We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great staff, beautiful room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burchianti

Save Saved
You added Burchianti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burchianti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great staff, beautiful room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We travelled to Florence for a wedding which was about 15km outside the city so took the opportunity to stay a few days and explore. Once booked, I emailed the hotel for some additional information, mainly hairdressers, nail bars etc. At first there was a little confusion with the booking but that was quickly resolved and they were very prompt with their replies, I think it was the owner who remembered the confusion and again apologised in person, nice touch. Having read that the hotel was difficult to find I looked on "Street View" to have an idea of what the street/entrance looked like, very handy. If you are travelling to Florence by car then the car park the hotel uses is right next door, perfect for unloading. The hotel is in a great location for all the usual sites, fantastic bar on the right as you walk out, on a corner, low prices & always packed. There's also a great trattoria on the left, very accommodating staff.
When we arrived the young man on reception was extremely helpful with perfect English. The room we booked was called a Junior Suite, although it was only 1 room with en-suite bathroom, it was huge, frescoes on every wall and on the ceiling. The hotel is in an old building, 16th century we were told, and it was beautiful, no street noise, triple glazing with wooden shutters and great a/c. Breakfast is basic if you like a full english, it's the usual Italian fare, the cappuccino is fab! The Wi-Fi is a little iffy but not a major problem, the bed is typically Italian, metal frame with springs and a mattress, not the most comfortable but that's Italy! We found all the staff polite and helpful with a good command of the English language, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    62
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
73
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Burchianti lives up to its promise of frescoes on the ceilings of guest rooms, a tranquil courtyard, and a super-convenient yet quiet location. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and there's just a feeling of "class" about the place. Our bathroom was sparkling clean, brightly lighted, and thoughtfully designed--even to a built-in electrical plug adapter with a shelf where we could charge our smartphones. Breakfast is appetizing and nicely presented, though there's no protein (as we had a Hotel Raffaello in Rome) and only apples for fresh fruit.

The one big draback, though, was that our room had no window--unless you count the transom high up over the door--so it was dark. It was also very warm and stuffy, even with the A/C going all the time; we woke up sweating during the night. Still, for the charm and the great staff, I'd consider staying here again if visiting at a cooler time of year. And I'd ask about a window! Evidently some rooms do have them.

Room Tip: Beware Room 10--which has a gorgeous fresco but no real window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Check in and breakfast in a living room setting with a painted ceiling. Quiet and elegant, they must have few rooms since there were no crowds in the middle of the hot hot summer. Loved it.
The manager, Mario , was a big help and very personable. The owner woman served coffee in the morning and a very nice polite lady as you would dream of an older aunt to be.

Close walk to the train, practically next door to the Medici Chapel and San Lorenzo market. You can walk everywhere from here.
My family of three got the top floor, lucky us, with windows on both sides of the room. Talk about "a room with a view" this was it! Don't expect big city or chain hotel standards for bedding or shower, it's a small, very old hotel that is totally renovated, more like a well maintained apartment building. Loved it.

Room Tip: if you value space and a view, ask to stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed in many many hotels, but I think this is the prettiest room I have ever stayed in. The furnishing, drapery, windows are beautiful, and the fresco painted walls are just incredible and unique,,,that really made Florence special.!! The staff/owners are very hands on, and very nice. The location is great as well, convenient to the fruit market, and walkable when arriving or departing by train. I was slightly concerned with choosing a hotel in this area because last time we stayed at the Ferragamo owned Hotel Continentale, right on the Arno. and right next to the main bridge. I much prefer this location where Burchianti is. There are not hoards of people/ tourist right out your door, and is very convenient to everything. There are less expensive markets in this area for wine/beer/soda which we kept in a small refrigerator in the room. We would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our rooms (although booked months ahead) were unavailable, so we had to take our suitcases to an "annex" (another old villa) on a neighbouring street. We slept rather fitfully since the street was noisy and the window had to be open since the AC wasn't working. However, our host brought our cases back while we were out the next day and we had the pleasant rooms we had booked for the rest of the stay. We were always courteously treated and certainly would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: This is within walking distance of the train station. Across the street is a very good restaurant, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ditto all of the previous reviews. Make sure to ask for a room with a frescod ceililng. Although the view of the Duomo was wonderful from the third floor junior suite we would have prefered to be in one of the rooms on the main floor. Mario was very gracious and gave us good recommendations for restaurants. The whole experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel could not be in a more central location, just a short walk from the train station. The Mercato Centrale is right outside the hotel, and just about everything else is within a 10 minute walk. We arrived late in the afternoon, and unfortunately missed our reservation at the Uffizi Gallery. Mario went ahead and got us re-scheduled for the following day. He is a very interesting guy, with a vast knowledge of Firenze and a great appreciation for the arts. He was listening to Janis Joplin when we arrived, and told me he loved her music, which caught me by surprise. We had a triple room with 2 large queen beds, and the room was incredibly spacious, with a frescoed ceiling dating back to 1590. We'll be returning to Firenze again in a couple years, and will definitely stay there again. The hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burchianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchianti

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Burchianti 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Burchianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burchianti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burchianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.