We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those on a budget... and those on school trips!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze to your Saves list
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 60, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 461 Hotels in Florence
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for those on a budget... and those on school trips!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked here because I was on a tight budget and I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the accommodation and its great location (I would say that everywhere is within walking distance!).

The room was nicely decorated and extremely clean with airconditiong and a window with a view out onto a garden. Breakfast was a simple continental buffet with nice, fresh food and was served in a room with an incredible panoramic view of the city (probably worth the money just to eat breakfast here!).

I did have a couple of issues whilst here which I've been debating about including in my review as it wasn't entirely at the fault of the hotel but I thought people should know. The hotel, as it is good for those on a budget, does accommodate large groups. While I was staying there, there was a large group of teenage school children on a school trip staying in all the rooms surrounding mine. I was woken at 7.30am each morning by their teachers banging on their doors and shouting their names loudly to wake them up which also woke me up and was also woken at night when they were knocking on each others' doors. When I went to get breakfast at 8am (as I was awake from the noise anyway) there wasn't really anywhere to sit because it was full of the group and had to manoeuvre through to find a table at the back.

When I checked out, the staff seemed quite on edge as a large number of the group were in reception and when I asked if they had change for a note, I was curtly waved away whilst they dealt with the group which wasn't ideal. A "no, sorry" would have been fine.

Except for the noise and general mayhem caused by the school group, I liked it here but I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for commenting!
We are sorry you was here along with the group and for our unpolite reply to you, we apologize. Large groups are very rare at our hotel, it happens only 2 or 3 times a year. We accept only selected small group generally.
It is very stressing also for us, as you could see.
Again our excuses

Kind regards
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    146
    73
    34
    20
See reviews for
48
184
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wifi DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. No bugs, clean, quiet at night. For some reason the staff told us we were not allowed to bring food into the rooms? Wierd. Location is just slightly farther from the Duomo than most hotels, but still close enough. Breakfast was good (with a nice view).
Note: Hotel lobby is not on the ground floor. The hotel is only part of the building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for commenting!
The hotel is from the secon floor to the top, this is pretty usual in old italian cities, but understand that you for someone not used to it could be something a bit weird. As for the food in the room, it's a long story.
According to our law if you eat something and you get sick, for istance- not to think something worst- we are responsable. We don't have any proof you haven't eat somenthig bought inside. So this is one of the reason.
The second one is that the room is not a restaurant hall, that usually is made for that purpose: it has wall that you can clean easily, for istance, it has no stuff like pillows or blanket that can smell of food later...hope this can clear this weird thing.
Have others nice trips!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It’s excellently situated, in a quite neigborhood, close to the main train station (cca. 1 km) and also to Piazza del Duomo (cca. 700 m) and Ponte Vecchio (1,5 km). Very nice, clean rooms, with a very helpful staff. You can take the breakfast from their top floor veranda, with a very nice view. It’s the perfect bargain: for a budget price you receive more than you expect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for commenting! I think your comment is very useful for other guest that can know how to move in town... I suggest: walking!
Buon viaggio!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Panorama - great location (central but quiet), friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms. Minor problem: few mosquitoes, and signs on the walls of mosquitoes killed by former guests (should be washed or whitewashed). Shower was a little tight, but we managed. All in all, a very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment! As for the mosquitos, yes, they are. We tried to clean the signs on the wall, when we notice them... anyway, we provide free mosquitos killer as an electric emanator and tablet.
Have nice trips!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel since the reviews on TripAdvisor were mostly positive. This is a very basic 2 Star hotel with excellent service. My room was very basic, but I had a great view of the Duomo . The bathroom was modern with the exception that there was no shower door just curtains on both sides, not a big deal. Unfortunetly the bidet was where you showered not leaving much room to move while under the shower head.

The breakfast was nice, it was enough to hold me most of the day, just having a sandwhich or slice of pizza in the afternoon.

There is an outdoor area to sit with umbrellas with the view of the city. This was very nice. The hotel is in a pretty good location. There is a bus station in Piazza San Marco which takes you many places. The bus stop to the train station is very close to the hotel. You can walk almost any where from the hotel , its a straight walk about 10 minutes to the Duomo.

The staff at the front desk were all very nice and spoke english. They were very helpfull with all my needs. Micheal, a night clerk found me a resturant and even made me a reservation. Even the women who worked the breakfast room was very nice,, greeting each guest with a big Bon Giarno ..

Overall if your on a budget but want a place with good service and location, I recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comment! You have very well described everithing, just one thing: we are a 3 stars hotel, though basic. In your room the bathroom actually need some renovation, we are thinking on it .
Thank you from all the staff for your appreciation. We all are very glad to help and welcome our costumer.
Have a nice trip back home!
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fairly basic but good enough as a base for our stay in Florence. We could have used more room for putting our clothes away - there was a small wardrobe but with just three hangers it was no use to us - either shelves or drawers would have been better, so instead we had to live out of our suitcases. It was definitely a convenient location for getting to the main attractions, there was a bus stop just down the road where we could get a bus either to the Uffizi area by the river or to the train station. We found it harder to find buses back in the other direction, possibly because of the one way system? Breakfast was also adequate as you could choose from a variety of cereal, croissants, cakes, toast etc. The staff were generally friendly and helpful. The only time we felt they weren't accommodating was when we asked if we could have breakfast before 8am the next day as we were going out early for the Walkabout Tuscany tour and they said it was impossible. Overall though the hotel felt safe, so if you need a basic place to stay, this is fine.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for commenting!
Your comment describes pretty well the reality. We are basic, but we providing bathroom en suite, A/C, TV and wifi in all the rooms, standard as well as economy ones.
Generally we provide 5 hangers in each wardrobe, unfortunately some are stolen and we don't notice it immediately: so thank you for letting know that in your room there are just three ( my suggestion: always ask when needing something, if it is possible we are glad to help!)
About breakfast time, we serve breakfast from 8:00 to 10:00, at the moment we can't serve it earlier, but we are working on it.
Greetings
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Panorama for two nights and didn't know what to expect. When we booked the hotel it had dismal reviews but we were just looking for a bed so we chose the hotel based on it's price point and prepared ourselves for a mini disaster. Wow were we ever wrong!!! We had some problems with out rental car in Rome and did not arrive in Florence until late in the evening, this was absolutely no problem at the front desk and they were incredibly helpful! There is even a small fridge with drinks for sale that we very much appreciated. They were slightly more expensive than at a store but we didn't care and were happy to pay the extra for the convience. We had a quad room which was reasonable in size (even with our three large suitcases and additional hand bags). The room was very clean and had all the ammenities you would expect in a hotel as well as a happy surprise of a small fridge! The hotel provided a car service where we would simply leave our car out front and someone would come and collect the car and return it at our request. This cost us 26Euros a day and the parking lot was guaranteed, we were very happy about this especially after our long day of travel and headaches that we arrived with. We were even told that if we wanted to site see after 11am on the day of our check out that the front desk would watch our bags and then call our car when we were ready (we didn't use this feature but it was nice to have a back up).
The location of this hotel is perfect!! Moments away from the pedestrian only areas of Florence, 2mins away from David, 8mins from the Dumo, and about 15mins to the river. We loved walking everywhere and never had any issues with trying to reach any attraction.
Breakfast was fine, nothing fancy but normal of European hotels. Staff was very friendly and we really appreciated how quickly we were able to have breakfast (we had full days and didn't want to waste much time eating in the morning). Everything was delicious we were very happy with breakfast.
Someone did mention mosquitos as an issue and yes we did also experience this but I hardly think the hotel can be held responsible for an insect that is an issue all around the world. They did provide a contraption for eliminating or repelling the mosquitos but we couldn't figure out how to use this and decided that we really didn't care that much about the mosquitos (there definitely wasn't an infestation, just normal amounts of mosquitos)
Hotel is on the second floor and there is a small lift, we used it only for our suitcases and used the stairs the rest of the time. If you are handicapable then you can absolutely still use the lift it just may take a couple of trips to get there in the small lift but this is normal for a building that is this old.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget, you really can't ask for much more in a hotel. If you find a more expensive place you may find nicer sheets, or fancier rooms but really what would you rather? Personally I was happy to save money at the hotel and spend it on wine and food in Florence! We really didn't feel that we were missing out on anything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanvan_giallo, Proprietario at Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for commenting! We are all different, so someone appreciate our hotel and someone doesn't. There are no frills, but we try to provide as much comfort as we can thinking of a traveller that needs a place for storage luggages, a fridge for keeping their food, and also knowing the whether forecast!
Cheers
Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze

Address: Via Cavour 60, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panorama is a 2 star budget hotel in the center of Florence with a marvellous panoramic view of the city. We are located close to the Accademia Art Gallery, the Cathedral and the Convention Centre and only at 15 minutes walking distance from the main railway station. All rooms have private facilities and private telephone - a satellite tv set is at guest's disposal in the Reception Hall as well as some safety boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.