We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burchianti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Burchianti to your Saves list
Burchianti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location was great! Just a 2 minute walk from the Duomo, the San Lorenzo Market and the Santa Maria Novella station. The staff was very friendly and answered all my questions, whether about the market opening hours, or how to get to the airport. There was a very cozy B&B atmosphere and of course free WiFi was available in the rooms, as well as a mini bar, TV and hair dryer, there was a small closet to hang clothes if needed, where there was also a safe.

The hotel is located on the first floor of a building with not very visible signs indicating it was there, it was a bit confusing to find. My room was very small. I booked a single room that had room for a bed and that's pretty much it. The bathroom was small as well - the shower was very close to the toilet with a folding door separating the two. The safe in my room was in the closet, that could be locked, however I found that I could actually moved the safe as it was not connected to anything, which resulted in my not using it.

I would recommend this hotel as it wasn't very expensive and the whole place had a very cozy feel to it. I could have used a larger bed but it was only two nights :)

Room Tip: single room was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    66
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
79
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I can only agree with everything that has already been said. This hotel in an old palazzo was perfectly located, with all the sights of Florence within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful frescoed ceiling, Mario was very welcoming, and the lady who served breakfast was very sweet. There is free WiFi available. We wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Combining the essence of a pensione (bed and Breakfast) of the 50's with modern day conveniences and services, Hotel Burchianti is a wonderful place to stay. Some of the rooms have frescos on the walls, the remains of being a private residence once upon a time. We had the mini suite on the top floor which looks out over the roof tops of Florence toward the main market (like a farmer's market for meat, fish and vegetables) in one direction and the house that was Elizabeth Barrett Browning's in the other. While we were there, they finished hooking up WiFi so it was available in every room (before you had to come to the breakfast room to connect). Mario, the manager, and his son were extremely hospitable providing recommendations for restaurants and reviews of activities we were considering doing. In addition, the hotel is perfectly situated for tourists. Everything is a short walk from the hotel. Mario makes sure you are armed with a map and can give you directions to wherever you want to go. Finally, for all of this, the price per night is excellent. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: If you want space and a room with views, ask for the suite on the top floor. It has a full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We travelled to Florence for a wedding which was about 15km outside the city so took the opportunity to stay a few days and explore. Once booked, I emailed the hotel for some additional information, mainly hairdressers, nail bars etc. At first there was a little confusion with the booking but that was quickly resolved and they were very prompt with their replies, I think it was the owner who remembered the confusion and again apologised in person, nice touch. Having read that the hotel was difficult to find I looked on "Street View" to have an idea of what the street/entrance looked like, very handy. If you are travelling to Florence by car then the car park the hotel uses is right next door, perfect for unloading. The hotel is in a great location for all the usual sites, fantastic bar on the right as you walk out, on a corner, low prices & always packed. There's also a great trattoria on the left, very accommodating staff.
When we arrived the young man on reception was extremely helpful with perfect English. The room we booked was called a Junior Suite, although it was only 1 room with en-suite bathroom, it was huge, frescoes on every wall and on the ceiling. The hotel is in an old building, 16th century we were told, and it was beautiful, no street noise, triple glazing with wooden shutters and great a/c. Breakfast is basic if you like a full english, it's the usual Italian fare, the cappuccino is fab! The Wi-Fi is a little iffy but not a major problem, the bed is typically Italian, metal frame with springs and a mattress, not the most comfortable but that's Italy! We found all the staff polite and helpful with a good command of the English language, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Burchianti lives up to its promise of frescoes on the ceilings of guest rooms, a tranquil courtyard, and a super-convenient yet quiet location. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and there's just a feeling of "class" about the place. Our bathroom was sparkling clean, brightly lighted, and thoughtfully designed--even to a built-in electrical plug adapter with a shelf where we could charge our smartphones. Breakfast is appetizing and nicely presented, though there's no protein (as we had a Hotel Raffaello in Rome) and only apples for fresh fruit.

The one big draback, though, was that our room had no window--unless you count the transom high up over the door--so it was dark. It was also very warm and stuffy, even with the A/C going all the time; we woke up sweating during the night. Still, for the charm and the great staff, I'd consider staying here again if visiting at a cooler time of year. And I'd ask about a window! Evidently some rooms do have them.

Room Tip: Beware Room 10--which has a gorgeous fresco but no real window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Check in and breakfast in a living room setting with a painted ceiling. Quiet and elegant, they must have few rooms since there were no crowds in the middle of the hot hot summer. Loved it.
The manager, Mario , was a big help and very personable. The owner woman served coffee in the morning and a very nice polite lady as you would dream of an older aunt to be.

Close walk to the train, practically next door to the Medici Chapel and San Lorenzo market. You can walk everywhere from here.
My family of three got the top floor, lucky us, with windows on both sides of the room. Talk about "a room with a view" this was it! Don't expect big city or chain hotel standards for bedding or shower, it's a small, very old hotel that is totally renovated, more like a well maintained apartment building. Loved it.

Room Tip: if you value space and a view, ask to stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed in many many hotels, but I think this is the prettiest room I have ever stayed in. The furnishing, drapery, windows are beautiful, and the fresco painted walls are just incredible and unique,,,that really made Florence special.!! The staff/owners are very hands on, and very nice. The location is great as well, convenient to the fruit market, and walkable when arriving or departing by train. I was slightly concerned with choosing a hotel in this area because last time we stayed at the Ferragamo owned Hotel Continentale, right on the Arno. and right next to the main bridge. I much prefer this location where Burchianti is. There are not hoards of people/ tourist right out your door, and is very convenient to everything. There are less expensive markets in this area for wine/beer/soda which we kept in a small refrigerator in the room. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#84 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burchianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.