We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Burchianti to your Saves list
Burchianti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This small hotel in florence is just perfect. We got room 6, which features two double beds and an extra one for a fifth person. The beds were all very good, the amenities a nice extra and the ceiling made us wonder why to visit the Sistine Chapel if we had the same paintings on the ceiling (ha! Just kidding!) The [possible] owner was always around. The only setback was a very limited breakfast, but that can change of course. VERY RECOMMENDED.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    67
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
82
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here during the first half of July. My travel party consisted of 3 adults and a 1.5 year old. The hotel is easily accessible on foot from the SMN train station. Less than a 10 minute walk and we found the hotel quite easily. The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly throughout our entire stay. The hotel is operated by the owner and his family and they take great pride in their work. We felt at home from the moment we arrived.

Our room was a "Triple" and consisted of a twin size bed and a large queen (2 twins pushed together). The room was quite spacious by European standards and featured high ceilings which showcase original frescoes on the ceiling. The bathroom was adequate and offered basic toiletries. Housekeeping was prompt and did an excellent job freshening the room. The room did have AC though, the efficiency of it left something to be desired given the summer temperatures. The free wifi in the room worked great. The walls were a little thin as I could hear the door bell quite frequently in teh evenings as well as the morning breakfast prep work. The daily breakfast at the hotel offered little to no variety but, was a pleasant way to start your day.

The hotels location offers easy access to most major sites in Florence. Within less than a 5 minute walk we found ourselves staring up at the Duomo. There is a small market next door which offers a variety of beverages and snacks at a reasonable price. There are also quite a few restaurants and bars situated near the hotel which, we found to be more affordable than the ones located in the higher traffic (tourist) areas.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to family and friends traveling to Florence. I cannot say enough good things about the staff! Everyone we encountered was professional and extremely friendly and helpful. We were a bit sad to say good-bye of the day of our departure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.The rooms are a bit small but charming nonetheless. Worth staying for the personal warmth of all the staff. Highly recommended. Great stay over all!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spent one night in this hotel in late June. We loved it. The hotel is actually a second floor of a building which gives it an authentic feel, not something modern and foreign, but more like an apartment. the room was a nice size and very clean. the ceiling had paintings on it which we loved. We enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel staff were very cordial and helpful. The location is great. its very close to the train station and also to the Duomo. It does not have a big "hotel" sign outside so use the hotel address to find it, there is a small sign by the door but you have to look for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children. Apart from the challenge of finding the hotel with our car, we were welcomed into the check in / dining room by a friendly employee and the owners son. My first impression was we were in someone's opulent lounge room. It had such a lovely feel. It also had a few dining tables which I worked out would be where we have breakfast.

Our room was just off the 'lounge room' and was a massively big bedroom in decor of an old fashioned traditional room. 16ft ceilings, together with fresco paintings on the ceiling. It had 2 queen styled sized beds, together with comfy chairs and beautiful wardrobes. I really was impressed. The beds were a tad squeaky when you turned but still very comfy.

We had a lovely continental breakfast each morning together with great coffee.

The only downside was the shower in the bathroom which had no normal height for standing shower mount apart from the bath one. So to shower you had to lather 1st, then hold the shower piece to rinse. I was ok with it but my 6ft2' husband struggled a bit. That was our only issue, otherwise it is a lovely hotel which I would gladly stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by people in Siena. We were quite disappointed to find our room had no heating (in November, and moreover there was a small hole in the wall,badly sealed with a sort of hanckerchief).
I don´t know if this is normal for a 3* hotel in Florence, but I wouldn´t recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is the best hotel to stay when you are in Firenze and looking for a true authentic, Italian hotel.
The staff is lovely and always ready to help you with anything and everything. You have to keep in mind that the building is a historic monument and if you are looking for 4-star luxury you are not at the right place. But if you want a hotel in the middle of the city, filled with painted ceiling, furniture in keeping with the period, good beds, airco in every room, kind staff, look no further, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#74 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burchianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.