We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very atmospheric” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bretagna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bretagna to your Saves list
Hotel Bretagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 461 Hotels in Florence
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

Hotel Bretagna is amazing, its like stepping into another century but in a nice way! It is very handy for the main station and is a only a few minutes walk from the centre of town. Florence is a beautiful city and if you like old buildings and are an art lover its a city you must visit.
I would recommend booking a ' superior bedroom' at the hotel as they are in the process of renovating the hotel and these rooms have been refurbished and are very nice. The first couple of nights we were put into a lovely room with a fantastic whirlpool bath and a view of the Ponte Veccio, this was done at no extra charge as I fancied a bath. We were then moved to another equally nice room with a power shower but unfortunately no bath. The only thing I would say is that my partner and I found the beds exceptionally hard, so if you like a soft bed this place is not for you!
The staff were friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was fine, again if you like a full English breakfast this hotel would not suit you.
On the whole everything was very good (apart from the bed) and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the lovely bedroom
  • Disliked — the hard bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    309
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
144
379
44
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Granted, I selected the cheaper room, but this place was disgusting. Charm is not the word. My hall had 10 rooms sharing 1 retrofitted bathroom that is smaller than my closet. I flushed the toilet, and water bubbled out of the sink. My room also had very little heat, smelled, and there were stains on the bedspread. The room was also poorly retrofitted for electricity and would not have come close to passing code in the US. In 30 minutes, I packed up and left for any new lodging along the street. I landed at Hotel degli Orafi, which was magnificent.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

The hotel is in a good location on the river front, giving you lovely views of the Arno and the Ponte Vecchio. Everything you want to see is within walking distance, as are a great number of good restaurants & shops. The hotel is within part of an old palace & is a beautiful historic building. The part we stayed in had been recently refurbished to a good standard, the room was spacious, clean & comfy. As it was November it did get a bit chilly but we were fine once we'd worked out the heating unit & with extra blankets. Staff were v friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good, lots of choice. The only problem we had was with hot water, which was a bit unpredictable, other than that an excellent place to stay & v good value.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Bretagna from Nov 12-15th in room 40 for 65 euro/night (it was low season). There are both renovated and unrenovated rooms iin the Bretagna. We were first placed in room 14 at check-in, but it was tiny, had no view, and no character. We had 3 suitcases with us and needed more space, so I requested a larger room. If I were you, I would request to see which rooms are available.. There are many beautiful, renovated rooms and it will make a big difference in your vacation. We ended up in room 40, which was perfect. A view of the Arno, a jacuzzi bath, marble bathroom, a double and a twin bed, nicely heated.
Also, ask for a tour of the rooms closed to the public, under renovation... this used to be a mansion used by a king, and it is pretty amazing! Almost better than going to the Uffizi, I really enjoyed seeing the place as it was hundreds of years ago.
The location is perfect... We enjoyed the area south of the Arno almost as much as the center of florence/duomo area. It was really nice to be close to both! And only 1.5 blocks to the Ponte Vecchio. You can't beat it at this price.
The breakfast was sufficient, crossiants, ham, nutella, jam, coffee, tea, cereal, etc... you will be eating a lot in Florence and breakfast should be the one place you try to cut back!!
The front desk scheduled our reservations at the Uffizi and Accademia galleries through email which was great.. didn't have to wait in line.

  • Liked — The view of the Arno
  • Disliked — There was only a bath with shower faucet in the bathroom (no standup shower stall)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

Hotel Bretagna was beautiful. We had a huge room with a comfortable bed. There was big modern bathroom with a nice big shower and we had giant fresco of cherubs on our ceiling...very romantic. The building is situated right on the Arno River right by the Ponte Vecchio. Great location for walking to and from the sights of Florence. Breakfast was served every morning in a large pretty dining room where they had soothing jazz playing. A very nice touch.
However, they were renovating the building and put us in a room that should have never been rented. It was right next to the room they were working on and we were forced to wake up to drilling and sawing at 8:00 each morning. When I came home to take a nap one day at 4:00, it was still going on and I couldn't sleep. When we complained, they told us that they would ask the workers to hold off until 9:30 am to start working and the next morning they were at it again at 8. Not sun and very frustrating if you are on vacation looking for peace and relaxation. The hotel advertised that there was a TV in the room and there was but it did not work at all. When we said something to the man at the front desk, he gave us attitude and said, "well we say that you get a TV but we don't guarantee the TV works." Do not leave valuables in the room because the room is not secure and the windows are so old, they do not lock properly. We were planning on staying for 3 nights and decided to leave after 2 because we had had it. The should have given us a night's stay free of charge for all the hassle but instead they only gave us 30 Euros off.

  • Liked — the size of the room
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbretagna, manager at Hotel Bretagna, responded to this review, November 1, 2007
Dear Sirs,
We are very sorry for the works that were going, but the rennovation can permit our guests to stay in better conditions, we want to make the atmosphere more beautiful. However, the room number 8 where you have stayed is the most beautiful room in our hotel, where the king of Holland Luigi Napoleone has slept. Hotel Bretagna is a hotel in an old fiorentine style, so you can't say that the room is old, because it is it's style, the room was recently rennovated. If you don't like the antique style Hotel bretagna is not for you. Usually we sell it at 160 euro, you paid only 100 euro per night. Also we didn't make you pay the cocktails of the bar. But instead of thanking us you are speaking bad about our hotel. As for TV now it works, but one that comes to Florence to see it usually doesn't stay all the day in the room, because he is busy exploring Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

After arriving in Florence by train my friend and I walked to the Bretagna which is located on the Arno River. Though we knew this it was slightly difficult to find, as we walked past it twice and even joked about it not existing.
Though it is going through alot of restorations this quaint, cozy hotel attributed to a wonderful stay in Firenze. We were welcomed by Valentino who gave us the grand tour, on the way to our room.
We had a room in the back which blocked any street noise that the front rooms might have had.
A small breakfast is offered and when we asked for any help on tours, etc the front desk was ALWAYS helpful.

I will stay here again when I return.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

hotel location one of best in world - rooms elegant, well-furnished and clean - facilities good and being upgraded - staff very intelligent, friendly and helpful - amazing value for a delightful holiday

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bretagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagna

Address: Lungarno Corsini, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly "Pensione Bretagna")
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Florence
#70 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagna 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagna **, as well as Residenza d'Epoca Bretagna, are located within the Gianfigliazzi Palace (former home of Louis Bonaparte King of Holland). The position of the building is the best we can expect to enjoy the artistic and architectural beauties of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bretagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bretagna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bretagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.