We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff and a Wonderful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Burchianti to your Saves list
Burchianti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Welcoming Staff and a Wonderful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here during the first half of July. My travel party consisted of 3 adults and a 1.5 year old. The hotel is easily accessible on foot from the SMN train station. Less than a 10 minute walk and we found the hotel quite easily. The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly throughout our entire stay. The hotel is operated by the owner and his family and they take great pride in their work. We felt at home from the moment we arrived.

Our room was a "Triple" and consisted of a twin size bed and a large queen (2 twins pushed together). The room was quite spacious by European standards and featured high ceilings which showcase original frescoes on the ceiling. The bathroom was adequate and offered basic toiletries. Housekeeping was prompt and did an excellent job freshening the room. The room did have AC though, the efficiency of it left something to be desired given the summer temperatures. The free wifi in the room worked great. The walls were a little thin as I could hear the door bell quite frequently in teh evenings as well as the morning breakfast prep work. The daily breakfast at the hotel offered little to no variety but, was a pleasant way to start your day.

The hotels location offers easy access to most major sites in Florence. Within less than a 5 minute walk we found ourselves staring up at the Duomo. There is a small market next door which offers a variety of beverages and snacks at a reasonable price. There are also quite a few restaurants and bars situated near the hotel which, we found to be more affordable than the ones located in the higher traffic (tourist) areas.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to family and friends traveling to Florence. I cannot say enough good things about the staff! Everyone we encountered was professional and extremely friendly and helpful. We were a bit sad to say good-bye of the day of our departure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    70
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
84
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.The rooms are a bit small but charming nonetheless. Worth staying for the personal warmth of all the staff. Highly recommended. Great stay over all!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spent one night in this hotel in late June. We loved it. The hotel is actually a second floor of a building which gives it an authentic feel, not something modern and foreign, but more like an apartment. the room was a nice size and very clean. the ceiling had paintings on it which we loved. We enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel staff were very cordial and helpful. The location is great. its very close to the train station and also to the Duomo. It does not have a big "hotel" sign outside so use the hotel address to find it, there is a small sign by the door but you have to look for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children. Apart from the challenge of finding the hotel with our car, we were welcomed into the check in / dining room by a friendly employee and the owners son. My first impression was we were in someone's opulent lounge room. It had such a lovely feel. It also had a few dining tables which I worked out would be where we have breakfast.

Our room was just off the 'lounge room' and was a massively big bedroom in decor of an old fashioned traditional room. 16ft ceilings, together with fresco paintings on the ceiling. It had 2 queen styled sized beds, together with comfy chairs and beautiful wardrobes. I really was impressed. The beds were a tad squeaky when you turned but still very comfy.

We had a lovely continental breakfast each morning together with great coffee.

The only downside was the shower in the bathroom which had no normal height for standing shower mount apart from the bath one. So to shower you had to lather 1st, then hold the shower piece to rinse. I was ok with it but my 6ft2' husband struggled a bit. That was our only issue, otherwise it is a lovely hotel which I would gladly stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by people in Siena. We were quite disappointed to find our room had no heating (in November, and moreover there was a small hole in the wall,badly sealed with a sort of hanckerchief).
I don´t know if this is normal for a 3* hotel in Florence, but I wouldn´t recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is the best hotel to stay when you are in Firenze and looking for a true authentic, Italian hotel.
The staff is lovely and always ready to help you with anything and everything. You have to keep in mind that the building is a historic monument and if you are looking for 4-star luxury you are not at the right place. But if you want a hotel in the middle of the city, filled with painted ceiling, furniture in keeping with the period, good beds, airco in every room, kind staff, look no further, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a great place to stay in Florence...great location especially if you're traveling by train. The rooms are right out of an Italian museum, the ceilings are just great and the whole experience was great. We were traveling with our family and wanted to give the kids the European experience so this was perfect, not your normal hotel but an "experience" they will remember. The Inn keeper Mario was pleasant and very helpful in booking all the details. We would recommend this property without question.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#96 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burchianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.