We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Montreal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 43, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The quality of service provided by Erica and Stefanie was excellent; it was great that they spoke English, they were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast items were good and selection was fair but I think on that particular day when the selection of the buns and croissants was limited the delivery was late.
Another nice feature of the hotel was the location and being so close to the bus and train station; we could walk from the hotel.
The city of Florence was excellent, lots of history and museums and they were all walking distance from the hotel. There was lots of shopping and the choice of restaurants was excellent. The city was welcoming to tourists and you felt safe from crime; I heard about the trouble with pick pockets in Italy but no problem in Florence.

Room Tip: only the second floor has elevator, higher floors you have to walk the stairs. I was fortunate and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    159
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
71
185
56
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The windows are soundproof so noise would not be a problem. On the other hand elevator goes up to the first floor only so you better choose a room on the first floor if you have a big luggage. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the train station and close to everywhere you would ever want to go. The rest is basic, nothing special to mention.

Room Tip: choose one on the first floor because there is no elevator for the other floors and corridors are en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is very centrally located, steps away from the train station and many attractions. The building is old, so the rooms are small and basic. We only stayed one night and barely spent time in the room. I did request to stay in the main building and to have a room that was accessible by elevator—because I read several other reviewer's suggestions. My requests were accommodated and the staff was friendly and helpful.

I was noisy at night because our room faced the street... Overall I would suggest this hotel for a short stay if you are traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel is very close to train station and a pretty easy walk to all the main sights. They contacted me a few days before arrival and were very prompt about making museum reservations for us. From reading reviews ahead we had a room that was accessible by the elevator. The hallway appeared to go on and on and it felt like a rabbit's den of rooms. Our room was the smallest we had it Italy. There was a very noisy bar below us that woke us up but the windows were amazing. Once we closed them, it was quiet. The AC worked fine so we could sleep with the windows closed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

5 minute walk to train station. We ate breakfast but was told our reservation didn't come with breakfast so they tried to charge us 5 euros per person. I told the lady at the front desk I thought it came with and she took off the charge. Nice lady. Room is ok for 75 euros a night. 2 twin beds, small balcony and small shower.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

They were so nice to contact me immediately after making the reservation that the room was on the third floor by stairs, so they wanted to give me the chance to change if needed. I was going on vacation and traveling light, so I decided to take it. It was a long way up, though totally worth it! The location was fabulous, just a couple of blocks from the train station. The staff, super friendly!

Room Tip: If you are fit, and traveling light, the third (actually the fourth in the US) is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a budget hotel capitalizing on tourist season. I paid 200 euro for the first night for a 3rd floor walk up with a broken AC during the last week of May (worst sleeping experience through all of Italy). The rooms are gross and the beds are uncomfortable. Some staff members are friendly, some aren't- The location is prime, but that's about it.

I would never stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicisbeo, Direttore at Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Sir,
we are so sorry and surprised to read your unsatisfied opinion that you didn’t explain during your 4 nights stay in our Hotel.
As explained at check in time the air conditioning on the third floor had broken down in the morning and we could not fix it because it was Saturday and you responded that there were no problems; for the inconvenience we were sorry, we included breakfast (otherwise extra) and with the promise of changing room in the morning the day after; the next morning (Sunday) we moved you on the 1st floor in room 106 (no stairs) with the air conditioning (the problem was only on the third floor because on the first and on the second floor worked without problems). During the following week we also fixed the air conditioning on the third floor and still now it’s working in all the Hotel.
The first day we assigned you a room on the third floor because you reserved the room in our Dependance that as explained on all our sites and an our further email is located on the third floor and is not serviced by a lift.
We are sorry about the situation and we remain at your disposal for other infomations
Best regards.
The manager
Silvia Lo Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via della Scala, 43, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Florence
#149 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.