We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze to your Saves list
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 60, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel Panorama is very well located in the center of Florence and offers excellent value for money. The authentic building, friendly staff and simple but excellent breakfast with a stunning view are well worth it. Rooms are very large, clean but quite basic. The hotel is tastefully decorated with nice paintings, statues etc.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for you comment!
Art is welcomed here!
Kind regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    146
    73
    34
    20
See reviews for
48
184
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We traveled for our honeymoon for 3 nights in May 2014.
This is a very average hotel. The reception on the second floor with a tiny lift, took a lot of struggling to get our bags inside and up to the reception. Then another fight with the elevator to get to our room on the third floor. The breakfast offered a very basic and very limited spread.
Location wise it was decent, a bit of a walk from the dome. Extremely small sized bathrooms, no room to move. Mosquitoes were in the room. The view was decent.
I'm sure there are other better options available for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your comment.
We would like to have more details about our breakfast, in order to improve the service. We are offering cold and hot drinks (juice, coffee, chocolate...), croissants, sweet and salt cakes, eggs, ham and cheese, cereals and different kind of bread, fruit, yogurt, jams, ...what we are missing? Thanks for your help! :)
Kind regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a quaint little place 3 blocks from the Duomo, 1 block from Accademia that houses Michaelango's "David". Not great rooms but acceptable. Don't leave the windows open in late spring (Mosquitos).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for commenting!
It's true: mosquitos can be a problem. We provide electrics emanator in each room to kill them.
Kind regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a 3 star hotel located in cavour in florence. My wife, 1 year old baby & myself we had stayed in this hotel during April. The hotel is right in the main street however i dont know if all hotels are such in florence or only this the entrance of the hotel & the lift is too small, so small that you would probable have to make two round if you have luggage & a baby pram.

however the god part is the room is not as small as you would think it would be, it is good enough like other european hotel but again the rest room is also too smalll. If your concern is the location of the hotel then this is the hotel you need to stay...10mins walk to the piazza duomo & add another 10mins as you go further to the pochevinto bridge or the main railway terminal this hotel is just perfectly located be it the tourist spots, shopping areas or restaurants. The break fast is just average nothing so great & you don't have too many people working there so it is more of self service which is quite good & fast.

Overall i would recommend this hotel if one is ok to avoid the small glitches then this hotel is very god to stay for the price it charges,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for commenting! Many hotels in the centre of Florence are on the first or second floor and not on the ground floor and many elevators in town are actually very small. This is because buildings and palaces are pretty old and they weren't intended to be hotels but just privates apartments and nobody thought at those days to leave some room to build a future elevator...
Warm regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As soon as you enter the building you know this is not going to be good, a very small rickety lift takes you to reception on the second floor and only goes as far as the fourth floor so if you have large bags you have to carry them up to the fifth floor if that is were you are staying. Our room still had the dirty linen from the previous occupants on the floor outside as we arrived, the room was grubby and had the smallest shower imaginable, hardly room to move (and I am of average size). During the night we were inundated with mosquitoes we killed at least 20 and therefore had very little sleep in the morning there were still 15-20 on the ceiling. At breakfast there was a large party of schoolchildren dominating the dining area which did not make for a relaxing time.
We paid a100 euros for this awful place and the only good thing about it is the view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for commenting.
You have found dirty linen on the floor of the corridor at your arrival, because we allowed you to enter the room before the check in time, thought it as a favour, instead of letting you wait the 2 pm.
Unfortunately we have mosquitos in the hotel, as well as all in Florence. This is why we provide electric emanators for killing them, customers have only to plug in the electric device to kill the mosquitos.
As for the hostel, I'm wonder why you don't have mention the wonderful private patio you had in your room...We are ready to get bad fair comments, not bad unfair ones.
According to locals laws we are a fair 3 star hotel.
In your room the shower is 80x80, not that big, your are right, but not that small either.
Lifts in the city centre, since it is a very ancient town with ancient buildings, are often small, we have a 4 people elevator, and , believe me or not, not one of the smallest in town.
It reaches only the fourth floor because there is not enough room for the engine on the fifth floor, You had a free upgrade to a room with view, though you had to climb few steps, if you weren't glad we could provide you a standard no view room at a lower floor, again we thought to do a favour, as you didn't say anything; I remember very well I offered my help to bring your luggages and you kindly refused.

Kind regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here in April and after reading mostly positive reviews on the hotel we decided to go ahead and book in for 4 nights.

The hotel itself is situated in a decent location around 15-20min walk from the Duomo with many shops and eateries around for convenience plus close to a couple of bus stops. The hotel appears to be in an apartment type building, use either the stairs or the lift to get to reception on the second floor, the lift is quite tight if you have large bags so maybe consider the stairs.

The staff are friendly and kindly upgraded our room to a panoramic view of the Duomo which was a nice touch. The room however was in need of a touch up on the paintwork, many cracks and scuffs along with general updating and cleaning, there was a bit of mould on the wall above the shower and a fair bit of dust build up in the air con unit which could cause a problem in the summer for anyone suffering bad chests or throat.

The hotel advertises itself in a welcome card as being environmentally conscious so don't be alarmed if your tv doesn't switch on, as you will need to plug it in, save electricity! Also there are ornaments in the room made from recycled plastic bottles which was weird to begin with but you get used to the quirky nature of the place.

Nice comfy bed and a generous amount of pillows were a welcome change to many 3-star hotels I've stayed in, the only other gripe in the room was the lack of soundproofing, you can clearly hear your neighbour taking a shower or a shi.....you know what I mean.

We didn't take breakfast at the hotel due to very early starts on the trip but it was included, the WI-FI comes via a code available at reception.

Overall the hotel could do with some updating and a good scrub but other than that if you are a budget traveller in need of a comfy bed during off-peak tourist season this hotel isn't a bad option for the price.

Room Tip: The panoramic room's with a view are worth going for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for commenting!
It happen that the remote control can't switch off the tv when it need new batteries...it's not something made on purpose, obviously.
You have got the spirit of the place: it's unusual, we admit it! Someone like it, someone doesn't.
BTW you haven't mention the great view from your room, hope you have enjoyed!
Ciao
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently stayed here April 6th. It's a neat little place that was well worth the money we spent. Well within walking distance of just about everything there is to see. The rooms were clean and well kept. Nice bathrooms. The breakfast was great in the morning. Juice, coffee, pastries, jam, cereal. The entire staff was very helpful in opening wine for us, giving directions, helping with the internet. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The owner Christina is just a sweetheart. It's not The Breakers in Palm Beach, but it's not supposed to be. It's just a well maintained small hotel in the heart of an ancient city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you!!! Though your stay was short we all remember you and we send you all our wishes!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Address: Via Cavour 60, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama is a 2 star budget hotel in the center of Florence with a marvellous panoramic view of the city. We are located close to the Accademia Art Gallery, the Cathedral and the Convention Centre and only at 15 minutes walking distance from the main railway station. All rooms have private facilities and private telephone - a satellite tv set is at guest's disposal in the Reception Hall as well as some safety boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.