We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bretagna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bretagna to your Saves list
Hotel Bretagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Bretagna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed in Hotel Bretagna in September 2012. We enjoyed our stay over 7 days and recommend this hotel in Florence.
We would particularly like to thank Martina and all the staff for their friendliness and local knowledge as this made our stay so memorable.
Our juniour suite had sweeping views of the Arno and my friends have commented on the sunset snaps from our window. Colours were amazing!
After a long day of walking around the city it was so restful to return to our room and spa...did I mention we could see Basilica Di Santo Spirito from our spa and listening to the bells was so beautiful! We really loved our first time in Florence and staying here was a great choice. Grazie Mille!

Room Tip: juniour suites all have view of the Arno magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    332
    81
    27
    19
See reviews for
152
412
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and it was perfect, an easy walk from the railway station and great views over the Arno. The staff were so friendly and gave us a list of nearby restaurants, nothing was too much trouble.
There is a balcony just off reception and we would come back and sit outside with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. There was also a comfortable lounge with internet access.
The breakfast was amazing with a fantastic choice so no need for lunch. I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel Bretagna is in the best possible location for your stay in Florence. The staff was helpful beyond the call of duty and the breakfast was excellent. My bed was HARD which caused some back pain, but this is better than too soft.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel will fulfill all your expectations at a reasonable price. The rooms are beautiful, the service is wonderful, the breakfast is elegant and it is right on the Arno one bridge away from Ponte Vecchio. My friends and I swooned over this lovely little gem. I can't wait to bring my husband back here.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are for more than one person. So, come with a friend or a partner. My little s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is the first time I have ever taken the time to write a review online. I am a frequent traveller that has seen much of the world and stayed in many hotels. I feel that it is necessary for me to recognize the excellence of this hotel. First of all the staff at this hotel go above and beyond to ensure that you enjoy your stay there. I am 25 years old and was traveling on my own this summer, the Staff especially (Martina) spent a lot of time planning my visit in Florence, as well as making great recommendations for my future travels in italy. I can honestly say that I was extremely shocked with how amazing they were. I work in the customer service industry and I look up to the way that the staff treated me at Hotel Bretagna. On top of the amazng staff the location is absolutely beautiful and the hotel is extremely clean. There is honestly nothing bad that I can say about it, except that you have to see it to believe it. Thank you so much to the Staff at Hotel Bretagna, especially Martina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Old, very tired hotel. Only positive is location. Front desk staff are very nice and friendly. However, the rooms are very spartan, basic, simple but at least clean. We were lucky to get a room over the Arno. No bell staff to get your luggage upstairs (lobby is on second floor with tiny 'lift' and no help with parking a car out front. Breakfast simple, basic and in a small plain room. There have got to be tons of better options. Really not worth saving the money for this very antiquated place.

Room Tip: Demand a view of the Arno; if not, look elsewhere. In fact, look elsewhere anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a week at the hotel; we found the staff excellent, very pleasant and ready to help.
Breakfast was buffet style, with plenty of choice, although the only warm food available was scrambled egg and frankfurter -type sausages.
Our room was good, but would benefit from having the facility to make your own tea / coffee. The location was excellent, very close to the Ponte Vecchia, and overlooking the river Arno.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Florence
#79 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#109 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bretagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.