We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The interiors creeps you out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Porta al Prato

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Porta al Prato to your Saves list
Residence Porta al Prato
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   V. Ponte Al Mosse, 16, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The interiors creeps you out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Porta Al Prato, during our stay at Florence. It is centrally located and everything at close proximity... But the interiors of this Hotel/studio apartment scared me out. It looked a it haunted to me, though in the day it's all sunny and nice , in the night it's drop dead silent and empty.. For a person like me who is scared of darkeness this was horrible..

On the bright side, they do have a prepared pantry for you in the room for your next days breakfast inclusive of your stay, on other days you might want to visit a supermarket which is around the corner to store up a few snackers. The Manager who attended to us was Sanjeeva who was very helpful and very patient as he explained everything and marked all the places to see and shop on the map, which made it really simple to understand. We had a nice time walking on the streets of Florence, exploring and absorbing the Tuscan heat..

On the negatives , the net doesn't work, actually, though Sanjeeva mentioned it works , it doesn't. It works in flashes which is next to not working.
The air conditioners also don't work well, they need servicing.. In our room we had 2 airconditioners out of which one was working fine and the other wasn't at all..
Also the lobby and the corridors of the room side get really quiet and it tends to feel very spooky... serious.
If I happen to stay here again , would love a brighter facing or looking room... ( I guess to each his own)

On the whole , not a bad one... And specially on tight budgets. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
23
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location and proximity to public transport.
Firenze SMN is only a few hundred metres away. The hotel is only 1 stop and a short walk from the train station on the tram. The electric buses C2 and C3, which are near the tram stop, will take you to Uffizi gallery, and the Duomo, respectively.
Bar Pasticceria, which is at the end of the street towards the tram stop, is where we bought our breakfast. Friendly staff, great food and coffee, and great prices.
The rooms aren't the best. We had a single bed and a sofa bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staff are very helpful and nice room. but the only thing is the wifi wasn't working when we were staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Me & my wife stayed there 2 nights in une 2012.
The room seemed amazing at first: a fuly equipped kitchen, large living room, nice shower, 2 A
\Cs, flat TV screen and a terrace.
But when you look closer, it's not as attractive as it first seems... The bath thub had a lot of other guest's hair (yuk!), one A\C was almost impossible to operate and so was the hot\cold water mixture in the shower... you just couldn't get it mixed - it was either too hot or freezing cold!
When we tried to talk to the receptionist the next day about the shower, we had another problem - he didn't speak English and was rude! So we somehow managed to explain to him we had a problem with the hot water in the room and he should send someone to olle and fix it - He didn't.
There was also another receptionist (much nicer I might add) - he also didn't speak English... he gave us a pasword to a WIFI internet - it didn't work, we didn't even bother to complain.
I do want to praise a female receptionist (can't remember her name) who was very helpful to us from the moment we arrived and gave us a map and a suggestion for a walk in Florence that covered most of the city - it was amazing and we thank her for that!

So in total, not a very good hotel and not a horrible one either - choose it only if it suits your budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

When I booked hotel I was looking for the high speed Internet. Internet did not work in this hotel. Woman in the reception explained "all italians don';t work in the weekend that is why it is not possible to access to Wi-fi ")))So if you are looking for the Internet book another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The residency apt block of apt is designed for travellers and I must say I was very impressed the the size of the apt. Two bedrooms living room with dining area kitchen and bathroom for €90 a night . (not per person ). Fabulous value for money. The rooms are divided by partitions rather than walls but ideal if keeping a ear out for the kids. Also curtains for privacy not doors but was fair for only two of us travelling but if sharing with mates or another couple ... could be embarrassing. Towels and shower soaps all included. There is a 24 hour reception also which for security was excellent. We arrived at 11 am from Venice and check in was 2pm. Bags all made safe and looked after at reception until check in. A walk in to old Florence takes about 40 mins if you wish which we did by following the river and into the old part where all the tourists swarmed. However team stop 5 mins away direct to train station or bus stops close by to apt. The staff were very nice and spoke thankfully good english as my Italian was not good.

The apt is a great place to stay away from the tourist area and the hassle but close enough to get to when needed.
I would highly recommend this apt as a safe location to stay for all couples and with children. I would defo stay again if I returned to Florence . Regards and enjoy your stay. Danny783

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The rooms and overall size was much larger than a hotel, and the cost was about the same (it was less than a hotel room). We were able to spread out some in the large living room and if we wanted to cook we could. We ended up not using the kitchen much, but its nice as an option if you are staying there for a week or so. The location is a bit far from the tourist attractions downtown. It was a quick 2 min walk to the metro train (or the C2, C3 bus) and you were downtown in 10 minutes total (walk + waiting for train + train ride). The GOOD thing was that its very quiet. No police cars, people yelling drunk outside etc like staying downtown. You can get a good nights sleep here no prob.

Room Tip: We booked a single room and were upgraded to a two room apartment at no cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Porta al Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Porta al Prato

Address: V. Ponte Al Mosse, 16, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Porta al Prato 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Porta al Prato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Porta Al Prato Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Porta al Prato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.