.
I do not need to consider staying anyplace else the next time I return to Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne AU
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like many hotels in the area, the Hotel Bretagna seems, to the outsider, to be a series of rooms shoehorned into a rabbit warren. A function of using a building for a purpose way outside its design parameters.
So be prepared to enter on the ground floor, go to reception on one level, find your room on another level and mosey down to breakfast on another.
Overall, this is a little big hotel. The whole experience falls somewhere in between the polished glitz of a large place and the intimacy of a smaller venue.
Having said that, the staff are friendly and helpful and it's a no hassle experience and if you can get a decent rate it's good value.

Room Tip: Owing to the old building syndrome, room sizes vary enormously. If a river view is important prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcas Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here with my 8 year old son only for one night. This hotel was perfect. It is located right on the river with a view of the Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are simple and clean, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are large. The front desk people are extremely helpful and will figure your entire stay out for you if you want them to. The service is parallel to staying at the Ritz Carlton. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel. We even walked with our luggage to and from the train station. Not a problem. I wish we could've stayed here for many more nights. It was the best experience we had on our entire 2 week trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the bathroom ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had a such a pleasant stay at Hotel Bretagna. The location is excellent for exploring Florence as the hotel is situated one bridge away from the Ponte Vecchio. Round the corner is Via Tournabuoni, where all the brands like Prada, Ferragamo and Gucci are located.

The room I had was a little small, but clean and nice. The bathroom was modern and obviously refurbished. There was a little flat screen TV on the wall and wi-fi connection in the room.

The breakfast was very good by European standards. Hot scrambled eggs, sausages and boiled eggs were available apart from the usual continental fare.

The staff were very helpful, especially when my friend came to visit me and he had to drive into the restricted zone. In Florence, the city centre is restricted and if you drive into the zone without a pass, there's a Euro 80.00 fine. The hotel receptionist arranged for a waiver so that my friend could drive in.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel when in Florence!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Bretagna, choosing to stay in 2 different rooms during the trip. For the first 2 nights we stayed in the room with the beautifully frescoed ceiling. The room was massive, and while sparcely furnished, had all of the essentials. Most of your time in that room will be spent admiring the ceiling and the massive ornate fireplace (does not function for obvious safety reasons). The following 2 nights we stayed in a room with a view of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio, which also had a wonderful jaccuzi tub! We were able to experience the best of both sides of the hotel and would definitely recommend it. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room also had a beautiful frescoed ceiling. The location could not be beat, just a few steps from the Ponte Vecchio and all the sights and sounds of Florence. Also, if you stay at this hotel or anywhere near, just a few steps down street is Bistro del Mare which provided us with one of our best meals in Italy, for a superb price and great ambiance.
All in all an excellent hotel right on the Arno, and a short few minute walk from the train station!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Florence
#74 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bretagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.