We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montreal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 43, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

They were so nice to contact me immediately after making the reservation that the room was on the third floor by stairs, so they wanted to give me the chance to change if needed. I was going on vacation and traveling light, so I decided to take it. It was a long way up, though totally worth it! The location was fabulous, just a couple of blocks from the train station. The staff, super friendly!

Room Tip: If you are fit, and traveling light, the third (actually the fourth in the US) is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    153
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
65
171
54
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Oh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a budget hotel capitalizing on tourist season. I paid 200 euro for the first night for a 3rd floor walk up with a broken AC during the last week of May (worst sleeping experience through all of Italy). The rooms are gross and the beds are uncomfortable. Some staff members are friendly, some aren't- The location is prime, but that's about it.

I would never stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicisbeo, Direttore at Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Sir,
we are so sorry and surprised to read your unsatisfied opinion that you didn’t explain during your 4 nights stay in our Hotel.
As explained at check in time the air conditioning on the third floor had broken down in the morning and we could not fix it because it was Saturday and you responded that there were no problems; for the inconvenience we were sorry, we included breakfast (otherwise extra) and with the promise of changing room in the morning the day after; the next morning (Sunday) we moved you on the 1st floor in room 106 (no stairs) with the air conditioning (the problem was only on the third floor because on the first and on the second floor worked without problems). During the following week we also fixed the air conditioning on the third floor and still now it’s working in all the Hotel.
The first day we assigned you a room on the third floor because you reserved the room in our Dependance that as explained on all our sites and an our further email is located on the third floor and is not serviced by a lift.
We are sorry about the situation and we remain at your disposal for other infomations
Best regards.
The manager
Silvia Lo Monaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location of this small but very pleasant hotel which gave excellent value for money can not really be beaten. It was a mere 5 mins (if that) away from Santa Maria Novella Station and a stones throw from the church of the same name. All the major sites were within walking distance, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had no problems whatsoever with the time we were there. It was also extremely useful to be able to leave the luggage there as well until we were ready to catch our coach to go to the airport. All in all an excellent choice and we would stay there again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

When we first time coming Firenze with worry and strange, the receiptor in Hotel Monteal with lovely smile and nice English, detail introduce the hotel facility,locol traffic and touring points even caculating out the necessary walking time, suddently we feel like coming back the home. You know, this is so important to guest who from faraway east countries along. After that, we spent very pleasure two days in lovely Firenze.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrara, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just minutes from the train station and with everything within walking distance this was ideally located. Staff at all times were very helpful and more than happy to pass on advice, give power adaptors, allow bags to be kept pre and post check in /out. Room was basic but large and suitably comfortable. Did not try the breakfast as we had early bookings at the galleries but at 5EUR would have been worth a try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a good stay at Hotel Montreal and would consider staying here again. The proximity to the train station makes it very convenient (for a day trip to Pisa) or to catch a train for an onward journey. The room was slighlty larger than an average European hotel room and was very clean. The staff were friendly and were quite fluent in English which is always helpful. There are a few restaurants on the same street and you will find more around the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella just down the road. All in all Hotel Montreal provided good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, On
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Only a few minute walk from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk from the Duomo. Due to how compact Florence is, this hotel is in a great spot for seeing the attractions.

We had a quad room on the 3rd floor. It was a bit of a walk (2 flights of stairs and down a hallway), but not an issue for us. The room is fairly basic, but was clean and had everything needed for our stay. Room was fairly large for our family.

Staff was good, especially Erica who was extremely friendly and helpful.

Did not include breakfast, but you could pay 5 euro pp. The breakfast was basic, but adequate and a decent value for 5 euro.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via della Scala, 43, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Family Hotel in Florence
#133 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.