We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Poor Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Accademia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Accademia to your Saves list
Hotel Accademia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Faenza 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Poor Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The two best things about this hotel are its location and staff. It's very easy to walk to most of Florence's major attractions from the hotel: The Central Market, San Lorenzo Market, and Medici Chapel are just around the corners; the train station and Duomo are just a few minutes away. It is on a pedestrian street, which is fairly quiet and there are many nearby places to eat. There is also a self-serve laundromat across street and the friendly owners of the bar across from it don't mind if you have a drink and sit and read while you wait for your laundry.

Most of the hotel staff spoke English and were very cheerful, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was standard Italian fare and enjoyable. Lots of stairs, so don't bring heavy luggage!

We had been on our own in Italy for 8 days, 3 in Florence, and moved from Trip Advisor's #1 rated hotel to the Hotel Accademia to begin a Rick Steves tour. According to his Italy guidebook, there isn't a huge difference in the price of the rooms of the two hotels, but the difference in the quality was tremendous. The Accademia is definately a budget hotel and, although very clean, our double room, after looking a pictures posted online, was probably the worst in the entire hotel. I think it had previously been a utility room and I wish I had taken photos to demonstrate. The room barely held 2 twin beds, with only room for a desk with chair & armoire. With the suitcases on the desk & chair, you had to walk sideways to get around the end of the beds to get out the door or get to the "bathroom" area....there was no separate bathroom. The sink was next to my bed, with a curtain that could be pulled around it to give a little privacy. The shower and toilet were in separate cubby holes that may have previously been broom or linen closets. The shower was next to the sink, and was actually quite large compared to many of those small prefab European hotel showers. The toilet "room" was tiny; with no room to turn around and a loud fan that ran for a few minutes after it was turned off. There was a small, heavily draped window that overlooked an inside utility courtyard below....not very appealing. On a positive note, others in our group were satisfied with their rooms....we just had bad luck in our room assignment.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room when you check-in; if you're not satisfied, ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accademiaFirenze, booking at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review.

We are sorry that you didn't like the room you had. You could tell us , we would have given you another room. We are sorry.

We have never got complain about that room.

Even though we hope to have you as our guests again.

Friendly regards

Hotel Accademia (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    79
    38
    13
    2
See reviews for
43
73
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Hotel Accademia is a great little hotel. The best thing about it is the location. An easy walk from the train station, and an easy walk to all of central Florence. This place is tucked into the 2nd to fourth stories of a classic building in Florence. That means lots of stairs all over the place. We did not mind this at all. Our room was overlooking a back street and while not much happened on that street, we could hear everything on that street, even with the windows closed. The staff were all very nice, and breakfast was a good traditional light Italian breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accademiaFirenze, booking at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear friends,

thank you for your words.

We always try to do our best to let our guests have a nice stay.

We hope to see you again :)

Kind regards

Hotel Accademia (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you ilke to enjoy Florence with lower budget but with good taste, the Hotel Accademia could be for you. Hotel is located on walking street, only 5 min walking from Duomo and 10min from other major attractions like statue of David at Accademia and Ponte di Veccio. Right next hotel is located several lunch and dinner terasses and restaurants. ROOMS are very simple, but fullfilling the purpose very well with beeing clean and by offering strong aircon. BREAKFAST is simple but tasty, and coffee is very VERY good. Cooffee beans are custom ordered for hotel only. PARKING is offered by hotel via external parking provider. Yoir car will be located in parking hall right behind corner, or 2km away. When leaving, promised 20min delivery time for car was closer to 60min, so spare some time before rushing to parking hall. STAFF was very friendly, helpful and spoke fluent english. Free WIFI was provided through entire hotel and was free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I can recommend Hotel Accademia, with the note that this is a budget hotel with very basic rooms. It is reasonably priced place to sleep and rest, not to spend time. Air con is available, and we never looked out the window. For a while we thought we did not even have window, but then we realized our window shades were down, after that we never bothered to check the “view”, we were so tired. The hotel is located very close to major sights such as the Duomo (5min). The staff are friendly and helpful and speak English. Free wi-fi available in room. If you are disabled, elderly, or otherwise have trouble carrying your suitcase up stairs, this may not be a good option. Continental breakfast was OK, and had really good coffee.
- Valet Parking service is available (not hotel own), but we were not happy with it. Our GPS got lost in Firenze city, it took us to places you should not drive, it is only for walking. Finally we found the hotel, but it is clearly on a walking street, so do not even try to drive there. This should be mentioned on hotel information. Valet service was kind of expensive, and when they were supposed to bring back car, instead of 20 minutes it took 60! Recommend you try some parking hall, and walk from there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose area, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Overall the hotel is nice, but we were unlucky and the last to arrive that evening, and got left with probably the least nice room in the hotel. Room 1 had dim lighting, the bathroom is like a cube cut out of the room, and we really didn't like the shower and toilet so close to each other. The toilet was practically half in the shower, and the floor is just sloped to drain the water, but if you use the shower the floor can be very slippery. The only nice things I remember were that room 1 had two huge windows that opened over the street (nice to look outside) and high ceiling so it felt airy. If it were only more brightly lit, I would not have felt depressed when I was in the room at night.
Breakfast dining room was kind of dimly lit too. Breakfast was not memorable, but ok.
Postcards are available for sale in the lobby.

Room Tip: avoid room 1
See more room tips
Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Accademia for 6 nights and had a terrific experience. Thea, who runs the hotel, was extremely helpful -- we could purchase stamps for postcards, she connected us with laundry service, stored suitcases for us while we traveled elsewhere--she made our trip so much easier! The room, with good-sized bathroom, was clean and comfortable and opened onto a small interior courtyard, so we did not have street noise to contend with. The breakfast had a variety of choices -- breads and rolls, cheeses and meats, pastries, cereals, yogurts, juices, coffee and tea. The location is central to everything. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend, with the understanding that this is a budget/value hotel with very basic rooms and amenities. This is a reasonably priced place to sleep and rest, not to hang out for long periods of time. The hotel is located very close to major sights such as Medici Chapels and Duomo. If you are looking to spend your money on food, entertainment, and sightseeing, and you just need a basic and clean room to rest, this would be a great choice. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak fluent English. Free wi-fi available in room.
If you are disabled, elderly, or otherwise have trouble carrying your suitcase up stairs, this may not be a good option.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Accademia

Address: Via Faenza 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Accademia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia - Florence, Italy.Your cheap accommodation in Florence historical center...We provide you the easiest way to reserve your vacation in Florence city center. The Hotel Accademia gives you an opportunity to choose a splendid and strategical location for your stay in Florence. Book online with us, save money with our special last minute offers and enjoy everything Florence has to offer! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Accademia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Accademia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.