We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Montreal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 43, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Carrara, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just minutes from the train station and with everything within walking distance this was ideally located. Staff at all times were very helpful and more than happy to pass on advice, give power adaptors, allow bags to be kept pre and post check in /out. Room was basic but large and suitably comfortable. Did not try the breakfast as we had early bookings at the galleries but at 5EUR would have been worth a try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    159
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
71
185
56
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a good stay at Hotel Montreal and would consider staying here again. The proximity to the train station makes it very convenient (for a day trip to Pisa) or to catch a train for an onward journey. The room was slighlty larger than an average European hotel room and was very clean. The staff were friendly and were quite fluent in English which is always helpful. There are a few restaurants on the same street and you will find more around the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella just down the road. All in all Hotel Montreal provided good value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, On
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Only a few minute walk from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk from the Duomo. Due to how compact Florence is, this hotel is in a great spot for seeing the attractions.

We had a quad room on the 3rd floor. It was a bit of a walk (2 flights of stairs and down a hallway), but not an issue for us. The room is fairly basic, but was clean and had everything needed for our stay. Room was fairly large for our family.

Staff was good, especially Erica who was extremely friendly and helpful.

Did not include breakfast, but you could pay 5 euro pp. The breakfast was basic, but adequate and a decent value for 5 euro.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Normally when I give a place an "average" review, it's because they're, well, average. The hotels we've picked so far for this tour of Italy, though, have been weirdly excellent and terrible at once. In this case:

Excellent:
Obviously, it's *extremely* close to the train station (like 5 minutes walk *with* carrying a bunch of luggage), basically right in the heart of Florence, and pretty cheap.
The bed was only a tiny bit harder than I'd like - still a pretty comfortable bed - and the blankets were fairly decent for the price we paid.
Given the price and location, I was expecting the room to be absurdly tiny - it was pretty small, but not so small as to be annoying. We had enough room to spread our stuff our a bit and still walk around and use the desk. Good enough!
There's only a shower, but it was a really nice shower!
The people at the front desk were extremely friendly, polite, helpful, and as an added bonus, all spoke completely fluent English.

Terrible:
Being in the heart of Florence, with the windows open, it got pretty loud fairly late into the night with obnoxious drunk people one night, and just general street traffic in general. They do have extremely hefty noise-blocking windows that worked great for their intended purpose, but also as a side-effect, blocked all the air circulation and made it terribly hot even when it was cold outside, which made them pretty useless, since it seemed the fan being available was tied to the AC, which was turned off. I understand AC probably isn't in their control, but I wish we could at least have had some outside air.
The bathroom is tiny. I don't normally really complain about that, but I do complain when they basically stuck the toilet *under* the sink. It was not a very comfortable toilet. It also generally took several tries to get the toilet to flush, though it always did eventually.
The WiFi was reliable, but extremely slow most of the time (occasionally the actual mb/s dipped all the way down into the single digits, though it was usually in the mid-double digits, which is still fairly slow.)
The breakfast was pretty lame - watery juice, watery yogurt, some meat that wouldn't be that great by US standards, but was pretty depressing by the standards of all the excellent luncheon meat we've seen in Italy, and a couple pastries. One of the pastries was decent, but still.

Room Tip: Glad we paid a little more for a room on the first floor - it's a bit of a maze, I really wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is situated within a 5 minute walk from the train station- very convenient. In addition, all main attractions can be easily reached on foot from the hotel. The hotel staff (especially Erika) are very friendly and helpful, and we were provided with a map on arrival. The hotel rooms are small but sufficiently equipped. It was cleaned daily and was comfortable. The complimentary easter egg left in our room on Easter Sunday was a nice touch! I would advise travellers to carry mosquito repellent - although this is no fault of the hotel, Accomodation seems to be be expensive in Florence and this hotel was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Note that the 'dependance' rooms are in an adjacent building and do not have elevators. Plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The rooms were small, but comfortable. The staff did not warn us that the doors do no automatically lock behind you, and someone took a large amount of cash from our room on our first day in Florence. The old fashioned keys might have seemed a fun touch otherwise, but there was nothing in the room/website or in personal communication informing the guest that the rooms needed to be locked with the key, a glaring oversight especially when arriving tired/jetlagged.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

After a long train ride from Innsbruck I was so happy that this hotel was easy to find and so close to the train station. Yes, I have stayed in better hotels in Florence but it cost twice has much. The room is small and the bathroom even smaller but so what, are you spending time in the bathroom are enjoying your time in Florence. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was typical. The desk clerk on the other hand was exceptional, her name was Erika and she was so sweet and helpful. If you are looking for a reasonable, centrally located, comfortable hotel, with exceptional service look no further.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger bathrooms, maybe you could try being specific and request a room with a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via della Scala, 43, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Florence
#149 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.