We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the worst hotel of my life!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Masaccio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Masaccio to your Saves list
Hotel Masaccio
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Masaccio 228, 50132 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This was the worst hotel of my life!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

There is no way I could possibly say one positive thing about this so called Hotel!!!!
This place really sucks, do not go there please....
I spent a week here. It was the worst experience of my life in a hotel. The towels were dirty and bedding drilled and odor. Hundreds of ants walked around the room. Room pictures appearing on websites not actual.The room walls were painted instead of being filled with the blood of insects killed by tourists staying here in past years! the windowa did;t have Mosquito nets, o I have pinched.
reception program was only between 8.30-20.30

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masacciohotel, Proprietario at Hotel Masaccio, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Every weeks you write a Feedback about our hotel, good jobs.....
I'm sorry for you, if this is your only entertainment !
Have a good day ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    31
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
47
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Beware!! Do not fall also into this hole! They call themselves Hotel but it is not even good for Rats! Not clean, already in the entrance! Inside it smells terribly, the room was in the roof without air! Not to speak about the bathroom where one won´t dare to touch anything!
And than when you will try to complain and say that according to the internet it is called a hotel but it´s not even close to one they book from your credit card the whole price of the place, which is etreamly expensive... we went directly to a Novotel nearby which was 1001% better and funny even more cheaper than this one!
DON´T EVEN TRY IT!!!!
STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masacciohotel, Proprietario at Hotel Masaccio, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Hello

We are waiting your feedback, The guest has never stayed in our hotel, we charge your credit card, because she has booked the room and didnt cancelled the reservation within the time provided by the Policy of cancellation.

(She warned the day of check in at 18:00 that she would not sleep at our hotel on the day of Easter!)

According to the policy of cancellation we can charge all amount of the reservation ( we can 2 nights), but we decide to charge only the first night.

We have received threats by you of bad publicity if we dont give back your money !! ( so we wait your feedback)

We have the receipt showing that you have never stayed at our hotel.

Do you not think that should be ashamed to offend in this way, people who are working?

Please TripadVisor be careful to accept comments regarding the quality of the rooms by people who never go into a hotel and we have evidence of this!

best regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I had read the often glowing reviews of this hotel before I booked, so I expected a place where the staff was very warm and welcoming. I did not find this to be the case. While not unfriendly, nor did I find the staff warm or helpful. For example, when I asked if I could borrow an adaptor plug, leaving ID as insurance, the answer was a cold ' no'. I was in a single room with no bathroom. I found the bathroom depressing, with just one small light. The single rooms are quite small. One benefit: free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masacciohotel, Owner at Hotel Masaccio, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Hello

These days the same person is writing a few comments about our hotel, I understand the desire for revenge, but to discredit a serious structure and that each day is committed to satisfy its customers is not a behavior that deserves respect from us.

The hotel does not have adapters for U.S. plugs if that meant, however, we never asked for this a documents, we provide remote control for TV, air conditioning, wifi without asking any documents, why we asked for a adapter?
If the room has no bathroom, how did you find the toilet depressing and a little light?

A Tripadvisor user name about your could avoid it, perhaps a review would be more credible.

(This is the third review written by the same person)

Thanks

Have fun
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

stayed in florence for a friday, checked out on saturday to roam around tuscany, checked in again for 2 nights on monday

Location: few blocks walk from Campo di Marte train station (a little bit of a drag if you have lots of luggage. Then again, i think there's a bus)

15 to 20 min walk to the Duomo so it wasn't much of an inconvenience

not many food options nearby (although the hotel has a restaurant but dinner time is till 730pm). relatively quiet area

Manager Alessandro: very helpful, pointed out locations for traditional Tuscan food etc. Very accomodating when we had to check in late 2 days later around 10pm (can't be helped coz the reception closes at 8+ pm , but not a big issue thanks to the arrangements made. Also allowed us to leave our luggage overnight and then helped to transfer our luggage to an upgraded triple room (with the murals, a nice touch). Friend didn't like the cold at night but Alessandro promptly provided a portable heater which was much appreciated.

booked a triple room- first night we stayed in a standard room next to the reception where cupboards were filled with the hotel's bedlinen (but who uses cupboards for a short stay anyway? not a big problem.) Bathroom tiny with shower curtain that wasn't much help but decent hot water . The upgraded room was 5 flights of steps up. Rooms were relatively clean but full of dust under the beds.

enjoyed the decent and Free Wifi immensely =)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This hotel is perfect for a solo student, as I was, studying in Florence. The director and staff of this hotel were amazing in their helpfulness, kindness and assistance. The room is a wonderful value for a study abroad trip and is a nice short distance away from the center of town so it was quiet, without being too far away. The restaurant was quite delicious as well. It was perfect for my needs!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Mould growing on the ceilings. Hairs in the bed. Dust everywhere. Impossible to relax in.

Our window was broken and could not close - so we froze.

The location is a long way to the middle of Florence.

This place was terrifying! I wouldn't let my worst enemy stay here

Its cheap, but not worth it. You are on vacation!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wookie18, Proprietario at Hotel Masaccio, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Hello

it is true that our hotel have cheaper rates (your room costs Euro 17.00 each person) but a clean room is the most important thing!

So we are very disappointed and really surprised that you have find "Mould growing on the ceilings. Hairs in the bed. Dust everywhere." honestly really surprised by your words.

If we had known about these problems during your stay we could change your room or make an extra cleaning, and explain how you can close the window because we have no "broken window" at this time.

I apologize on behalf of all the staff of Hotel Masaccio

A clean room an economical price and relaxation of our customers for us are the most important thing .

Best regards
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Alessandro and Sabrina are fabulous persons.
Great attendance and reception.
Always available to help or just take a coffee and chat.
The hotel was a grateful surprise either.
Good location, comfortable beds and a tasteful meals.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Masaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Masaccio

Address: via Masaccio 228, 50132 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Masaccio 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Masaccio is an intimate, family operated hotel where the focus is on providing our guests with a warm and welcoming stay.We provide the budget-conscious travelers a cheap option for their accomodations, while offering many of the amenities of more expensive hotels.Our hotel is located very close to the city center of Florence (less 1 miles to reach the Cathedral, Duomo Square or the most important museums). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Masaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masaccio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Masaccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.