We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bargello B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Bargello B&B to your Saves list
Il Bargello B&B
Via de' Pandolfini 33, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 521 Florence B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“a wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2005

We were in florence for 4 nights in April. I found Il Bargello through TripAdvisor (of course!) and everything we heard was correct. It is true - the hikes up the stone steps are arduous, but once inside we found a haven of peace, quiet, and warmth. Gabriella seems to speak every language beautifully, which makes getting information on places to go and things to do very easy. She and Massimo are devoted to their guests, to the point of going to the airport for me to retrieve a forgotten cellphone - mille grazie! The room was immaculate, the private bathroom was new and more than comfortable, and the rooftop patio a perfect way to unwind and get the flavor of Florence. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    73
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
174
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2005

Il Bargello is a nice place to stay in Florence. Very central and quiet.

It's very high up and there's no lift. If you are even slightly disabled or struggle with stairs you might be better off elsewhere. With heavy cases it was a struggle for me, and I'd consider myself fit.

Gabriella is most helpful. There was a minor logistical problem shortly after booking - we'd booked for three nights and it turned out that Gabriella only had one night available. She called us from Italy, e-mailed us several times, sorted out the problem and found us somewhere else nice to stay. It was beyond the call, really. Breakfast is nice with brioche and cappuccino available. You do eat round one big kitchen table though, so if you prefer to sit on your own table and grunt lovingly at each other like some of us do first thing in the morning, you might find this off-putting.

Rooms were nicely furnished. Our bed was very comfortable. There was no telly and the bathroom was small, but as we were only there for a night it didn't incovenience us.

Overall we enjoyed staying at Il Bargello and would stay there again. If you contact Gabriella and she has no space, ask her whether she could find out if Bruno has rooms at the Badia B+B down the road [I don't think he's on Trip Advisor]. That's where we stayed for the other two nights we were in Firenze. Bruno the owner is lovely and his B+B's nice and comfy.

Paul and Sarah-Jane Venables

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

My wife and I just returned from Italy and stayed at Il Bargello in Florence. What a great place. Very clean, beautiful, close to all the sites and makes you feel like your home. Gabriella and Massimo (the owners) are wonderful hosts. Gabriella is from Canada and speaks English and more than happy to provide the best spots to see and where to eat. They have a great roof top deck where you can have a bottle of wine and view the city.

This was the best B&B we've ever stayed at and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our vacation in Italy and what a way to end it, with a stay at Il Bargello. This place is a gem, hidden on a side street around the corner from the Bargello musuem. The location is perfect...close to everything you want to see in Florence. The hard work that Gabriella and Massimo put into restoring this home was well worth it. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. But what makes this place a "must stay" is Gabriella herself. I have never met a more gracious host in all my travels, who is so enthusiastic about assiting you with excellent dinner reservations, recommendations and anything else you may need. After four nights there, we felt like part of the family and the intimacy of the place is a great way to get to know other travelers. They have a wonderful roof terrace, which is perfect for late night star watching or sunset wine drinking. And don't worry, she has a wine opener and glasses for you. She will accomodate your every need...even finding me a needle to deal with a nasty blister I had developed. I strongly recommend staying at the Il Bargello. You would be missing out on a rich experience if you pass it up!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Florence thanks to our decision to stay at Il Bargello, right in the heart of historic Florence. Okay... driving in to the city to drop off our luggage before returuning the rental car was a bit stressful, but once we ditched the car the rest of our days in Florence were a treat. Everything, and I mean everything, is literally a stone's throw away from Il Bargello. Walking, walking everywhere ...we saw so much more than we expected in our short 3 day stay in the city. Lots of stairs to climb to get the B&B so bring light luggage. There is no other way up to the third floor. Just keep in mind that the third floor may seem like the fifth floor to North American travellers as the ground floor is not considered the first floor and the higher ceilings in Old Europe mean longer flights of stairs. Not a complaint, just a warning. After all the walking whats a few more stairs? Breakfast was delicious, plentiful, fun and always entertaining, with host Gabriella keeping the conversation interesting and animated. What a great discovery the rooftop terrace was! Grab a bottle of wine and make sure you take some time to relax up ther e one afternoon. Anyway we had a great time. Gabriella was fun, extermely helpful and generous too. Thanks Il bargello! It was great and I would not hesitate to recommend this spot to any of my friends travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2005

We went to Florence, hoping to get a feel for the city.. the food, the atmosphere, the people, & the history. We wouldn't have had nearly as good of an experience if it weren't for Gabriella. Beyond the fact that our room was nice, clean, & comfortable, Gabriella was better than any tour guide or tour guide book that we used during our 10 day stay in Italy. She knows all the good restaurants (and the people that run them) & she knows all the perfect ways to see the sights (including which one's to see first, how to get in quicker, & how to see unique sights that not everyone thinks of). She even recommended the best Gelataria in Florence... and she was right, we snacked there 3 times in 2 days. Her knowledge alone is worth a stay at "Il Bargello B&B"!!

She made our stay perfect!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

We spent a wonderful week in Florence and that experience was due in part to the cozy Bed and Breakfast, Il Bargello. Il Bargello is a very comfortable and convenient place to stay when visiting Florence and its hostess, Gabrielle, is so friendly and hospitable, we felt immediately "at home" from the moment we arrived. And after long days of sightseeing and shopping, retiring to the relaxing and secure atmosphere of Il Bargello was like returning home. We would definitely recommend Il Bargello to our family and friends and would definitely stay at Il Bargello if ever we were to return to Florence again.

Ed, Yuri, and Christopher B.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Bargello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bargello B&B

Address: Via de' Pandolfini 33, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Florence's newest gems situated in a 15th century building in the very heart of downtown Florence. Our cosy, completely NON-smoking home was entirely renovated in 2004. All the rooms have their own private en-suite bathroom with shower, air conditioning, hair dryer, telephone and free wireless internet connection. Also accessible to all of our guests, is a roof-top terrace with a spectacular view of downtown Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Bargello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargello Hotel Florence
Il Bargello Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bargello B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.